We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificient view of Sapa from Cat Cat View hotel”
Review of Cat Cat View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cat Cat View Hotel
Ranked #19 of 139 Sapa B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Magnificient view of Sapa from Cat Cat View hotel”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

This hotel is definitely an ideal central location of Sapa, it's less than 5 mins walk to the Sapa in/out door market. There is a good foot massage about 2 to 3 stores right across from the hotel, very cheap $5 U.S for an hour and $2.5 tips and is definitely a treat every day after trekking or walk around town. We loved to experience some of the local foods and there is a huge food court on main street right across from the central park and next to the museum, this where the local hangs out eat and drinks with very much affordable.

The Cat Cat View hotel was awesome, staffs were great and speak english well. The restaurant was fabulous, tasty and quick service. Especially, Ms. Van whom was the restaurant coordinator, she was very courteous, flexible and informative through out our stay.

There's a special room right above the restaurant and stairway with windows wrap around. it's kind of stand alone room and definitely give us the magnificient view of Sapa from our bed and the exotic garden right below....and you don't have to die to go to haven!

It's highly to recommend the tour guide who's named Khanh, he's very knowledgeable about the H'mong culture and land. After close to the end of the tour, he asked us to stop in the art gallery for a refreshing drink coconut and local herb wine at the back balcony and enjoy the magnificient view of the sunset.....it just a dream comes true.
We'd definitley like to come back when we get a chance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danguyen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    131
    73
    41
    13
See reviews for
69
129
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We had a room on the 7th floor and the view was amazing. The price was really good. No heating- they excuse this by saying in the mOuntains, no other hotels have it blah blah blah but really no excuse. Towels lile toilet paper. Reception and restaurant really good. Internet facility terrible, they really need to get with it and get wireless or at the very least a new pc with better speed. Overall decent place with a few minor let downs that could easily be fixed. Would stay again though as think hotels in sapa are generally low standard anyway.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesnKristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Fantastic hotel, good service and friendly staff.One of the best locations in Sapa, away from the main drag, close to the market and 200 meters from the main street

Room Tip: take the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricwolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We had an older room which was pretty dated. They are chilly but space heaters available at extra charge. We had family room which was plenty big for 4 of us. Views are great. Restaurant & deck the best feature. Nice breakfast included. Good enough and sapa itself makes up for the rest.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed here in March 2011 and really enjoyed our choice.

Positive:
- Good breakfast
- Great views over the mountains!!!!!!!!!
- Fireplace
- Warm beds (heated blankets)
- Location

Negative:
- They forgot to give us our passports. Luckily we thought of it in time.
- Bathroom is cold and not cosy at all.
- The floor of the room is really cold. The room is only good if you stay in bed.
- The wood for the fireplace was wet so we didn't manage to get it on. We didn't ask them for help, otherwise, I'm sure they would've done it for us.
- Internet didn't work most of the time,but that's not why we were there so we didn't care too much.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank san_aira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed at the Cat Cat View this past March 2011 and we enjoyed our stay totally. The tours with the local guides are awesome and very cheap. They have motorbike's for rent and they have great service with a free internet computer and free wi-fi in the hotel lobby. Our family room was spacious and we were warmed by the hot water and by those awesome electric blankets. This hotel should be your number 1 choice for Sa Pa. It is great how they hire boys in highschool to do the house cleaning.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jconnell1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

I arrived at Lao Cai at about 5am, and there was a driver waiting for me! The staff were wonderfully friendly upon my arrival in Sapa at 6am however my room had not been cleaned so I waited in the cafe and soaked up the spectacular views while they cleaned for 10 minutes. The room was clean and comfortable, if a little musty but it is obviously very damp up there and they provided a dehumidifier. In the evening, the power to the whole mountain tripped off, which was rather inconvenient yet no fault of the hotel. They managed to continue serving amazing food without any power, and then provided me with candles when I decided to go back to my room. They handled an inconvenient situation very well!
I would not hesitate to stay here again. The ambience is amazing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Cat Cat Garden Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#19 of 68 in Sapa
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 68 in Sapa
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#12 of 68 in Sapa
620 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#9 of 68 in Sapa
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Cat View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Cat View Hotel

Property: Cat Cat View Hotel
Address: 046 Fan Xi Pang, Sapa 19999, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cat Cat View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Cat Cat View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing