We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & what a view!”
Review of Sapa Unique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sapa Unique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Sapa
Certificate of Excellence
Kiama, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great value & what a view!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

From the moment you walk into the foyer you're made to feel at home. Mr Viet & Mr Nam [yes that's right] are the managers & make sure everything is done right for you. The rooms are more than adequetly sized & every one has a balcony. Magnificent views over the valley only enhance the serenity of this hotel &, in fact the whole town. Just a short walk to the markets & lots of eateries both local & western.
Breakfast is good & plentiful & take the opportunity to enjoy it on the hotel balcony overlooking on of the streets of SaPa.There's a great cafe to the left of the hotel about 200mtrs "cafe in the clouds", enjoy an amazing view as the sun sets.
the only downside is the bathroom which is a tad on the small side, but then again how much time do you want to spend in there anyway.

Room Tip: All have a balcony so no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quigs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    153
    32
    4
    1
See reviews for
110
293
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had two large rooms with a shared balcony overlooking a beautiful view of the valley and mountains. It's in a quiet location away from the noisiest parts of Sapa but close enough to the centre. Staff were really friendly and arranged two perfect short trips with local guides and drivers. They allowed us to use a room to shower on our last day even though we had checked out (and gave us a picnic for the train journey back). The cookery demonstration was fun too and has given us confidence to cook Vietnamese food at home. Excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenwichjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The staff here are fantastic. A good command of English and information. Their smiles are genuine. They organised our return journey from the train station (1 hour away) and also a guide for some trekking. We were lucky, they had a room ready for us when we arrived from the overnight train. This room had a balcony and the most breathtaking view over the ever changing mountains. The hot water system is not the best but sufficient. Breakfast was included in overnight cost and was wonderful. We were also given a room to shower in before the overnight train back to Hanoi and a packed meal for the journey. Their generosity exceeds all expectations. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you for the wonderful time Sapa Unique.

Room Tip: The view from a balcony room is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneSmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We found this hotel to be in a great central location. The views are amazing, especially on a clear day which we were lucky enough to have on our second day. The first day was wet and cloudy.
The hotel rooms are very clean and the staff can not do enough for you. We found the beds a bit to hard for us. My husband was sick while there and they were very apologetic about not been able to provide us with extended checkout due to the fact that they were fully booked. But they did make him comfortable on the sofa. Our driver who was supplied by the hotel did help us get our tickets at the train station, which we would have struggled to do on our own. Highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay in Sapa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyjoz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on the advice of previous guests and was not disappointed,Viet and Nam had arranged a four berth cabin for my return train trip and that worked out perfectly.
The staff in the restaurant were friendly and keen to improve their English.
I would like to thank the young tour guide who came to the hotel to check up on me as she met me earlier walking in the direction I thought would take me back to Sapa,I ended up retracing my steps.Thank you for your concern Crab.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 96miked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We struggled (our fault) to initially find the hotel, but once we were there, the staff couldn't do enough to help us.
Having come off the Overnight Orient Express, it was great that our room was ready after the journey. After our first day, the manager gave us some great advice as to which minority village to go to rather than the one we had intended. Without a guide, and only his photocopied map, it turned out to be a great day out before heading back to the station.
Even though it was towards the end of March, the heating in the room and the heating blanket were certainly appreciated at night!

Room Tip: The view is great from all the ones to the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank himalheidi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed at Sapa Unique for 3 days and 2 nights in April, and we were very satisfied with the service and accommodations! We mostly worked with Viet (though all the staff was very professional and courteous), and we appreciated his quiet but friendly demeanor. The hotel is situated in the heart of the town, and we were treated to amazing views and a charming restaurant that provides nightly cooking classes (love that Sapa soup!). Viet and his staff helped us arrange for pick up at the train station when we arrived in Lao Cai, as well as drop off the night we left (they even packed us some nice sandwiches and fruit for the train ride!). Even though check out is at 11am, because no one needed our room, they let us have our room until we left which was really helpful. Finally, we were extremely pleased with the trek Viet helped arrange for us - we told him what we were looking for (less traveled, more scenery, even if it meant no markets) and we got exactly what we wanted (we trekked through Tinh Yeu waterfall and then through the rice paddies up through Sin Chai Village.) Sapa was/is maybe one of the most beautiful places I have ever had the fortune to visit, and Sapa Unique helped elevate that already great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 70 in Sapa
373 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#10 of 70 in Sapa
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sapa Freesia Hotel
Sapa Freesia Hotel
#4 of 70 in Sapa
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cat Cat Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#29 of 70 in Sapa
578 reviews
9.0 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#11 of 70 in Sapa
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Unique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Unique Hotel

Property: Sapa Unique Hotel
Address: 039 Fansipan Street, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapa Unique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take pride in offering a unique homely experience and friendly personal service that is difficult to find in large hotels. Feel safe and secure in our comfortably furnished authentic Vietnamese style rooms. All have sweeping views of mountains and valleys. Our Panorama Restaurant offers free cooking classes and excellent western and Vietnamese cuisine. We ensure accurate tour information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sapa Unique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing