We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good stay in Sapa, nothing more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Sapa
Mamer, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good stay in Sapa, nothing more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at Bamboo Sapa for a night in August 2012 as we were on a round-trip through Vietnam.
The room was ok - a bit cold as there were no heaters in the room. The fantastic view over the mountain landscape of sapa and the valley made up for that though. We witnessed a beautiful sunrise with the rice terraces partially covered in fog.

Breakfast was ok, nothing secial.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    174
    101
    43
    22
See reviews for
68
185
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
sapa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

really sad to find my wallet inside room was empty, i just left the wallet in the room for the breakfast and when come back there were no money, staff just laugh at me, they give no help, even say the cameras has record that no one go inside my room but there were no cameras, also say they only key for the room is the one that i have, may is the only hotel in the world that only have one key for each room, but i don't believe.
really sad to loose money more sad to find no help for the hotel. can not recomend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kai m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sapa hotels

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night. After a very early arrival (5.30am), we were given a delicious welcome cup of tea to warm us up. Needed to visited the lobby toilet and it needed cleaning. They have a system in Vietnam where a hose is provided, so you can hose the toilet and or floor after using. Obviously someone had done that prior to us arriving, hence the wet area. The lobby was not heated, and after signing in we were taken to the restaurant for breakfast. The restaurant was huge with high ceilings and was freezing, so we just left our parkas on. Sapa is generally cold and it was winter, so we were surprised that these areas were not heated. The very good buffet breakfast is huge, with plenty of choice. The jam however was very unpalatable. After breakfast we were taken to our rooms, even though checkin would have probably been after lunch. The room was a good size, beds quite comfortable and quite clean.We had 2 three quarter sized beds in our room, but again the room was cold. It had an old fashioned oiled filled heater in the room which comes on at 5pm and goes off at 6am. I don't know if this is a cost saving exercise, but visitors to Sapa are generally out every day, looking at the sights. Apart from sitting in the lobby or in your room, there's nothing to do in the hotel, so perhaps they don't think it's necessary to heat it. I got a stomach bug on the first day, possibly from our lunch in a local restaurant. That evening after having dinner out, I felt extremely cold and feverish and asked why the hotel wasn't heated. They said that the heaters would stay on the next day. I asked and got an extra quilt for the bed, but threw if off during the night as the room was warm enough. The next morning the heaters had been turned off. I think everything is on a timer. On a good note, the views from our room were to die for. We were lucky that on our 1st day, there wasn't much mist, so we could see into the valley. Sapa in a wonderful place to visit and there's a lot worse hotels to stay in. If visiting in winter as we did, I would stay in another hotel that kept it's heaters on. At other times, this hotel would be fine. Free internet computers were available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Heating kept breaking down and at the time Sapa was 0 degrees and covered in cloud. The staff were reluctant to give us an electric heater and when they did they tried to barge into our room(twice) to take them back. We were so cold we slept in our thermal underwear. When we tried to complain to the manager he refused to see us for three days and on one occasion denied he was the manager. A member of staff then tried turning our electrics off by a cut off switch that was situated in the corridor outside. This happened 3 times and then we caught this person actively turning off our electrics. By this time we actually felt unsafe and decided to leave on the third night. I would never recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here in December. This is a very cute hotel, and the views out of our room would have been SPECTACULAR it it hadn't been foggy and misting the entire time here. I think we picked the wrong time of the year to visit Sapa (pretty cold and wet).

Positives: the room was nice and cute. The beds were comfortable (compared with many of the other beds we had in Vietnam). The view would have been fantastic. The staff were helpful and kind. The location was fine (although any hotel in Sapa would be close enough to be in the same area). The breakfast selection was pretty good.

Negatives: the heat didn't get turned on until 4pm or so, and it was cold and damp there. One person in our travel group didn't get their heat working until bedtime (something was wrong with her radiator).

I presume that it wasn't the hotel's fault, but the electricity kept going out. When it would go out, then partial power would come on a few minutes later, so it seemed like they had a generator or something for backup.

I can't speak to the value, as this was booked as part of a tour.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for your Sapa stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice now. SaPa isn't really a place you go to where you are spending your time in your hotel room. The rooms are comfortable 3 star accomodation once you have been out trekking then go into the town for dinner it's time to sleep. Never had a problem with noise until the roosters wake you up early in the morning. But for me that's all part of it. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Lambert, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great hotel on a fantastic spot. The view was amazing. The room had a high ceiling, big windows adding to the impression of grandeur. The room and the linens spotless. Staff friendly, very attentive. The breakfast was good and plenty. Hotel in a great spot close to city center and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.3 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 52 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.2 mi away
U Sapa
U Sapa
#3 of 52 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapa Lodge
Sapa Lodge
#12 of 52 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#22 of 52 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Sapa Hotel

Property: Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Address: 018 Muong Hoa Road, Sapa 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Sapa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Bamboo Sapa Hotel is considered one of the leading Vietnam hotels in Sapa, especially well-known for its incredible views of the valley and its unbeatable service. Guests are provided a unique stay, different from other Vietnam accommodation options. The cosy rooms at Bamboo Sapa Hotel will leave a lasting impression! One of the best restaurants in Sapa is located at Bamboo Sapa Hotel. Serving a rich menu with over 100 traditional Vietnamese dishes cooked by an experienced chef, the delicious food combined with the excellent service continually build this Sapa restaurant's ranking. What better than to eat gourmet Vietnamese food at the foot of Fansipan Mt? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Bamboo Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Hotel Sapa
Sapa Bamboo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing