We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely love this place”
Review of La Famille Restaurant & Lounge - CLOSED

La Famille Restaurant & Lounge
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cornwall
Level Contributor
164 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Absolutely love this place”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across eddiez when looking for refreshments and it is great. The bean bags to sit on are lovely and really help you to relax after a hard days trekking. Had the hot chocolate with caramel and cream and now no other hot chocolate will ever compare to this one it was so good. My boyfriend raved about the carrot cake with chocolate chips in and I have been ordered to discover how to re-create this at home! Such a lovely place we then went to their restaurant for dinner as well!

Helpful?
Thank Stmoritzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The service was quick and the food was to a very high standards. The upstairs area was well ventilated and shaded so it was a nice place to eat particularly when it was hot. The chips where nice and crispy and the portion sizes good. The staff in the restaurant served us quickly and all were friendly. The ice cream was the nicest on my whole trip. There was also a clean western style toilet.

Helpful?
Thank Emilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice cozy place to relax”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Had one of the best apple pies. My daughter likes their home made vanilla ice cream. If we stayed in Sapa longer, would go there again for more cakes, pies and ice cream. Wine by glass and per bottle is more reasonable than other places.
Staff is friendly with service mind.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KessBGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bad name, great food”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Despite the poor name, this is a fantastic cafe. It's in the heart of Sapa village and definitely the right vibe. We opted to sit by fire on bean bag chairs sipping peppermint hot chocolate. A great way to end a day of trekking. Also tried the chocolate mousse cake and it was one of the best I've had in my life.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cdn_nomad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee and a real cup of tea!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Great find! Enjoying an excellent cup of strong English breakfast tea and the hubby is enjoying his second latte. I'm just about to dig into some crepes. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Sit back on your bean bag and soak it up

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rio1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy E, Owner at La Famille Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Rio1323.

Thank you very much for your kind review - the first one after our remodelling of Eddiez food lounge and ice cafe.

On this occasion we would like to take the opportunity to inform everyone that we decided to focus 100% on the quality part of our menu which is homemade Italian style ice cream, tea, coffee and well prepared drinks together with cakes, crepes, pancakes and waffles.

We have also redone the interior with comfortable seating and hope our future guests will enjoy the new concept with fresh cakes and soothing drinks in front of the open fireplace during the upcoming winter season.

Thank you again and best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Famille Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing