We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great mountain view.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Sapa
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
583 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Great mountain view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Although we arrived very early in the morning from Hanoi, our rooms were ready and we could move in. The clouds lifted over the mountain and we had a great view from our room. You have to go down to the "basement" and outside the building to get to the dining room. This is a bit unusual but not a problem, as long as it isn't raining. The hotel is well situated in town. The food is good and it is a great place to stay in Sapa.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a mountain view, it is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dajoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    187
    114
    46
    26
See reviews for
71
199
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Having been booked into this hotel by an excellent travel agent we were very dissappointed. The hotel has 6 floors, the dining room being on the bottom our room being on floor 5. No problem I hear, there would not have been had there been a LIFT . As we are in our late 60's and not as fit as wanting to run up and down stairs all day we had to plan our day to avoid unnecessary visits to our room. The food in the dining room was poor and this was reflected in the lack of customers. This applied both to the evening meal and to breakfast. The view woulkd have been wonderful if it were not for the cloud.

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel unless you are fit to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony131079, General Manager at Bamboo Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

We really appreciate your comment for your stay at our hotel, the Bamboo Sapa. First of all, we appologise for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us. We will take all of them into consideration. We only would like to inform you that the property was in transition phase from old to new owner so that the services provided were not up to your expectation. Upon the new owner's acquisition in November 2013, upgrades will be made both in terms of the hotel's facilities and services. As every upgrade accomplished in the first half of 2014, we hope our hotel will be an enjoyable place for you and other future clients of ours.

Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Long Nguyen
General Manager
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sapa hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Were lucky to have our room ready after arriving at 6am and having breakfast. Clean basic room with everything that was needed. Ended up being quite cold and the heating was turned off so they brought us a heater to use, much appreciated. Breakfast had a good choice, juice was not freshly squeezed which is a bit unusual for Vietnam. Unfortunately hawkers are waiting just outside the front door whenever you venture out. The view from the room would be fantastic if we had been lucky enough to have some clear weather, perhaps next time we visit Sapa.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Janmmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony131079, General Manager at Bamboo Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

We appreciate your comment for your stay at the Bamboo Sapa Hotel. First of all, we appologise for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us. We will take all of them into consideration. We only would like to inform you that the property was in transition phase from old to new owner so that the services provided were not up to your expectation. Upon the new owner's acquisition in November 2013, upgrades will be made both in terms of the hotel's facilities and services. As every upgrade accomplished in the first half of 2014, we hope to bring you an enjoyable place to stay for your visit to Sapa next time.

Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Long Nguyen
General Manager
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We used the Bamboo Hotel for a one-night stay in Sapa, and enjoyed it greatly.

The room we were given had a fabulous view of the valley and mountains beyond, and being at the back of the hotel we encountered no noise from the road.

The room was large and comfortable, with two double beds pushed together to make largest bed we have ever slept in. No safe in the room, but a very large bathroom with high spec shower cubicle.

The only criticism we have is that the hotel has no lifts. The climb up to the fifth floor was well worth it when you step out onto your private balcony and take in the panorama. Breakfast was good - the usual buffet mixture of hot and cold food, and the hotel is located on the main street, so only a short walk to the many shops, restaurants, cafés and massage parlours.

Sapa is a lively town with an interesting market, and is used as a base for trekking by many tourists. If you don't have all the gear you need, don't worry as there are plenty of shops selling walking boots and clothing. The prices would suggest that much of it is not genuine!

The hotel has free WiFi, but the signal doesn't reach every room so a visit the reception lobby is sometimes required. But while you are downloading, you can enjoy a free cup of local tea.

A most enjoyable stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SussexGandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony131079, General Manager at Bamboo Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear sir,

We are very glad that you enjoy your stay with us at Bamboo Sapa Hotel. The problems you got have been considered by our management and will be addressed soon. The lift and other new equipments will be installed in the first half of 2014. The internet wi-fi is being upgraded so that you can connect with friends and colleagues with comfort in the room in the future. Hopefully all of these and other improvement in our services will make our property a place of choice for you and your acquaintace for your next visit to Sapa.

Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Long Nguyen
General Manager
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here as part of an Indochina three day tour via train from Hanoi. The staff were quite efficient but the foyer is very basic. I imagine most of the guests would be coming from the over night train which arrives at 5.30am. There was little space to sit while waiting for your room as there are many other guests waiting as well, and the only toilet available is very grubby. The rooms which were only available after 2.00pm were very tired and the bathroom could have done with a thorough clean. The view, however, was great, when we could see it through the mist. Very good breakfast with many options. One thing to note is there is no elevator, which may mean 3 or 4 flights of stairs to get to foyer or restaurant for breakfast. I am sure there are better options available in picturesque Sapa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony131079, General Manager at Bamboo Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Madam,

We really appreciate your comment for your stay at our hotel, the Bamboo Sapa. First of all, we appologise for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us. We will take all of them into consideration. We only would like to inform you that the property was in transition phase from old to new owner so that the services provided were not up to your expectation.

Upon the new owner's acquisition in November 2013, upgrades will be made both in the area of facilities and services. Reception area will be repaired with new look and more couches. Rest-rooms will be fixed and cleaned frequently. Lift will be installed in the first half of 2014. Clients will be checked-in earlier upon early request and if rooms are available. Trainning will also be provided to our staff to improve services. As upgrade accomplished in the first half of 2014, we hope our hotel will be an enjoyable place for you and other future clients of ours on your visit to Sapa.

Thank you again and we look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Long Nguyen
General Manager
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel room had a fabulous panoramic view of the landscape in Sapa. Heating amenities was turned off and functional. Noisy plumbing system into the night and hallway lighting seems to come thru the top glass panel into the rooms.
Hotel has an adverse list of cost of all items in the room if they are damaged. Quite an unpleasant welcome note. Better ambience and positive notes could be used in its place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Good, clean hotel, well located, great breakfasts, best omelette we have tasted. Lighting in bathroom was poor but have found this in most hotels in Vietnam. Great views, Sapa and day trek into minority villages is a must to visit

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.3 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 65 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#27 of 65 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#15 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
U Sapa
U Sapa
#6 of 65 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#9 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#5 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Property: Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Address: 018 Muong Hoa Road, Sapa 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 65 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Sapa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Bamboo Sapa Hotel is considered one of the leading Vietnam hotels in Sapa, especially well-known for its incredible views of the valley and its unbeatable service. Guests are provided a unique stay, different from other Vietnam accommodation options. The cosy rooms at Bamboo Sapa Hotel will leave a lasting impression! One of the best restaurants in Sapa is located at Bamboo Sapa Hotel. Serving a rich menu with over 100 traditional Vietnamese dishes cooked by an experienced chef, the delicious food combined with the excellent service continually build this Sapa restaurant's ranking. What better than to eat gourmet Vietnamese food at the foot of Fansipan Mt? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Bamboo Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hotel Sapa
Sapa Bamboo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing