We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“balcony with a lovely view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Notts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“balcony with a lovely view”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed only one night in Sapa but we were really glad we stayed here. We had a double room with balcony with nice view down the valley. Good location for restaurants and bars. They provided a shower after our train journey, A pretty decent breakfast was on offer. It may be a little dated but it was very comfortable.stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JammyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Front Office Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear JammyNotts,

We are happy we could make your experience in Sapa comfortable and memorable. The location and views at Chau Long Sapa are certainly some of the many highlights that the Hotel offers. Our arrival/departure showers are a welcome relief for guests and a great opportunity to freshen up after your train journey and trekking the beautiful mountains of Sapa.

Once again we express a sincere thank you for sharing your experience of our Hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks & kind regards,
Neal. Front Office Manager. Chau Long Sapa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    256
    117
    40
    19
See reviews for
107
224
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our 2nd best hotel in Vietnam (best was Vinh Hung 1 in Hoi An). The room was huge, had loads of character, which is what we liked. Sadly, we had no views as the clouds were low throughout our stay, but it felt very atmospheric walking along the open corridors. Staff very helpful, good breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Front Office Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Moya N,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and services. Sorry about the clouds that obscured your view. If you visit Sapa in August/September you will be rewarded with great weather, beautiful views of the rice fields ready to be harvested and we will do our best to make Chau Long your number 1 hotel stay in Vietnam !

Thanks & regards,
Neal. Front Office Manager. Chau Long Sapa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel may have once been grand and there maybe great views from the rooms (we viewed a road) but I didn't experience this.

Good: plenty of hot water (we were on level 2), free internet in the waiting room (enormous), beautiful staircase (though most steps had broken lips - be careful!), good location in town

Indifferent: Cleanliness of the room (felt dusty and tired and a little bit unclean underfoot)

Poor: Breakfast selection was rubbery or stale, very hard beds (which one gets used to in Asia - similar to the beds on the train), I felt very very sorry for the magnificent rooster chained up to a tree branch just outside the lobby

Sapa was a highlight of our trip, but I will try to forget the hotel as soon as possible!

(for much much less money we are staying at the superb Hotel Elegance Diamond in Hanoi which I absolutely love)

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CateHodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fansipan_13, Front Office Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Catharine R,

I am sorry to read that your experience at our Hotel did not satisfy you.

I would like to thank you for all of your feedback. I will address all comments with the relevant departments who will take the required action to ensure all of our guests do not share the same experiences as you mentioned.

You may be pleased to know that our mascot -the rooster at the front of the Hotel is perched on a branch some days but that is not everyday. At night he enjoys a big pen with other companions and always has plenty of food and water.

Sapa is a remote town in North-West Vietnam and in general Sapa is very different to anything people experience in Hanoi or the rest of Vietnam. As in any remote corner of the world, access to services requires extra time, effort & money. This reflects on all local business and the people of the area and therefore prices for hotels in Hanoi are generally cheaper than here.

Once again I thank you for your helpful review and we take all opinions seriously to ensure guest satisfaction

Best regards & safe travels!

Neal. Front Office Manager. Chau Long Sapa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here as part of a 21 day group tour of Vietnam. Sapa was the highlight of the trip and our 2 night stay in Chau Long was the pick of Hotels on our tour!
We were impressed right away from the warm greetings of the Reception Staff and in particular would like to mention the extra care extended to us by Neal, an Australian who is working and living in Sapa -no question was too hard to answer and his knowledge through personal experience of the area was invaluable.
Our room was comfortable and warm, we had a great nights sleep after our Train trip and a days walking!
We ate in the Restaurant once and enjoyed a delicious meal. The massage was good and we had the Steam room and Jacuzzi complimentary. We didn't make use of the arrival/departure lounge showers -a nice touch, but they looked clean and presentable, We had a game of pool while were waiting for our transfer to the train and are using the internet where I am writing this review! Overall a great stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Noel C,

On be half of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Chau Long Sapa during your stay in Sapa

We are very happy to know that you satisfied with our hotel, services, staffs and we do hope that you left Sapa with full memories of Sapa in general and Chau Long Sapa Hotel in particular

Once again, thanks for your nice experiences on Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we look forward to welcomes you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

the View from our Room Balcony was fantastic (in a clear Day), service was good and friendly, location is Great ,just in the Centre of Sapa, close to many Resturants, Bars and Shops.
the Room is big but it's time to renew the furniture and Bathroom tiles.the Shower Curtain is old and dirty.the Hotel needs to pay attention and improve small details.the smell in the Loby is unplasent. we didn't eat any of our meals in the Hotel Resturant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaganHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Guest Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear DaganHongKong

On be half of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Chau Long Sapa during your stay in Sapa

We are very happy to know that you satisfied with our hotel, services, staffs. However, the mentioned issues will be acted accordingly

Once again, thanks for your nice experiences on Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we look forward to welcomes you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Last but not least, we highly appreciate your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we stayed in Sapa for two nights, the hotel staff were very nice and freindly. the hotel is located in a very good place in Sapa. wonderful view from our room balcony. the room was very big and clean. If ever I'll be back to Sapa I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Tsms1

On be half of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Chau Long Sapa during your stay in Sapa

We are very happy to know that you satisfied with our hotel, services, staffs

Once again, thanks for your nice experiences on Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we look forward to welcomes you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Last but not least, we highly appreciate your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed one night, was a welcome relief with Aussie Neil at the front desk. The view from the balcony was excellent the weather was wonderful to be able to enjoy sitting having a beer. Rooms were clean and plenty of room the only thing was the bed was quite hard but barable. Used the spa facilities due to the pool being cold, was very relaxing. The staff were very helpful and they had good waiting room when you checked out and waiting for a transfer, shower, computers and a bar. Will return for sure. Thank you for a wonderful stay

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyen H, Public Relations Manager at Chau Long Sapa Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Matt H,

On be half of Chau Long Sapa Hotel, I would like to express our sincere thanks for your choosing Chau Long Sapa during your stay in Sapa

We are very happy to know that you satisfied with our hotel, services, staffs

Once again, thanks for your nice experiences on Chau Long Sapa Hotel and we look forward to welcomes you back to Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Last but not least, we highly appreciate your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#20 of 68 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 68 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#12 of 68 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.2 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Amazing Hotel Sapa
Amazing Hotel Sapa
#19 of 68 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chau Long Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chau Long Sapa Hotel

Property: Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Address: 24 Dong Loi Street, Sapa 21000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chau Long Sapa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chau Long Sapa Hotel 2 is still the best location in Sapa, thus all the rooms freshly renovated (new floor + beds + flat TV) you will have a breathtaking view to the mountains and Muong Hoa Valley on your private balcony. The hotel offers free Internet facilities for its guests and also have the best tours and trekkings in Sapa area with local guides. Come see by yourself and experience the difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chau Long Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chau Long Hotel Sapa
Chau Long Sapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing