We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid stay in Sapa”
Review of Cat Cat View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cat Cat View Hotel
Ranked #23 of 152 Sapa B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2013

When we arrived in Sapa we had not arranged any accommodation. We were dropped off in Sapa town in the early hours of the morning after our overnight train feeling a little lost. This feeling did not last long when a staff member or representative of Cat Cat View came over to tell us about this hotel and offer to take us there. We agreed to follow him to look at the hotel. He showed us into numerous rooms and explained the prices. We picked a room at the front with a balcony and exceptional veiws! Organising motorbike hire and trekking tours was very easily done with hotel reception - completely hassle free. Hotel very close to restaurants and markets - Lots to do within walking distance. Staff very friendly. Excellent price for what you get! The whole experience was very impressive and stress free, especially considering we just walked on in without prior arrangement!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Cathydeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Cat Cat View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 348 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

After a fair bit of research I booked Cat Cat View for our family trip to Sapa - it was well worth it. We were able to check in as soon as we arrived on the overnight train from Hanoi which was great and were able to feast on a yummy breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The staff were lovely and the kids felt safe and had fun in the family environment. The rooms were comfortable and the views absolutely breathtaking. It's not often that you look at photos on a website and they end up being real - Cat Cat View's website photos are real!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We found this place out of luck after some trouble in the Hotel down the road. It seems to be family managed, and people are rather friendly.
The big plus was a fire place in the room (not sure if all rooms have one).
Also rooms were very spacious and with balcony that you share with the room next door. They also provide an electric blanket.
Unfortunately the weather was very foggy, but I believe the view is stunning, especially from the restaurant on the 8th floor...
I recommand this place, we paid 35USD for our room, with breakfast (Eggs, toast, juice and coffee)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with cheminey =)
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julinhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on recommendation by our hotel manager in Hanoi. Cat cat view has good sized rooms with lovely views out to the mountains and sapa town. The staff are very friendly & informative. We arrived am early on the overnight train and were provided a room immediately. The hotel restaurant is very good and reasonably priced - try the hot pot. The rooms are not heated however electric blankets are provided. Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel has the most awesome unobstructed mountain views that are in full view for all high level rooms. I have stayed in hotels which claim that they have good views or mountain views which turn out to be obscured or just disappointing. This is definitely not one of them:). I had the good fortune of beautiful weather 2-3 days I was there and as a result spent a good amount time in the morning and after treks soaking in the views and sunshine on the terrasse/ corridor outside the room. They are considerate to place many rattan chairs, benches, couches and even 2 swings in the courtyard around the 7th floor lift lobby for guests to relax and enjoy the view and beautiful weather. Some of these spots are well hidden and in the winter the hotel seems less busy so the courtyard becomes somewhat a lovely private secret garden. Even in foggy weather which we had on the last day where visibility was very poor, we appreciated the comfortable indoor seating at the 7th floor and plentiful free wifi to rest and pass time.

The room we had was a double room. It was simple, with drawers, tv, bathroom with hot shower, towels. There was an electric blanket to keep you warm and comfy in cold winter nights. Room was basic but clean. I didn't feel like it was missing anything I needed. I spied on other rooms adjacent as they were vacant. Some had fire places and couches- quite lovely :).

Breakfast was included in room price and is taken at the 7th floor cafe with (again) awesome views. We had noodles with soup, toast, omelette, fried eggs. We took dinner at the cafe once too. Food was always simply prepared but always well done and tasty.

Staff was really friendly throughout our stay, patient and helpful with queries. I think this hotel is family run and the staff all seemed to be happy and laid back doing their routines and tasks around the property, smiling when seeing you, giving you a great feeling of bring relaxed and at home.

It's located very near start of trek to Cat Cat- very convenient, and steps from the square and church. It's also near several new cafes and restaurants - my favorite being natures view.

Really enjoyable stay and I will definitely come back again. :))

Room Tip: Rooms on high levels have excellent mountain views. You may want to confirm if your room has mountai...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zpphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the Cat Cat View Hotel for 2 days in August 2011. Excellent views. Breakfast was decent. Very friendly staff.

Apart from the great views, I had read somewhere before that this hotel gave away some of their proceeds for the welfare of the villages nearby. This to us was a reason we opted to stay there.

[Note: the drop down only allowed me to select up to Jan 2012 and not August 2011]

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a balcony, but be prepared to climb up several flights of stairs. We paid USD...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrottingcodeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

we stayed in the 15$ room which was nice but bad maintained. the higher rooms were nicer.
The staff is not nice, they are not welcoming and you feel like a walking wallet.
the good side were the electric blankets who us warm at night.

we booked a day trip recommended by the hotel staff.
The recommendation was terrible for that day. we had a bad time with broken equipment.
The staff blamed us for the bad recommendation and was very rude. they never apologized and never recognized their fault.

we do not recommend this hotel to anyone.
KEEP Away!!!!

Room Tip: we dont recommend this hotel. KEEP Away!!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gadys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.3 mi away
Sapa View Hotel
Sapa View Hotel
#58 of 73 in Sapa
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cat Cat Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casablanca Hotel
Casablanca Hotel
#57 of 73 in Sapa
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapa Eden Hotel
Sapa Eden Hotel
#38 of 73 in Sapa
437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#12 of 73 in Sapa
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#25 of 73 in Sapa
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Cat View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Cat View Hotel

Address: 046 Fan Xi Pang, Sapa 19999, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range: $23 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cat Cat View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cat Cat View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing