We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victoria Hotel and train - Sa Pa Highlands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed April 13, 2014

What a great place this is!

Let down only by persistent mist fog and woodsmoke which obscures what would otherwise be magnificent scenery. I am sure there is an optimum time to be here for best weather.

Overnight train from Hanoi the last and spectacular stages of which are traversed in daylight. The train is squeezy - we had a four berth cabin with friends - and you need to be!

Don't take big suitcases - there is no room. We slimmed down to a small bag between us and were glad we did. Had a dining car going up which Angus and I frequented until closing time.

Don't count on getting a whole lot of sleep - I sure didn't. The train being narrow gauge , overhangs the rails by a lot which induces a rocking and rolling motion and considerable noise as wheels squeal going around corners or under braking.

The extent of cultivation has to be seen to be believed, In one of the intermediate stations there were plots of herbs growing between adjacent pairs of tracks!!

Terminal at Lao Cai close to the Chinese Border. Sa Pa however is off to the West in the Vietnamese norther highlands. If you keep going west you will get to Dien Bien Phu (for military history buffs) just before the Lao border.

We were collected in a bus for the 35km drive to Sa Pa.

A great little town which in our case was perpetually shrouded by billowing clouds of mist augmented by smoke from local cooking fires, and perched between some very steep hills.

Good points - The Hotel i strategically poised above the centre of town which is itself adjacent to a decorative lake. The Hotel is very well presented, the staff are excellent and the rooms well positioned and appointed.

Needs work - Restaurant was good although when we dined there on the Saturday night they had a superfluous open fire (it was not cold) burning what appeared to be green firewood which gave off an acrid smoke that got into our clothes.

We also dined downtown at a great little spot called Geckos which is almost opposite the bottom of a flight of steps that takes you up to a point adjacent to the Hotel entrance. Geckos does a roaring trade catering for Western and Asian tastes - or fusion of the two! Well patronised by both locals and tourists. Plenty of others to chose from too.

Sleep quality in the hotel offsets the train - we slept like logs. Rooms are well appointed and adequately roomy. Bathrooms are good - even have a clothes line for washing out items that will dry easily - there is no aircon only a ceiling fans so heavier items are going to need more time that you are likely to have.unless you're staying for more than two nights.

We did a short trek to a local Hmong village which was good. Their lifestyle and living condition are pretty frugal - earth floor and very dark airless windowless structures that are windlow-less and airless. Their embroidery and weaving skills on the other hand have to be seen to be believed. Our guide, Wang, was a delight.

My wife and I also did a ridge top walk along the rim of a valley to the south because I was intrigued as to why the town seemed to just end away to the right of the hotel. The answer is there is aa very deep valley which was unfortunately obscured by mist.for most of the time. We had headed off looking for the Silver Waterfall but in the absence of a map or any distance measuring device we gave up. Well worth the effort though.

Room Tip: An outside room facing the town worked for us.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Steve L,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are grateful for your Victoria experience’s feedback, and appreciate your constructive review.
The train ride from Hanoi in an adventure, going on a historic railway and vintage carriages, and all the mechanical noises and feelings, the guests are plunged into another era. We deeply recommend for our guests who have the privilege to schedule with our restaurant carriage, to enjoy a dinner on board.
After a day trekking and exploring this beautiful region of the world, our Spa remain ready to apply soothing massages, and our restaurant Team and Chef insist for you to taste some local delicacies, such as the salmon Sapa trout, or the “vit sau” another Chef’s preparation with a local citrus.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Four of us spent two nights at this hotel. We were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is not new but well maintained and beautifully decorated. The staff is very attentive. Our phone was not working but was fixed within 10 minutes. The views from the balconies are magnificent. It was amazing to see the clouds flying through the courtyard. The breakfast was superb. When I liked one the traditional decorations that were hanging on a wall in the reception area a general manager fist gave me the address where I could buy a similar piece, but then asked one of the staff members to go to the store and help me. As result, we now have this beautiful piece constantly reminding us of our trip to SaPa.
When it was really cloudy on our third and last day in SaPa we spent half of the day in their Spa which was clean and very affordable. Their masseuses are all excellent.
We were very happy with our hotel in SaPa and hope to have a chance one day to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linkrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear linkrus,

We would like to thank you sharing your experience with other travelers.
More than happy to read your kind comments, we remain at your disposal for any further inquiries, and eventually prepare your return in the Tonkin Alps, or extensively, Indochina.
Sapa is a culturally rich area of North Vietnam, and we do our best to offer services that will link the visitor to the area through passion and dedication.
We hope to welcome you again, and wish you the best of luck and travels.

Best regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Great location, rather noisy in the early morning.
The bathroom fittings need urgent attention, leaking from shower tub. Facilities older style generally. No lifts.
gardens and surrounds beautifully maintained.
Food and beverage very expensive in the hotel area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear SydneyBarker,

Thank you for your interest in our hotel,
We hope you enjoy your stay and service quality, despite your remarks regarding our bathroom and dining options. For your information, your bathroom has been fixed within the shortest delays after you checked-out, and our bathroom renovation plan is getting approved. We attribute to your remarks and feedbacks the most value.
Our Chef and his brigade are preparing the best quality fusion food within the area, and we believe our prices to be reasonable, we would recommend our afternoon tea, sided by our daily cake assortment.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again, for your next exploration of the Tonkinese Alps.

Best regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is a 5 star hotel and great resort after a rough overnite train from Hanoi. It has a very upscale spa that is reasonably priced. The hotel is within walking distance to the town with many retail and restaurants. The hotel has a boutique shop for souvenirs that are comparably priced from the town shops. The rooms are very spacious and very comfortable. The staff is welcoming. I would return-it's great.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have elevators so if you have difficulty climbing stairs, ask for 1st floor as th...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear mac32655,

Thank you for your kind word and constructive comment.
The train from Hanoi is running on a historic railway, built during the colonial times, and the train ride will offer an adventure of a trip to Sapa. We recommend the Victoria Express Train for your best service on board, trying to book the train with restaurant departure days would be a plus, and enjoying a dinner on board is, we believe, a great and unusual experience.
Hoping to welcome you again in the Tonkin Alps, we remain at your disposal for any further enquiries.

Best regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Superb hotel. Large rooms, very friendly atmosphere with very helpful staff. Wonderful large pool and gym with fantastic change rooms which can be used on your day of departure if taking the overnight train.

Room Tip: 3rd floor with a view of the city
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Russo2,

Thank you for commenting our property.
We hope your Sapa experience has been a highlight of your Vietnam stay.
We remain at your disposal for any further information needed, or for assisting you into your next trip organization.

Best regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Loved the welcoming hot cinnamon drink on arrival, surprisingly cold compared to Southern Vietnam. Very comfortable accommodation. The absolute best massage I have ever experienced. A full hour of intense work by a tiny lady. Surrounding country side well worth the visit. Need your walking shoes to truly experience village life and appreciate life back home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Callide,

Thank you very much for your kind comment.
We will transmit your word to the Spa therapists Team, and for your information we now combine trekking trips with a special discount on our soothing massages, should it fits your needs during your next visit.
We recommend you as well to try our healthy Sapa salmon trout, prepared by our Chef and brigade, to complete your Sapa experience.
Looking forward to host you again, we wish you the best of luck and wellness until your return in the Tonkin Alps.

Best regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel is great! I think by far is the best hotel in Sa Pa. I only stayed one night and I wish I could have stayed more!! This hotel provides a special package that includes hotel and the train trip from Hanoi. Please take into account that the train trip is not like european trains and that an 8-hour trip could take you more (in my case 13 hours!!). Nevertheless it is worth the experience. Spa is great!! I strongly recommend to go for a massage!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Alex1426,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
We are more than happy to read your kind word, and indeed we could tell about staying in Sapa from 1 night up to one week, as there are several ways to discover the area and different interests within this amazing region.
At the moment we still get issues with the train ride from Hanoi, as the railway company of Vietnam is renovating a part of the way. Following the delay of some trains, we always adjust our breakfast time and options for your best comfort.
We look forward to welcome you again and will recommend experiencing our new Thai massage and hot stones massage: the perfect treat in the morning, or after a long exploring trek.

Best regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Aira Boutique Sapa Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#11 of 73 in Sapa
763 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 73 in Sapa
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sapa Freesia Hotel
Sapa Freesia Hotel
#3 of 73 in Sapa
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#32 of 73 in Sapa
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#7 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range: $85 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing