We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very wonderful place!”
Review of Sapa Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sapa Backpackers
Ranked #47 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very wonderful place!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Sapa Backpackers a.k.a Sapa Hope Center is not only a hostel but also a place providing English teaching to children in Sapa. It's so great that you couldn't find any hostel like Sapa Backpackers to be a volunteer for community service! i was going to Sapa alone on March,the weather is pretty cold and foggy.I hardly withstand it but the thing that made me warm is Sapa Backpackers. We(with other travellers) had a dinner(it's curry,i miss it a lot) cooked by one of a traveler,it's absolutely delicious at that freezing night. Besides,Peter also helped me arranging transport and hiking tour(because maybe you don't know which tour is the best and suitable for you). i wished to be staying there for longer time to help them up in developing their new centre but unfortunately i'd to go home at the next day. I'm sure i'll be there again to experience and know more about this lovely place. Thanks to Peter, although i was alone,but i met so many friends there!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoeyYingyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

5 of us took a trip to sapa and after reading all the reviews booked into sapa backpackers. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and it was a nice change to sit and have breakfast with the local tribes people and peters friends. Between us we had a dorm and a private room- both were fine. It's basic accommadation in a great location with very nice people and a chance to help with English lessons. The egg sandwiches at breakfast are also great and cheap. We took a trek to a local ladies village who also stayed at the hostel, her name was suesue, we highly recommend taking the hike with her! Wifi was hit and miss but not a problem. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Dorms have big lockers to keep your belongings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My time at Sapa Backpackers which is also known as Sapa Hope Center was a pleasurable experience and one I will not forget. The Sapa Hope Center was set up by Peter to help the homeless and teach English to the street children. The reason I went there was to specifically help out with the Sapa Hope Center and support them with developing the new center. My time consisted of painting wall murals and teaching English, which was great fun with other volunteers. It also felt like a homestay to some degree and being apart of a family as Peter and his wife were wonderful people and always made you feel welcome. The children helping there had beautiful characters and lots of fun too. Great place to help the community and meet other travelers. Peter will help you organising transport and any hiking you desire to do in the mountains. If intending to go in March time, be prepared it can get very cold and Foggy but on the flip side you can have days of 28 degrees sunshiny weather, which was great to experience to go hiking. Good luck for the future Peter and look forward to returning one day to visit the new center.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markytekUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

If you are in Sapa for the experience and don't care about frills, this place is great! It is part hostel part community centre for homeless children. It is no frills so don't expect a super clean place. But who needs clean sheets when you are making a homeless child's day by playing and teaching english.
Mr. Peter is extremely helpful and goes out of his way to make sure you have what you need.

Thanks Mr. Peter!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mampinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in a six-bed dorm. They had constant hot water and the two girls who work there are very friendly.

It was very close to the main road, about a two minute walk. The only problem is that there is a 10pm curfew.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JJWHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We travelled in January so experienced a very cold Sapa! Sapa backpackers has a fantastic feel to it, you feel in staying there like you are part of the community. It is a very cheap option and this is reflected in certain ways - we had to request to have the electricity turned on for example, but this didn't cause any problems. All tours can be organised through them at a reasonable rate.
Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPharez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ha Noi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Traveled to Sa Pa with a tight budget, Backpacker hostel was the first word in my mind, yet the experiences from the time spent in the hostel was much more than a cheap place to stay. Rooms are clean and with lockers and heater fan (heater fan is extra with 1,5$/night, so in total room and heater cost u around 5 $, still very cheap).
The most amazing thing we did was a 2-nite homestay organized by the hostel. That was a trekking to a village off the beaten track with warm and nice local lunchs and dinner as well as local shares from our guides. Sitting around the warm fire, making spring rolls and having a chat with fellow travellers will be an experience I will never forget.
Thanks Peter and the beautiful little hosts for making my stay memorable ^^.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sapa Trade Union Hotel
Sapa Trade Union Hotel
#56 of 68 in Sapa
2.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Backpacker Hostel
Sapa Backpacker Hostel
#46 of 121 in Sapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Go Sapa Hostel
Go Sapa Hostel
#5 of 121 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapa Cozy 2 Hotel
Sapa Cozy 2 Hotel
#23 of 135 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
May Nui Sa Pa Hostel
May Nui Sa Pa Hostel
#12 of 121 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Hostel
Sapa Hostel
#38 of 121 in Sapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Backpackers

Property: Sapa Backpackers
Address: 06 Ham Rong St., Sapa 020, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapa Backpackers is a unique, family-run guesthouse situated in the heart of Sapa town. Offering clean, spacious dorm rooms, private twin and double rooms and a stylish cafe area, it is an ideal place for budget travelers and people who love to socialize. Our facility also serves as a community center for minority street children, offering free English classes and other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Sapa Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing