We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, outstanding restauranr ang and great views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cat Cat View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cat Cat View Hotel
Ranked #18 of 114 Sapa B&B and Inns
kingston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, outstanding restauranr ang and great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed at the Cat Cat View Hotel for a week in March 2009 and realy enjoyed our stay. We had a room with a fireplace overlooking the valley . The views ,when it wasn't misty, were out of this world. The staff was freindly and the restaurant food was like eating home cooking. The pho soup was the best we had in Vietnam. The Hotel arranged a two day excursion to two fansatic markets. Doing an overnight excursion meant you got to the second market as early in the morning as you wanted. The drive to the markets was as much fun as seeing the markets the scerery was breathtaking, if you don't mind heights. We would recomend the Hotel to al lwho want a specia lstay at affordable prices. The room was big and the shower was fine and the bed had a electric blanket for those cool nihgts an dthe fireplace was a nce romamtic touch. Just don't turmn the bathroom fan on whe nthe fireplace is light or you will dicover as we did you will end up with a smoked filled room as the fan sucks the smoke into the room. The who Sapa epeience was great and the Cat Cat View enhanced the experience..

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albertKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    129
    72
    41
    12
See reviews for
67
126
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

Cat Cat Hotel is actually combined with “Cat Cat Hotel” with nice 180 degree Cat Cat village view and the other side across Fanxipang Road and where the restaurant is called “Cat Cat View Hotel”, you can still see the beautiful landscape of the mountain but the view is blocked by some crap buildings.

I went to Sapa 5 years ago and I also stayed in Cat Cat Hotel which is arranged by Kangaroo Café. I quite liked it last time when I stayed as I was stayed in 2nd floor of Cat Cat side which picturesque Cat Cat village view, big room with 2 sides window and big terrace with benches. We were on the 5th floor of Cat Cat View this time, cos it’s three of us so we had been told by Kangeroo Aussie boss that one of us may need to share the room with others as it’s no triple room in Cat Cat View Hotel. That’s fine. We got arranged to rooms next to each other. The room was not as big as last time and it was just right enough for 2 beds. One side window face to the small terrace which the light outside the room was broke down and we had to take a torch with us to get thru the whole corridor and open the door at night whereas it was a step in the mid of corridor which my friend nearly fell down on the corridor. What an adventure! Only shower provided in the washroom and the power of water was weak on the 5th floor. The karaoke music was keep playing from somewhere (the staff said it’s from temple? Wired…but it sounds like karaoke for me..) which ruin the natural environment surrounded. After we took showers, clean all the muddy clothes from the homestay hike, spread out our belongings, just ready to see the city as it was our only half day to see the town; the staff told us to move to downstair! What? We were just back from the exhausted trip, just unpacked everything and hanged up the wet clothes and underwears, you told me to pack and unpack my baggage again? He said the receptionist made the mistake and we should stay in one room. So it’s your mistake, not me, right? Why I have to suffer it when it’s plenty of empty rooms over there? When we explain about it, the staff portended that he couldn’t understand my English and just kept sitting outside our room and monitor us like “we are just caught by the police”. Finally we didn’t want to waste our time so my friend stayed next room moved with us and we all squeezed in the twin room without extra bed.

The first morning before we went homestay hike in the village, we had breakfast in Cat Cat View Hotel. There was a list of set breakfast on the big black board hanged on the wall and also some pieces of lists on the table. My friend ordered an item on the black board but the staff said we could only order the item on the piece of paper. We thought it’s cos we didn’t stay in the hotel that night, only stayed in the homestay village house, so properly budget breakfast was provided. Because the staff couldn’t speak English well, so we didn’t ask. We ordered the breakfast on a piece of card. The other day when we come back from homestay, we had breakfast in the restaurant. Once we got in, I pointed to the board and ordered a breakfast set, then my friends too. And finally, we’ve asked to pay at the counter as it is not “Kangeroo Café breakfast” when we were ready to check out. It was ridiculous because it was no one told us on the reception when we check in, the staff could have told us when we check-in or when we ordered the ‘wrong’ breakfast and it was nothing mention the differences on the menus in the restaurant. We argued for half an hour in the reception before our trip to Tam Buong market and we were half an hour late to get on the van.

Tam Buong market is a market recommended by the Vietnam expert Aussie boss of Kangaroo Café. It means to be bigger and less touristy (as it takes longer time to get there) than the lonely planet Bac Ha market. We were going to two markets and we would have chance to see more minority ethnics in those two market. We paid 20USD each for the trip. But finally WE SAW NOTHING, the markets were closed already when we got there. We paid 20USD each and took us half day there and WE SAW NOTHING, what a joke! They were the expert in Sapa and they should start earlier to make sure that we were there on time! That’s what we paid for! They wasted my $$ and my time cos their poor management but didn’t even say sorry to us when we complained! They made excuse that the minority ethnics went back home early suddenly this week. What? U mean we paid for our luck? And we were just unlucky? And u’ve got no fault? The boss of the hotel had never showed up when we complained. It was totally irresponsible. I highly sincerely tell everyone NOT TO STAY IN THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HkNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sapa hotels

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

This hotel may look ordinary from the outside, but once in the inside, it is totally out of my imagination. It has a few storeys of hotel rooms with the top floor overlooking the beautiful mountains of Sapa. I was glad that I have chosen the room with mountain view. The room facilities appeared basic but it was clean. It was a shame that there was a problem with the electricity on our first day arrival and the owner did not respond spontaneously to such problem. He claimed that blackout appears from time to time. Luckily, I was out for tours most of the time and the blackout did not affect me much when I was there. Overall, this is still a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grgeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
200 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

This hotel has lovely staff and nicely appointed rooms - even though it was a foggy, cold night (and we lost power for about an hour), my husband and I really enjoyed this place. The electric blanket was a nice touch which made us warm enough that we didn't even need to start a fire in the fireplace. The room was nicely appointed and felt cozy which made us feel like we had a bit of luxury during our backpacker holiday. The restaurant is also a nice touch - the breakfast was great!

A bit pricey perhaps though worth a few extra dollars - if weather is clear, the view will be worth it...and if the weather isn't good, you may want to cozy up in a nice room after a damp, foggy day.

Also worth mentioning that it's one of the closest to Cat Cat Village (and also near the market) - it's close to things but not right in the middle of the action (read: touts).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sasandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights/3 days travelling with another family. The family room we had was basic but OK and was a good size for the 4 of us.

Restaurant with stunning views and good food is a great place to chill and catch up with other travellers over a beer or two.

Excellent place for the kids with enough space for them to explore.

Good staff that help arrange trips etc, including train tickets from Hanoi and back, though the system for collection seems a bit odd it does work. They are also very well geared to the overnight train with them making rooms available as soon as possible on arrival and providing shower facilities after checking out.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cantabtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

I loved my stay at the Cat Cat Hotel. The manager, Mr. Ba, is so nice and his English is very good. He is incredibly helpful for excursions and treks and really listens to what you want out of your excursion--we asked for something very non-touristy but that would give us a good overview of the scenery and that's exactly what we got (and believe me, non-touristy can be difficult in Sapa!) He also let us use a room to shower and change after our hike, even though we'd already checked out of our room.
Our room was lovely and very clean; we had down comforters and even an electric blanket that we could use! This was a very nice touch. The view was great and the little terrace outside our room was adorable.

I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone traveling to Sapa.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aegregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

The Cat Cat View was our base for two nights and three days in Sapa, travelling as a group of seven comprising two families (each in a family room)

This was an especially great place for families, with plenty of outside space for the kids on the terraces around which life in this very sociable hotel revolves. The little restaurant did fine breakfasts and snacks, adequates lunches, and with its stunning views was a great place to relax over a drink.

While clean, the bed linen was looking a little tired.

The Cat Cat folk also organised our train tickets to-and-from Hanoi, plus two trips we did while based in Sapa. Everything worked fine, though the delivery of tickets to our hotel in Hanoi for the train was a little later than expected.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCriticDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 65 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#16 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#6 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#8 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Cat View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Cat View Hotel

Property: Cat Cat View Hotel
Address: 046 Fan Xi Pang, Sapa 19999, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cat Cat View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cat Cat View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing