We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
142
265
127
44
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
265
127
44
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaiting roomfree internetgreat viewthe main streetmount fansipanroom balconycomfortable hoteloverlooking the valleynight traincentre of townhot waterrice fieldsshowervietnamtourmarketfog
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 602 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2011

A two stars hotel posed as a four stars. While the welcome staff are nice and the breakfast is good for a small town as Sapa, the room quality is really bad. Wooden doors and furniture are in worn-out condition. There is no fan in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simba-Begin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

The Chau Long is in a good spot off the hustle of the main road in Sapa, and has lovely views. We stayed in connecting rooms which worked well with two children. However, having stayed in 3 star hotels in other places in Vietnam, I would say this one is really not worth 4 stars. It seems that most Sapa hotels have "issues" judging by Trip Advisor reviews, so we paid the extra for this one, which at least had hot water (eventually), functioning heaters and enough blankets (after we asked for more). The towels were thin, the coffee was terrible, the staff were distracted and the lobby was full of blokes smoking cigarettes. After a night on the train and another in the homestay, the kids were disappointed that the longed-for TV had only a couple of stations and the cartoons were dubbed in Thai. Still, we were warm and slept well. (we had a short stay at the Cat Cat Hotel the morning we arrived where there was no hot water and no heating - brrrr!). I'd say drop your expectations when you come to Sapa - you need to pay a bit more for less here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Thank you Mr Ben from MinMax Travel for organising our stay in Vietnam and recommending this hotel. After reading reviews on TripAdvisor, I thought this was going to be a good stay in SaPa. We had adjoining rooms as we are a family of four (2 teenage kids) It was a great location for our guides and for pick up and drop offs slightly off the main road so as not to get TOO hassled by the H'Mong wnated to make a quick buck from tourists! The only thing I diod not like about this hotel was the bed - it was as hard as a plank - spacious though hard as a rock. If you are not used to a hard bed, this may be a real problem for you. Luckily the hotel was offering massages in the SPA on Level 1 so i thought I would ease my back pain down there!!!!! (Sounds like a good business model!) Seriously though, for the price range, i really could not fault the hotel. They kept our bags for a day when we were on a walking tour and were VERY friendly, accommodating and could speak English very well. The bathrooms were clean although a little dated. The views of the valley and the town were quite nice and the oil heater was used in our room in December due to the cold in the evenings. The room had a safe but it looked SO secure I did not leave anything in it for fear of not being able to get it out! The breakfast was very good - buffet was extensive in range with the restaurant overlooking the valley. I would definitely recommend to stay here though a sleeping bag over the rock hard mattress would have helped!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DadMumandTwoKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Stayed at Chau Long as part of a trip to the Sapa region. I found the hotel to be extremely pleasant. The rooms were clean and the showers hot. One thing, Vietnam beds are generally very firm. It was a bit of a shock after staying at the Hilton with its western style beds! There are plenty of restaurants near by with great cheap food. We ate at Vietnam Emotion, Lizard Restaurant and Romano's pizza. All are located near the hotel and the food was fabulous. Also, on the corner up from the hotel entrance there is a great foot massage shop front. 100000VND (around $5) for a one hour massage and foot soak. It also included shoulder and back massage too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

This hotel is great. Centrally located in Sapa. Rooms are huge, all with great views of the surrounding fields/hills. Food is good at the hotel as well although there are plenty of local restaurants which may be a little cheaper. Front desk staff are great and very helpful. Spa was great. Hubby had massage but don't think it was necessarily the cleanest spa i have ever been to but staff were experts! Best massage hubby has ever had.
The only downside to this as follows. We travelled on the overnight train from Hanoi to Sapa. We like many others, arrived at the hotel very sleepy and wanting a shower (however i should add, the train journey was excellent - we travelled tourist class, you have free bottled water, comfortable berths, clean, very clean western style toilet, cannot fault it, although recommend taking ear plugs). The hotel rooms were not available at 6am so like the others, we were all crammed onto the sofas looking for somewhere to close our eyes. The toilets to brush teeth and freshen up at the hotel aren't great, narrow and not the cleanest but acceptable. I personally think the hotel should be creative to allow these guests who don't have a room some area to freshen up, perhaps a room with some beds in it, anything, to make the three hours a bit easier while you waited for your trek to begin at 9am as i am sure they go through this every day. In addition, in November, you are hitting winter - the hotel reception area doesn't have glass in all its windows so it was very cold as well, so again recommend keeping a fleece handy.
Overall, the hotel rooms are lovely, front desk staff friendly and do their best to help. I would definitely stay at this hotel again - but next time i may consider booking a room for the previous night so i have a room to come to on arrival - if you can afford it..

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeansMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews