We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Victoria Sapa Hotel. This place does not deserve your high ratings. Every amenity at this hotel is below par for a 5 star resort and these prices. We found that the restaurant was kept at such a cold temperature that we were bundled up like skiers throughout our two meals there. The food was served hot, but became cold so quickly that it could not be enjoyed. This was very unfortunate especially considering the prices at this place are at least 10 times the local going rates. Similarly, upon checkout we were advised that the breakfast buffet which was to be included in the room rate was not included, and was an additional USD60.00 for the four of us. This was an absolute outrage as our reservation showed breakfast included, and we found the same quality breakfast at other local eateries for only a few dollars. We did spend some time at the spa, but this too was a complete letdown. The “heated” pool was kept at about 60F which is not what we considered to be heated. We watched as every guest who entered the pool area got only their toes wet before leaving. Also, one lady in our group partook of a manicure and pedicure. Her appointment was at 4:15pm and we started to get concerned around 6:30 when it was getting dark and she still had not returned. When she finally did show up, she advised that she had been subjected to the longest manicure and pedicure ever performed, that the manicurist did not seem to know what she was doing, and in the end was told that she would have to apply her own polish as the staff had not yet been trained on how to apply it. We did get a good laugh out of the whole visit, but after dropping close to $1000USD at this hotel it wasn’t heartfelt. The management was unapologetic and somewhat belligerent when we brought up these issues, although they did offer to take $6 off of the bill! We asked around town about this hotel and we were told by several locals that the management at the property was not good, and that “all the tourists complain about Victoria Sapa”. Obviously there is some problem that needs to be worked out there before you recommend this so highly. There are plenty of other nice hotels in the area with excellent food and amenities, some at 1/10th the price. We actually spent more at this hotel then all the rest of our accommodation in Vietnam combined. Total Disappointment.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rmurray5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2009

It was gorgeous spa building who design by french architect, lovely resort with authentic ornament and decoration, delighted for gourmet at Tavan restaurant with overlooking spectacular view of sapa town and fansipan mountain.

We were delighted and enjoyed stay here. Hoping to comeback with friends.

iwin

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank winpras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We spent a night there in January. Hotel is quite pricey and has seen better days. It is a nice location though and if the fog lifts you are in for a treat. The room we were in was extremely cold even with the addition of another electric heater.
On a separate note, we were very unhappy with the way the reservation of the train cabins to Sapa (on the rail cars belonging to the hotel) were handled. We were led to believe that they had their deluxe cabins available when they didn't and then they wanted us to pay for 4 beds in their regular cabins in order to secure our privacy. I was left with the feeling that this is something they do regularly. There are other transportation options at a fraction of the cost which should be considered.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank radua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Property - the property itself is sort of alpine lodge meets Vietnamese hill country with lots of wood and traditional hill tribe art in the common areas. The main lodge has three wood burning fireplaces which are very nice as does get cold up in Sapa. When the weather clears, there are nice views over the city below. The only real gripe is the way the property is chopped up; the pool and spa are up the hill about 100 metres, the rooms can only be accessed by leaving the main building [a pain in the rain] and the restaurant seems like it was added on as an afterthought. Food and drinks are relatively expensive for Vietnam but not as astronomical as American 5 star prices [i.e. 3USD for a beer, 2 USD for coffee]. The walk to town is short and easy to do; the walk back is all uphill and difficult for those with mobility problems.

Rooms – nothing special here. Although decked out in a mild Hill Tribe motif, the beds are a bit rough, pillows are lumpy and linens are just ordinary cotton. Being billed as one of the nicest resorts in Vietnam, one would expect a few nicer touches than you would get in a standard Holiday Inn in the US or Europe. The bathroom is a good size although having to step up steps to get in the shower/bathtub may be difficult for people with mobility problems. They do have standard amenities in the bath such as hairdryer, cotton buds, good soap [not everywhere in Vietnam does]. Some maintenance appears to have been deferred such as wall scuffs, fixing broken toilet seat covers and paint and tile chips. Over all, it was very clean and warm but no where you would want to linger for too long.

Amenities – they have a pool and spa but no gym/workout facilities. During our stay, the steam room in the men’s locker room didn’t work. The spa is very good; nicely laid out with great staff. I highly recommend taking advantage of a spa treatment, especially if you happen to be there on a cold and rainy day. The massage isn’t as good as say, Thailand but for Vietnam it was quite nice and reasonably priced. The tour desk in the lobby can arrange very good tours of the area – the main attraction here is hill trekking. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant but it was very abundant and the quality of food was above average.

Staff - Not all that great. Requests to have the phone in my room fixed went unheeded 3 times. I finally had to take the phone down to the front and have them switch it out. They were a bit better when I asked to fix the light bulb in the table lamp – only 2 requests before they had it fixed. Wait staff at breakfast were inconsistent; fawning all over you one minute, avoiding eye contact when you needed coffee the next. The language barrier seemed worse here than anywhere else we stayed in South East Asia.

Summary – the Victoria Sapa Resort is the best property in Sapa and can be very comfortable. It is billed as a five star property and , even by Vietnamese standards, comes in closer to a four.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brodyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

The Victoria Sapa is beautifully located over the town, easily accessible from the center (10 min. walk).
It must be considered as a grand mountain hotel, not as a luxury hotel or resort. Both public spaces and rooms are good, nicely decorated but cannot be considered as posh or spectacular.
Food is good, but not better and less expensive can be found at Baguette et chocolat, not far from there.
The hotel boutique has beautiful handicrafts, not always much more expensive.
Indoor swimming pool and massage are settled in a facility oustide the building. Swimming pool is nice, not extraordinary. Massage rooms are quite poor are heavens away from luxurious spas elswhere in Asia.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BaronBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

Nice Spa facilities and pool. I have jet to find a good massage in Vietnam. Their idea of a massage is to pull you around.

The regular first class train is terrible. If you can, book their train.

The rooms are clean but small, I would not consider this a first class hotel, but we were told it is the best in town.

You get in there very early in the morining and you don't get your room until the afternoon. Having a guide and driver was extremely helpful.

Their breakfast was great. Vietnam might be the second or third largest producer of coffee in the world, but either they don't know how to make it or it is just not very good.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

We travelled to Sapa in February using the Victoria Express train fom Hanoi. The train itself was fabulous our cabin was spotless the beds comfy and the restaurant great. The food was delicious with plenty of options a lot better in fact than the food at the hotel. The Victoria carriage was fairly expensive in comparison to the many other options but I would say it was worth it. The hotel itself did not really live up to its 5 star expectations was a bit jaded and in need of renovation. The bathroom in particular had seen better days. There are a few problems there due to checking in and out times with the trains arriving at 5am and we had to wait quite a while to get into our room which was fine by the time we had breakfast and walked around a bit. I was not amused on the day of our departure though to be woken up at 7 by room service and asked to vacate so that others could check in. The food in the restaurant was mediocre and very expensive there are lots of lovely little restaurants in the main town. Sapa itself was a fantastic spot and well worth the visit even if you are not a great trecker at least do a few of the shorter trips. The walk down to Cat Cat was stunning and fascinating and if you are tired by the end you can always get a motorbike taxi back up the hill. Stop off for a drink or snack at Friendly cafe about half way down for stunning views and great ambience. Do have a look round the market if you have time and there is a great French Patisserie I cant remember the name on the road back into Sapa from Cat Cat. All in all Sapa is a great place to go to you can find good reasonable accomodation there and the train I would say was a great experience

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank zambiamell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Aira Boutique Sapa Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#9 of 75 in Sapa
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sapa Freesia Hotel
Sapa Freesia Hotel
#3 of 75 in Sapa
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 75 in Sapa
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.2 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#37 of 75 in Sapa
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#8 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range: $131 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing