We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Sapa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
27
23
29
9
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
23
29
9
14
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 102 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Convinced by my guide to try this hotel, I decided to do so for a night (my original hotel didn't really make a fuss about a sudden cancellation of a night's stay..which was a good thing).

This hotel is located along the end of the main street (which can get pretty crowded) but Sapa town is quite small anyway so most places are within comfortable walking distances.

On first impressions, the hotel seemed dusty and the room was quite simple. It had a door that opened to a common balcony outside, which means you can enter other people's rooms from their balcony doors as well (so do latch your balcony door properly at night). There was some construction going on nearby so it was dusty and noisy in the daytime. Not exactly conducive to plans for outdoor terrace relaxation.

Room was smaller than the room I had at Sapa luxury, and it didn't have a computer in the room either, but that isn't a big issue.
Somehow I felt the view was also better at Sapa Luxury, although it's pretty good here too. Maybe that's because my room was at the end of the corridor, if you had rooms more to the front of the corridor, I think you would have better views of the hills and valleys.

The one very good thing about this room was that it was warmer than Sapa Luxury. (Maybe due to a different kind of flooring?). Beds are comfortable, showers are hot and breakfast was good too. Feels like they have sufficient staff (as compared to Sapa Luxury) and you do get to choose a proper breakfast from a menu in the big breakfast room downstairs.

The manager was friendly, and I guess you could arrange for transportation/tours through them.
All in all, apart from being a lil dusty outside, for their prices, I can't find much to complain about this place as I had a satisfied stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank infrarouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel in May 2011 in a Standard room with a balcony which is giving the view to across the mountains, where people told me there use to be a busy aid centre. Service good, staffs are very friendly. Good choice, worth the penny.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martinbuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I stayed here with extended family in mid May 2011. I saw this hotel from across the way from the (disgustingly awful) Mountain View Hotel where I stayed a couple years ago. I chose to stay at the Royal if I visited Sapa again. This was after personally inspecting a number of different Sapa hotels back then. I telephoned directly and we booked 4 rooms at $15 a night each which included breakfast. On arrival, the staff were fantastic. Check in easy and during the whole stay, they could not do enough for us. They gave particular care and attention to an aged person in our group. Breakfast provided a wide choice of selections and food quality was high. Rooms are large and airy and we found the beds wonderful for a good nights sleep. Clean and tidy throughout. The balconies offer uninterrupted views into the valley and across the mountains. Speedy WiFi throughout the hotel. The hotel offers a perfect location just down the hill a ways so it is a good distance from the church and it's never ending ringing of the bell. Royal Hotel (not to be confused with Royal View Hotel) is in a quiet area with two fantastic bakeries just metres from the Hotel reception. Just a short walk also are a number of quality restaurants. The first aid centre is right next door as are a number of good massage services for the tired feet after trekking. Hotel has it's own website here - [---]

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarwinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Arrived in Sapa without making a booking - our mini bus dropped us at Darling hotel - had a look and it was awful, damp and in dire need of a revamp the guy said 20 a night! We ran haha - checked out all the other hotels and guest houses including the summit hotel all around 15-25 (summit being high end) everyone was willing to drop their prices to get us to stay (the guesthouse dropped from 12 to 6$) we arrived on a Monday which is much quieter than the weekend. We realized we were not in the heart of Sapa town so we walked down and checked out heaps of other rooms - Royal Hotel was definitely the best value for money 15 for a family room!!!! ( single and double bed) And the room was very big and comfortable - mattress mist have been new as it was very comfy. Slept very well every night. And had an awesome view of the mountains. They were great help in organising a motorbike for us and a tour guide. We were very impressed!!! And you don't have to book! You get a better rate by walking in

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hersha87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

If you are not into posh hotel rooms, but just want a big and functional room to rest for the night, this place is ok!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Open_Minds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Sapa_hotel, Giám đốc bán hàng at Royal Sapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2015

Dear Valued Customer,
Warmest greetings from Royal Sapa Hotel!
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about Royal Sapa Hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you very much to spent your holiday with our hotel. we are just a new owner of thí hotel since 18th june 2014. after receipted this hotel back from the previous owner we were spent alot of time and also money to upgrading the facilities and now it already has a good standard. you can refer about our information on internet, website or other new review from other traveler since 18th june 2014 so far but anyway we are so sorry to heard of any trouble that you were have had during your stay in this hotel before we will see that for our experience to keep trying to improving our services and we hope that we will have an opportunity to see you again in our hotel so that you can see what is was changed.

Kindly Regarding
Thanh Do/Mr
Sale Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews