We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveler rating
102
214
132
56
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
214
132
56
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat viewhuge bedroom with mountain viewbuffet breakfastspacious roomtrain ridethe main streetnice breakfastvalleycloudsfansipan
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 536 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2012

A common hotel choice if you book a local sapa tour. The room was very spacious and clean. Same to the bedding and bathroom facilities. I was a little hesitant at first if a 3 stars hotel in the hilltop areas would mean compromises on a few things but it turns out that the place has everything I need for a budget and comfy stay. The view of the mountain terraces was fantastic, doesn't matter when its foggy or clear sky. Last but not least, great buffet breakfast, cooking standard and variety is up to international 4 stars chain standard.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeerTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We had 1 night stay at Bamboo Hotel. This hotel was with a very fanastic view of valley and great mountain range. The staff were always friendly and ready to help. The rooms were spacious and comfy. They don't have elevator in their hotel, the location is good for walking around. Nothing is much problem on our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazuyukisuwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Good location and has great views if it's not foggy. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and pretty. Breakfast was buffet style. Very quick laundering service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spankyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights and booked by my girl friend. Our room was small, has window but no aircon. Just a small heater what's not enough warm although It's very cold. Very noisy in early morning by the guests come from Hanoi to visit Sapa. The staffs were very busy to serve the guests whose joined the trip organized by them. Anyway, they have good view and good location. Sapa is very beautiful and worth to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viotin_alexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We booked a tour of Sapa while we were in Hanoi and didn't want to stay at the very popular tour group hotel (Summit Hotel). We opted for the Bamboo for the same price after looking on Trip Advisor. This hotel also had tour groups but gave good service and was in a good location. The room did have a wonderful view and was spacious and comfortable. The only complaint I had was that it was cold and rainy (we were there in early November) and the radiator didn't turn on until 5:00 pm and the bathroom had a shutter over the window instead of glass and we had cold air blowing thru it and there was no way to close it (we had a large plastic bag that we taped over the shutter....brrrr! Morning shower was really cold and we had to keep the door closed or the entire room would have been cold). This situation would be fine if you are planning to stay during warm weather but in the winter it definitely is an issue.

The hotel is built on a hillside so it has many levels and many stairs. If you have any physical problems that make stair climbing difficult, you would need to ask before you book if they can give you a room on or near street level. There would be no rooms where stair climbing is not required as the breakfast room is below street level. There is no elevator. That being said, the whole town of Sapa may be a problem if you have mobility issues because there is lots of walking required, stairs thru town as the whole town is built on hillsides.

My last comment is one regarding the entire tour issue in Sapa. Now that we have traveled there I can see how the trip can be done for a fraction of the cost if you just book each item yourself and not go on a tour. We looked at many tour businesses before we selected the company we went with and most had just about the same tour for more or less the same price. We paid around $400 for two for 3 days in Sapa, 2 nights in the hotel and two overnight train trips. We recommend you just have your Hanoi hotel book your train reservations for you and do the rest yourself after you reach Sapa. Planning it as you go sounded daunting and uncertain so we went with the tour but when we got there we realized you could easily do it yourself and customize your tour to suit you. After we got to Sapa in fact, we didn't take any of the tours with the group on 2 of the days but did different things at an additional cost. One thing that bugged us both was that we were discouraged by the tour reps in Hanoi from trying to go to the Sunday Bac Ha Market. We were told it was just a market like all the others and was too far. We decided to not heed their advice and go anyway. It was a highlight of our stay! Don't let others make your decisions for you. That's why we suggest not booking a set tour but deciding after you get there. There are tons of options and each hotel and restaurant has offerings and tours. People are so friendly and helpful and speak English.

Oh! one other suggestion. There is a massage place right across the street from the Bamboo and they are wonderful! It looks like two small business but are, in fact, associated. They give a wonderful massage and we went there twice.

I would recommend going to Sapa and think you would be happy at the Bamboo but just do it yourself and save money while seeing exactly what you want.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hyatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews