We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room”
Review of Kenpas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenpas Hotel
Ranked #117 of 164 Sapa B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It's location is opposite the Sapa church, very good location. Very helpful and friendly staff. It's actually an outdoor equipment shops and they can provide the trekking tour. Their motorcycle for rent is cheaper compared to other places.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iskandar_R37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 31 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Absolutely recommended. I had to look for cheaper single accommodation because my friend left Sapa, and I took advantage of the fact I was in town (in low season) to shop around. Kenpas Hotel offered the cheapest private ensuite room, but beyond the price, the room was great: immaculately clean, fan, TV and good Wifi. The single room had a tiny window but unlike most other places I checked, there was no dampness whatsoever. Please note that this is still budget accommodation, so don't expect the frills of high-end hotels: no minibar, turndown service or AC (no need, it gets chilly in the evening).
Breakfast was rather basic (the instant noodle type) but a nice touch, keep in mind you must inform the reception of your option the previous evening.
The location is excellent, facing the main square and close to everything. While you can see the mountains from the upper balconies (convenient chairs and tables), it must be said that other hotels have a far better view, such as some located on the Muong Hoa road (these also tend to be pricier).
The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and smiling, with special mention to Sam. I had a lovely time chatting with her while waiting for my bus pickup.
As constructive feedback, the only improvements I'd suggest:
- Install a mosquito screen on the bathroom window: when I checked into my room, there was a huge cockroach in the closet. I'm sure it's not a cleanliness issue because the room was spotless, so a screen would avoid this kind of inconvenience (I slept with the bathroom door closed!)
- Trip from Sapa to Luang Prabang: all the bus connections went smoothly and I recommend the service. I just wanted to point out there were 3 buses instead of the informed 2 (had to change buses at Oudomxay) and the bus we took from Dien Bien Phu was a minivan instead of a sleeper bus

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank globetrottersaopaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenpas-Hotel, General Manager at Kenpas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Globetrottersaopaulo,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback. We would really appreciate your detailed review. About the cockroach, we will try to take them out by closing the door nex time. Reference to the bus to Luang Prabang, we would say sorry about that since we don't know that the bus driver asked you to change 3 times instead of 2 as they said to us.
Anyway, thank you very much again. We really hope to see you again in your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is a real gem in Sapa, we were picked up from the bus station and given a very reasonable deal on bed & breakfast. The breakfast was served on the balcony overlooking the mighty Fansipan and was a perfect start to the day. Rooms were great, clean and spacious. We left early one day to go and explore the surrounding villages and they allowed us to rent motorbikes at 6am as well as giving us a takeaway breakfast, going out of their way to help us. Sam especially was a great help, letting us charge our laptops and talk on Skype on the reception desk after we had checked out, and the owner served us Vietnamese tea as we waiting for us bus, which they had booked for us. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottyatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenpas V, Manager at Kenpas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Scottyatk,
Thank you so much for your great review on us here. Our staffs and I were so happy to get to know that you was enjoyable at your time with us. Sam just started her work for two months but she is the most lovable and careful staff of us that make Kenpas Hotel is so proud of her. We are happy to know that she did help you a lot back in Sapa as well your stay there. All of us can not want to see you someday soon in your next trip. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Big recommendation goes to Kenpas sapa . For the great service offered, the clean rooms, the breakfast and the smiley faces. :-)
Plus the information we got from Sam was spot on.
And it's a good place to buy trekking equipment . Kind enough to give us a good deal for motorbikes too.
Will definitely visit again!
Thank you so much!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We booked a room last minute and were happy with what we received. A very reasonable price with breakfast included (just noodle soup but not bad) and clean towels provided. There was also a tv in the room if you wanted. The staff were all very kind and welcoming and quick to respond to any requests. Would recommend them if you are looking for a clean, basic room.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenpas V, Manager at Kenpas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Raymond,
Thank you so much for spending your time reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are so happy when we know that you guys had a great time with us. We can not wait to see you at our hotel as well at Sapa in your next Vietnam trip so we may serve you the top service of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

They've provided everything I've needed, the top room has awesome view to the mountains and great location also. The rooms are very clean and nice and the stuff very friendly. Hot water and all the rest! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Federaf2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

i did not sleap at the hotel but was treated as a welcome guest.the tours i booked were great and well priced and during my stay in sapa i was helped with everything i neaded from a quick shower to the odd guidance.
simply a great place!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank avsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
2.9 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#6 of 84 in Sapa
229 reviews
8.9 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#9 of 84 in Sapa
856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#3 of 84 in Sapa
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sapa Stunning View hotel
0.3 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#11 of 84 in Sapa
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenpas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenpas Hotel

Address: 011 Xuan Vien Street, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range: $16 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenpas Hotel is located at the heart of Sapa town, directly across from the water fountain, the small church and the city square. Its city view rooms and hotel balconies provide a wonderful view of Sapa itself as well as the ridge of mountains bordering Sapa to the South. Each room is clean, comfortable and well- furnished. Staff members are professional and hospitable!Our staff members are eager to help you make the most of your time in Sapa. We can help you find cost-effective and meaningful ways to explore all of the cultural and geographic beauty the region offers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kenpas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing