We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
Review of H'Mong Sapa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
H'Mong Sapa Hotel
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Thank you Hoa, Phil and all the staff (and the lovely H'mong guides of course) for a great experience!
We got a nice room with an amazing view over the rice fields, of course the hotel cannot control the weather and make it cristal clear ;)
Hoa and Phil run this great program of providing the tourist a more personal experience with the H'mong people while helping them at the same time with their basic needs. Respect guys!
Keep up the good work and warm hearts!
Katrin & Ricardo

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    69
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
48
91
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Keithw532
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

OK if I had not become sick during my stay I would probably have given 4 stars, its wonderfully a wonderfully located hotel set above the town with spectacular views over the mountains beyond. The rooms are very comfortable with a big cosy bed and great warm duvets. Bathroom with shower was very clean and the water always runs hot (great after a days hiking). A nice breakfast served by 2 wonderfully smiling young local ladies.

Sadly for me I became very sick on the second day of my stay (be careful what you eat in Sapa is my very very big tip). The wonderful staff here really cared about my poor health ensuring that I was properly hydrated and warm. I can only thank them with all of my heart for this care and support. Being sick so far from home is never going to be nice but staying in this hotel knowing the staff cared made me feel so much better.

Great little shops across the road for picking up snacks or motorbike rental.

I don’t like be critical about anything about this hotel but it was quite a stiff uphill walk from the town. Suggest a motorbike taxi and if you bargain hard its approx 15.000 VND less than 50 pence.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keithw532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We arrived at a very welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Needless to say all the staff exceeded in helping. The atmosphere is cozy and best of all is the cleanliness. Phil and Hoa are very knowledgeable and made a difference in our trip with the type of info we needed to have a lovely trip in spite of all the snow and rain; they went out of their way to provide us with the best.
Also the restaurant was truly the best (CLEAN) including the prices. Excellent chef plus they employ local ethnic tribe people for the services which adds to the entire SAPA experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelwithAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I booked to spend two nights at H'Mong Sapa Hotel this for a long weekend in Sapa with two friends of mine. We were travelling there from Hanoi and were looking for a place that was peaceful, friendly, comfortable (especially warm, as it's cold in Sapa in December) and most of all a champion of sustainable travel. H'Mong Sapa Hotel not only fulfilled all of our requirements but far exceeded them.
The hotel is run by Phil and Hoa, a super friendly couple who have great knowledge of the local area. We made our booking using the Agoda link from trip advisor two nights before arriving and there was a problem with the booking (Agoda had booked two of us at a completely different hotel and the third person at H'Mong Sapa as requested - the link has apparently now been fixed, but best to call up the hotel to confirm your booking, or just book with them directly to avoid this hassle) and when Hoa and I discovered Agoda's error she went our of her way to accommodate us, which was such a relief.
Upon our arrival, after a long and difficult train trip from Hanoi, we were welcomed into the hotel and offered delicious tea by an open fireplace in the restaurant area. Amazing! Mulled wine, hot spiced apple cider, spiked hot chocolate and coffee: all on the winter specials menu and worth tasting. My friends and I were unsure what we wanted to do in sapa, but were keen to do something unique and sustainable and wanted to know how we could experience some of the local cultures without having a negative impact on the communities. Phil was extremely knowledge about this matter, and told us about how the area has changed over the years, both in good ways and in bad ways. He told us which villages to avoid (due to the negative impact that tourism is having on them) and helped us plan a trek up to a village to have lunch with a H'Mong family. I would recommend this day trip without reservation, but with one disclaimer: watch out for the medicine wine. On the second day of our stay I was sick (with food poisoning that I had had on and off since the previous week after eating some mouldy peanuts in Hanoi) and Phil and Hoa let me stay in the cozy room all day (even though we weren't staying at the hotel that night) and enquired about my well-being, which was lovely.
The hotel is comfortable and mostly very warm. I was very warm in my room and in my bed, which was equipped with electric blanket. The showers are hot and have excellent water pressure. The hotel is tastefully decorated and upmarket, but in a homely way. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the H'Mong girls working in the restaurant are adorable and have a great rapport with customers and with Phil and Hoa. Clearly all of the staff love working at H'Mong Sapa Hotel, and this creates a very positive atmosphere that leaves you feeling warm and peaceful after a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EricaL1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel has a nice and cosy atmosphere! The breakfast is great (you can choose from different types of set menu's), the view from the balcony is very nice and the rooms are fine! People are friendly. So it was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RdeBruijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Our 3 nights in Sapa were a highlight of this trip to Vietnam, and our hosts and the staff here directly contributed to this. As commented regularly here, Phil and Hwa were gracious, informative hosts, with a passion for contributing to the local community in as many ways as possible. Local H'Mong staff were delightful- cheerful and enthusiastic- and the food was great too. Our tours and experiences were fascinating and fun along with being eye opening and humbling. After following their advice on excursions, it was lovely to return to the warmth of our cosy room and spotless bathroom, or to sup a restorative beverage by the open fire!
This new hotel is only 12 months old, and we all wish it a long and happy career! Thankyou :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BendigoRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I just got back from my trip in Vietnam and cannot wait to share my memorable experience at this hotel.

First of all, the staffs here cannot be more helpful and friendly. We didn't have a plan when we arrived, but Phil and Hwa helped us out. Their recommendations and suggestions are like those from friends who know the area very well. We could have gone to some crowded touristic place if it wasn't because of their help. The other staffs can communicate in English and even sometimes they didn't understand us, they were eager to help.

Our rooms were clean and spacious. And the view from the room is just breath-taking (even it was foggy during our stay). The water heater works very well. And two bottles of water are for free.

Most important thing, we had our best meal of the trip at the hotel restaurant. Phil told us they served the best food in town but we wanted to try something local. But he was right. We went to one of the best restaurants in town and it wasn't as good as we expected. So the next day we had our dinner at the hotel and it was amazing! We love the rainbow trout in sizzling pan! Oh and the breakfast here is more than what you could ask for. And how wonderful it was to see big smiles from the staffs at the restaurant every morning.

We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is planing their trip to Sapa!

Room Tip: Ask them to arrange the pick up for just $2.5 /way/person. It's safe and very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Qwan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#11 of 68 in Sapa
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#20 of 68 in Sapa
498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sapa View Hotel
Sapa View Hotel
#56 of 68 in Sapa
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#27 of 68 in Sapa
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Eden Hotel
Sapa Eden Hotel
#15 of 68 in Sapa
286 reviews
3.2 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#9 of 68 in Sapa
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H'Mong Sapa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H'Mong Sapa Hotel

Property: H'Mong Sapa Hotel
Address: 27 Thac Bac Street | Sapa Town, Sapa 19000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — H'Mong Sapa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel committed to helping the Hmong community by employing as many staff as we can from the local ethnic groups. We therefore provide essential employment and training and work closely with the Hoa Sua School which is situated only 100 meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your H'Mong Sapa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing