We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a relaxing stay!”
Review of Topas Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Topas Ecolodge
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The surroundings are just beautiful. Right in amongst the rice fields and minority villages. The lodges are clean, bright, airy and have amazing views. They are not too close to each other so you get privacy and it's great having the balcony to relax on. There is great air conditioning as well as a dehumidifier which was useful. The lounge/bar/restaurant area is lovely with the same great views and the staff are attentive but give you your privacy. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They invited us to a performance by the local village women which was great and we also got to take part in the dancing. The breakfast freshly made with a good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sciencecantell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topasecolodge, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for writing to TripAdvisor.
Topas Ecolodge is situated in the mountainous area of north Vietnam between several minority villages. It is our goal to give the locals work here at the lodge and improve there skills. A few times a year we invite the local people from the villages to the lodge so they can perform there authentic music and dans. By doing so, we have a unique opportunity to show our guests another side og there lifestyle. The music an dancing together with there colorful clothing are all part of celebrations at the villages at different times of the year.
Hanne and I are new lodge managers from the beginning of 2014 and pleased to hear your comments about the bungalow you stayed in. Being place high in the mountains can at times be very challenging.

Thank you for your comments lodge manager Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Topas Ecolodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 764 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

We a group of 5 couples stayed one night at this beautiful place. We had Ethnic Travel booked this accommodation for us. The lodge was outside of Sapa town and away from all the hotels and restaurants. We had our stay with dinner and breakfast included.
The dinner was very good, food was well presented and it was fine dining atmosphere. We had so much foods served that we got difficulty finished our foods.
The morning breakfast was served ala carte and it was the best breakfast I had for this Hanoi trip.
They have 25 bungalows overlooking the entire valley. The room was clean and spacious.
They also have various type of packages which include accommodation, meals and hiking tours.
We truly enjoyed our stay here with stunning view and good foods. I will surely return if I visit Sapa again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topasecolodge, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for writing to TripAdvisor.

The experience Hanne and I have as new managers coincides completely with your comments. We have now been here for 4 months – to be able to work here is very rewarding. Our local staff all do a fantastic job. Our goal is to give them as many skills as possible during our 2 year period. I also hope to see you again here at Topas Ecolodge.

Thank you for your comments lodge manager Eric.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a really special place that I hope to visit again. The lodge is deeply respectful to local peopl and the environment. Local minorities staff the lodge and guide hikes and bike rides throughout the area. (I highly recommend booking a village home stay through the associated Topas Travel.) The lodge is on a working rice farm, so local people are working the rice terraces with their buffalo on the hillsides surrounding the lodge. Pretty, comfortable rooms dot a hilltop with stunning vistas. There's even a petanque court! Excellent, fresh local food and a good selection of drinks are served at the main lodge, where guests gather to relax and play games. This is such a little gem-- at a really reasonable price. It's great for families (a friendly goat, the occasional shy pig trotting by) but is also a nice spot for a couple on a romantic holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelsea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topasecolodge, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for writing to TripAdvisor.

The experience Hanne and I have as new lodge managers coincides completely with your comments. We have now been here for 4 months – to be able to work here is very rewarding. Our local staff all do a fantastic job. Our goal is to give them as many skills as possible during our 2 year period. I also hope to see you again here at Topas Ecolodge.

Thank you for your comments lodge manager Eric.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Went there with a young family of three kids. The lodge is a drive outside sapa so you are a good 45mins from the town. You are on a virgin mountainside. The location is peaceful and stunning. Lots of space for kids to walk about. Great food and relaxing atmosphere. The local hill tribes anxious to sell you things at the entrance but not threatening. Highly recommended. Would go back again.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topasecolodge, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for writing to TripAdvisor.

We are becoming quiet popular for young families to visit us. We have a vast area within Topas Ecolodge were the children can safely run around. Play with our friendly goat, badminton and various other games. Inside the lounge area there is several other games. For teenagers and others we have free access to Wi-Fi and a vast range of trekking and cycling activities. Nice to here that you would come back again. You and all others are most certainly welcome.

Thank you for your comments lodge manager Eric.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

It was a wonderful experience staying at Topas Ecolodge.

My boyfriend and I booked 3 day, 2 night biking and ecolodge package with Topas, with the romantic upgrade (our own cabin to/from Sapa on the train which was worth every penny and a candlelit dinner with a bottle of champagne - both worth every penny) and executive cabin supplement for the one night we were at the Ecolodge.

Our view was wonderful and although the room was a little basic, this was not a disappointment in the slighest. It was peaceful and relaxing and everyone was very helpful. The candelit dinner was a highlight - the quality and quantity of the food was excellent, if a little spicy for my tastebuds!

Everything was great, and even after we'd checked out and finished our cycling we were able to relax in the restaurant, continue to enjoy the amazing views and even play a game of Scrabble! A very memorable part of our holiday to Vietnam which I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: You may wish to request a 200 cabin which do not have the views of the quarry...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Gertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topasecolodge, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for writing to TripAdvisor.
I am very pleased to here your comments about the experience with our package 3 days and 2 nights mountain getaway with the romantic upgrade. This arrangement is fairly new, but never the less it has become a very popular activity. As always we are trying to give our guests a very special experience while they are here at Topas Ecolodge. Your last remark about recommending us to anyone !! Thank you - and we will as allways try to give new guest a unique and memorable stay.

Thank you for your comments lodge manager Eric.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

had a 2 night stay and enjoyed every minute of it: good food and service, very noce bungalows and stunning vieuws. Only downside were the local women at the entrance who insist on walking with you everywhere you go, hoping to sell you their handmade souvenirs at ridicoulously high prices.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Phaedra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topasecolodge, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for writing to TripAdvisor.

The Red Dao minority ladies standing outside of the premises to the Topas Ecolodge are a challenge for all our guests. We are continually talking to the ladies and trying to make them put up shop. However they are local, colorful and can actually enlighten our guests stay by showing the way they live and there handy craft. I am as lodge manager please to hear that your stay otherwise was af very good experience. Our staff all from the local minorities work hard to get new skills, always pleasant in manner and energetic – giving the place a good atmosphere.

Thank you for your comments lodge manager Eric.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had one night in Topas Eco Lodge after two days hiking some pretty rough tracks through the Sapa hillside. We had stayed two nights in home stays and were so excited when we reached Topas Eco Lodge. We were not disappointed. We were out of season in December so the place was fairly quiet. However, it was magnificent. With personal hillside bungalows with everything you could need. The management was welcoming and friendly, excellent beds, rooms, and bathrooms with a private veranda looking down over the valley behind the lodge.
We found being hassled by the local tribe women a real issue. We didn't walk around the local track because after 2 days of being followed and hounded to buy their craft items we had had enough. We talked to Topas management about this and they said that they had worked with the elders to encourage the hill tribe women to set up a stall in front of the lodge and not continually approach the guests but it hadn't worked. I would have purchased something rather than run a mile if that had been the case. They do not come immediately onto the hotel paths but the minute you stray they are upon you. However, this is the same throughout Sapa.
That was the only negative for us. Otherwise the lodge was truly beautiful. In season they will organise all you activities and you could base yourself here and do your hikes and bikes as well as a home stay from Topas. The meals were good but nothing special. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topasecolodge, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for writing to TripAdvisor.

Hanne and I are new managers since the first of January 2014. The 4 months we have been here have also been challenging when dealing with the minority ladies from Red Dao. We are continually talking to the ladies and trying to make them put up shop. However they are local, colorful and can actually enlighten our guests by showing the way they live and there handy craft. It is very nice to hear that you were taken good care of, during your stay at Topas Ecolodge in December last. In the period leading up to our start here, there had been several management changes. It is very comforting for us to hear that everything was working well.

Thank you for your comments lodge manager Eric.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
9.0 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
6.0 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#7 of 73 in Sapa
195 reviews
9.3 mi away
Aira Boutique Sapa Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sapa Clay House - Mountain Retreat
9.1 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 73 in Sapa
403 reviews
8.9 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#32 of 73 in Sapa
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topas Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topas Ecolodge

Address: 24 Muong Hoa, Sapa 12345, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#7 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range: $171 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topas Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Bungalow stay at Topas Ecolodge is the perfect way to experience the remoteness and quiet of Northern Vietnam, its landscape, fresh air and ethnic minorities. Set deep in the spectacular Sapa valley, Topas Ecolodge has a panoramic view of the surrounding mountains and across the scenic valley. As our guest you will enjoy all the comforts of a pleasant stay in an environment that is making a responsible and sustainable commitment to the nature and people of Sapa Valley. We got heated pool, spa, free mountain bikes and great opportunities for relaxation or great active days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Topas Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topas Ecolodge Sapa
Topas Ecolodge Hotel Sapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing