We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great veiw ,lovely hotel”
Review of Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Sapa
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great veiw ,lovely hotel”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

a beautiful old french feel hotel with great veiws and easy walking access to anything in town.
Comfortable and clean rooms ,bed a little hard
Breakfast was not great though, agreater range of simple western food would improve the experience.
But would definately stay again and recommend to friends and other travellers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    194
    120
    49
    27
See reviews for
74
207
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We paid $80 USD per night thru Agoda.com and it included breakfast. As other reviews mention, the heater did not work and we were given a portable heater which helped alot. The room was run down and worn but clean. Despite what others said, we felt the breakfast buffet was the best part of the hotel- many choices of food (Asian, as well as bacon, sausage, toast, juices) and made-to-order omelettes and pho. TIP: When arriving on the overnight train, the mini bus ride should only cost about $4. We were first quoted $40000VND ($20USD) and ended up paying $4. The drivers are very, very aggressive and rude. Walk away if they don't agree to what you offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colbrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Actually the room itself was fine, although some stuff was missing like a laundry bag etc. The receptionists were not too helpful and far from inviting. It corresponds with how I experienced sapa, crowded and taken over by tourists. Please do a homestay and 1 day plus trekking, to get a good experience, sapa itself and this hotel are not worth the trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has modern radiators throughout the building. Unfortunately there is no boiler. The hotel was freezing. We were given an electric radiator which we kept on all night next to the bed. Thank goodness we only had one night! Breakfast was not good. Clean room, hard bed, nice shower. We paid an extra $20 to upgrade and get our room early. 8am. As we had already paid for a superior room I am not sure what we were paying for!

As for train journey - if you want space and privacy - book four berths and get a cabin to yourself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very simple hotel, clean enough, poor breakfast, but not expensive.
However, we had a large room (superior upon request) on the last floor with balcony and a breathtaking view! In the early morning with the fog around us we thought we were on the clouds!
We were there last November for two nights and it had heating because it was the beginning of the winter for them.
If you decide to go to Sapa by the night train better to reserve the whole cabin for space.You descend to the station of Lao Kai and you need about 1 1/2 hours by private car to sapa. We had private car and driver!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the upper floors with view to the mountains and the valley with the rice fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimtraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamer, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at Bamboo Sapa for a night in August 2012 as we were on a round-trip through Vietnam.
The room was ok - a bit cold as there were no heaters in the room. The fantastic view over the mountain landscape of sapa and the valley made up for that though. We witnessed a beautiful sunrise with the rice terraces partially covered in fog.

Breakfast was ok, nothing secial.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

really sad to find my wallet inside room was empty, i just left the wallet in the room for the breakfast and when come back there were no money, staff just laugh at me, they give no help, even say the cameras has record that no one go inside my room but there were no cameras, also say they only key for the room is the one that i have, may is the only hotel in the world that only have one key for each room, but i don't believe.
really sad to loose money more sad to find no help for the hotel. can not recomend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kai m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sapa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#29 of 70 in Sapa
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 70 in Sapa
377 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunny Mountain Hotel
Sunny Mountain Hotel
#36 of 70 in Sapa
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H'Mong Sapa Hotel
H'Mong Sapa Hotel
#31 of 70 in Sapa
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sapa Freesia Hotel
Sapa Freesia Hotel
#3 of 70 in Sapa
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Property: Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Address: 018 Muong Hoa Road, Sapa 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 70 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Sapa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Bamboo Sapa Hotel is considered one of the leading Vietnam hotels in Sapa, especially well-known for its incredible views of the valley and its unbeatable service. Guests are provided a unique stay, different from other Vietnam accommodation options. The cosy rooms at Bamboo Sapa Hotel will leave a lasting impression! One of the best restaurants in Sapa is located at Bamboo Sapa Hotel. Serving a rich menu with over 100 traditional Vietnamese dishes cooked by an experienced chef, the delicious food combined with the excellent service continually build this Sapa restaurant's ranking. What better than to eat gourmet Vietnamese food at the foot of Fansipan Mt? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hotel Sapa
Sapa Bamboo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing