We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms with awesome views”
Review of Sapa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sapa Lodge
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Georgia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms with awesome views”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Our Sapa trip was booked by our Hanoi hotel, so we did not select this hotel ourselves. However it is lovely. The room is large, bed comfortable, lots of windows to enjoy the view and a wrap around veranda to take great photos from. Breakfast was good, dinner was cooked early for us as were very tired and a I was unwell with a head cold, the staff were so attentive making me fresh ginger tea and concerned for my health. Tea and coffee in room is great. Good wifi reception and fast speed too. Personally I probably would have selected this hotel based on other reviews and facilities anyway, but having had a quick look around this seems to be one of the best in town. Very central on the Main Street too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Di222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    180
    105
    39
    22
See reviews for
82
267
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We were in Sapa Lodge the two days after the big holidays of reunification and intl labour day. Rates triple in many hotels, so we expected to pay more than normal. We walked in at the hotel, were charged 50 USD for a standard room (no view and very dark, moist and a bit smelly, 2 cockroaches at night, TV on the side of the bed). Then checked on Agoda and they had a deluxe room with very nice view and more comfort for sale for 50 USD. I talked to the manager about it and we got a better room for the second night, again on Agoda the same would be 30 USD. Also when I told him we could go to another place for the 2nd night he said that all the rooms available on Agoda would in fact not be available, but that the hotels just don't know how to manage their availability online.
The staff was very friendly, breakfast okay, the tables at breakfast could have been cleaner. The second room is a lot nicer, but the fridge is making a lot of noise.
The hotel is okay, but they just try to make as much money as somehow possible.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nadine_SUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Bed is a firm foam mattress firm and comfortable. Room and bath are clean. Breakfast Buffett was ok. We were allowed to check in early off the train and check out late for a fee.

There are other hotels along this road which are cheaper and have the same view.

I felt like herded cattle in the included travel from Loa Cai as there were 16 adults and two infants in the 15 person van from Loa Cai which also serves there other hotels. I would consider private travel or perhaps part of a guided tour as there are other villages en route to Sapa.

If I go back to Sapa, I would try a home stay in a village as that was my ultimate destination anyway. Plus, my money would go to the village instead of other people capitalizing on the location.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Goodboyparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights with my husband. We loved this hotel. The view from our room was amazing. The staff were excellent in being helpful with any matters of concern, but the bed we slept in was the hardest mattress we ever slept on which didn't help us trying to get to sleep.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is amazing. I'm sure there might be other more luxurious hotels in Sa Pa, but the service that you get at this place is just exceptional. The hotel receptionists Flowers and Tho allowed us to use a room to shower before we went on the train back to Hanoi and go out of their way to assist you with anything. Our room had a mountain view that was really nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room as they are the same rates as the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gideon_Jacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst in Sapa. The room was clean and had a great view. The breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful. They even let us borrow a room to shower after checking out and going on a trek.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicksaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

we stayed at sapa lodge only one night, what was a huge mistake. the area is really worth staying more days, and the hotel is a perfect choice. the room was cozy and clean, the staff was helpful and kind. they organized a guided tour for us, with a great guide. in the beginning i felt sorry for not staying at a homestay, but from the guide we have learned a lot about everyday life.
the breakfast was good, and despite of a black-out (because of a storm during the night) the staff tried to do their best to comfort the guests and solve all problems came up.
definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronika s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 68 in Sapa
343 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#9 of 68 in Sapa
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#12 of 68 in Sapa
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#19 of 68 in Sapa
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#23 of 68 in Sapa
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Lodge

Property: Sapa Lodge
Address: 018A Muong Hoa Street | next to Cau May Str, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapa lodge is located on a quiet street on the way to Lao Chai & Tavan village. The hotel with great mountain view and the comfortable room. Come to enjoy with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sapa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing