We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Ranked #36 of 82 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Afraid I have to agree with the large percentage of people, this is a very tired old building. View to die for, but, no air conditioning, bed like concrete. The local dogs bark and bark, the sound carries up from the lower streets, it was really hard to get some sleep. We also caught the overnight train from Hanoi to Sapa, we arrived around 7am, were told to check in at 2pm. Not really what you need to be told after a night on the train. Really disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 507 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

The real asset there is the view, but that you will for sure get in other hotels too. Room are nice have wooden floor, what i really prefer over ugly carpets. And they have shower cabin. Decoration is lets say very basic. And breakfast is ok, only the juice has never seen any fruit, just sugar, water and color.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank moarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at the Bamboo Sapa hotel on our visit to Sapa. Little disappointed with hotel. Didn't get the room we booked or payed for. No Air conditioning in room, even though website says air conditioning. They say it doesn't need it coz its pleasant, but it was pretty hot when we were there in June and you do need it. Nights got stuffy coz you couldn't have doors open due to Mosquitos. Rooms are very tired looking and could do with a over haul. Bathroom was pretty dirty with leaking water along wall. Bed ok, just hard as all beds in Vietnam. Power gets cut off around the area quite often due to over use, so be prepared for power cuts. Overall the hotel is probably 2 star but the view is to die for and makes up for some of the faults. Have to say they were very helpful with organising some tours for us, but not cheap. But we didn't mind paying for private service and what we wanted, amount of time we wanted and could choose what time we wanted to go, unlike set tours. Very limited English speaking staff. Location of hotel is in centre of town, so walking distance to shopping and eateries. Overall had pleasant stay but tired hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a updated room, might be just a little bit better condition. We were supposed to get one, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kassi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Bamboo hotel on a trekking tour. We arrived early in the morning from Hanoi by the night train, and no room was available for a shower and to relax before the trekking. The personnel at the reception was not welcoming, they didn't even proposed a coffee to wait (unless we had breakfast for 7 USD/p) although we were tired and we had to wait for a couple hours. The day we left, they agreed to leave us the room until our departure, to have a shower before taking the train back, but there was no electricity and no dry towels in the room ... Last but not least, we paid 6 USD / kg of laundry, which is 3 times the average price. 3 stars service ... We got our clothes back with stains.
This hotel is only good for the location and the view from the restaurant and deluxe rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivier a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four nights in March 13 and was disappointed. The hotel is 'tired' inside and needs a spruce up - it doesn't have the fresh look that appears on their website. The hotel is located on a busy road, at the narrowest point on the road which means lots of traffic jams and tooting early in the morning as people arrive from the morning train and tour guides meet their guests each morning. It's also located opposite a bar, which had loud music playing late two nights. I'm a light sleeper and I found it difficult to get to sleep at night due to the noise from the bar and was woken up early by tooting from traffic outside. On the plus side, we had a large room and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

On arrival, we were impressed at the awesome views and the hotel appeared clean and reasonably tasteful. Until we got to our room! The bathroom sink leaked all over the floor, the shower curtain was dirty, the bed was uncomfortable and our bedside light caught alight in the middle of the night due to a power surge! Not a great experience unfortunately especially since we were expecting so much more!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny-Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't fault this hotel. Clean with friendly staff, great views and a great location in the middle of town. The rooms were quite large (we had balcony view rooms) and were well appointed. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael_Calam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0 mi away
Sapa Diamond Hotel
Sapa Diamond Hotel
#16 of 82 in Sapa
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#44 of 82 in Sapa
595 reviews
0 mi away
Sapa Lodge Hotel
Sapa Lodge Hotel
#26 of 82 in Sapa
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#30 of 82 in Sapa
562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#11 of 82 in Sapa
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Address: 018 Muong Hoa Road, Sapa 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 82 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range: $36 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Sapa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Bamboo Sapa Hotel is considered one of the leading Vietnam hotels in Sapa, especially well-known for its incredible views of the valley and its unbeatable service. Guests are provided a unique stay, different from other Vietnam accommodation options. The cosy rooms at Bamboo Sapa Hotel will leave a lasting impression! One of the best restaurants in Sapa is located at Bamboo Sapa Hotel. Serving a rich menu with over 100 traditional Vietnamese dishes cooked by an experienced chef, the delicious food combined with the excellent service continually build this Sapa restaurant's ranking. What better than to eat gourmet Vietnamese food at the foot of Fansipan Mt? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bamboo Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hotel Sapa
Sapa Bamboo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing