We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay in Sapa at Bamboo”
Review of Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our group stayed 2 days/1 night at Bamboo. The views across the valley from our room/balcony are magical. Worth the price of admission alone. Speaking of rooms - ours was huge, tastefully furnished and well appointed. I had no problems with the cleanliness of our room, linen or bathroom. Beds are firm but that suits me. Probably be too hard for those who favour a soft style mattress. The breakfast buffet is very good with a host of options, both Vietnamese and European. I can recommend the snake head fish curry & fried rice! Bamboo is a 3 star hotel, and I was very happy with the quality of our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DickyKnees63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Bamboo Sapa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 494 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our tour to Sapa. There is no cooling system in the room and no windows to open at night (there was a balcony, but we didn't feel safe leaving the door open, as it was easily accessible from the outside). So it was quite warm in our room at night. The bathroom was adequate, although with the recent drought in the area, there are often water shortages. This did not happen to us, but you may want to check ahead of time because it is nice to shower after a day of trekking. The location was close to the main tourist street in town, but it was nice not to be right in the thick of things. Roosters in Sapa start crowing around 4 a.m., so if you are a light sleeper, be sure to bring earplugs!
The breakfast was fine. They had some Western offerings as well as Pho.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our second stay at Bamboo Sapa hotel and in complete contrast to our first stay we really didn't enjoy our stay. Sadly we booked for a week - we knew the weather would be cold and cloudy but were really looking forward to our stay in Sapa - the hotel put a real downer on our stay.

The heating was broken most of the time, we were given a portable heater but staff just came in your room and removed it - one time we were actually having an afternoon nap when they came barging in.

Our room was clean but our sheets were definitely not clean - this was really awful.

The internet did not work at all in our room and when we mentioned this to reception staff on day one and day two the basically said too bad - which was a pity as I said we had booked for a week.

Breakfast was very average, but the omelettes were good and fresh as long as you stayed waiting as many times we had very rude guests that would just push in and take the omelette you had ordered.

On a positive note on what was supposed to be our last day my husband got ill and we couldn't travel home, and the gentleman on reception was helpful, the first and only person that gave us good customer service.

Unless they lift their game I would look around Sapa there are plenty of other hotels with views equally as good and you can't run a hotel with the view as the only good feature.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LenandCathieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here; our room had great views over the valley below. While it was not the best hotel we experienced in Vietnam, we found it had all the usual amenities required. Weather was OK, so have no experience re need for heating or cooling. Found the staff to be helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate with a good variety to choose from. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room high up and overlooking valley
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glopaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

a beautiful old french feel hotel with great veiws and easy walking access to anything in town.
Comfortable and clean rooms ,bed a little hard
Breakfast was not great though, agreater range of simple western food would improve the experience.
But would definately stay again and recommend to friends and other travellers!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We paid $80 USD per night thru Agoda.com and it included breakfast. As other reviews mention, the heater did not work and we were given a portable heater which helped alot. The room was run down and worn but clean. Despite what others said, we felt the breakfast buffet was the best part of the hotel- many choices of food (Asian, as well as bacon, sausage, toast, juices) and made-to-order omelettes and pho. TIP: When arriving on the overnight train, the mini bus ride should only cost about $4. We were first quoted $40000VND ($20USD) and ended up paying $4. The drivers are very, very aggressive and rude. Walk away if they don't agree to what you offer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colbrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Actually the room itself was fine, although some stuff was missing like a laundry bag etc. The receptionists were not too helpful and far from inviting. It corresponds with how I experienced sapa, crowded and taken over by tourists. Please do a homestay and 1 day plus trekking, to get a good experience, sapa itself and this hotel are not worth the trip.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#32 of 73 in Sapa
581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Diamond Hotel
Sapa Diamond Hotel
#18 of 73 in Sapa
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 73 in Sapa
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
H'Mong Sapa Hotel
H'Mong Sapa Hotel
#33 of 73 in Sapa
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Address: 018 Muong Hoa Road, Sapa 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range: $38 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Sapa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Bamboo Sapa Hotel is considered one of the leading Vietnam hotels in Sapa, especially well-known for its incredible views of the valley and its unbeatable service. Guests are provided a unique stay, different from other Vietnam accommodation options. The cosy rooms at Bamboo Sapa Hotel will leave a lasting impression! One of the best restaurants in Sapa is located at Bamboo Sapa Hotel. Serving a rich menu with over 100 traditional Vietnamese dishes cooked by an experienced chef, the delicious food combined with the excellent service continually build this Sapa restaurant's ranking. What better than to eat gourmet Vietnamese food at the foot of Fansipan Mt? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bamboo Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hotel Sapa
Sapa Bamboo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing