We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience”
Review of Ta Phin Village

Ta Phin Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$138.00*
and up
Full-Day Biking Adventure in Sapa
Ranked #5 of 51 things to do in Sapa
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Travelling and staying in one of the villages around Sapa adds to the experience of this area of Vietnam. The scenery around Sapa is stunning and trekking to Ta Phin is a great way to see the countryside and to see how the local ethnic groups live here and farm the land.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank OzExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    81
    36
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Red Dzao village”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The herbal baths are great and the town is lovely. You can arrange treks here from Sapa. We had Ta May from the Village Noshery/Hmong Mountain Retreat who was fantastic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousWandererAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
796 reviews
622 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Less touristy village”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had visited this village with our guide and comparing to another village we had visited later this one was the less touristy one. We were not followed by any local women at all and we met only another couple with a guide on the way. I loved visiting the local school and seeing the children happily playing during their break. We met many children along the way and also many black piglets. The weather wasn't great and maybe that's why this place was almost deserted by tourists. You can really get bit of a feel for the local life here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great trek!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is very nice & not too tiring! Great views of rice paddies and local villages. If you are lucky enough you will not be followed by 4!!! women trying to sell you the same things:-)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AnaFlo_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“a Less-Touristic Area to Explore”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We like the area which is not full with tourists but we cannot avoid the tribes that love to follow us and practice their English and of course with the hope that with their company we would buy some souvenir from them.

The road is a bit hilly compared with the Tavan Village area which is extremely easy to walk. So this area might not be suitable for senior people.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Koelnsperger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta Phin Village also viewed

Sapa, Lao Cai Province
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 

Been to Ta Phin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing