We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed August 23, 2008

We had a great time at Victoria Sapa. The rooms and hotel facilities are superb. The service was great as well.

The breakfast is the best we experienced during our 3 week stay in Vietnam.

Our only complaint is that when we booked the trip we were informed that the renovation of the pool would be finished by the time we where going to stay at the hotel. This turned out NOT to be the case! Also the ongoing renovation of the hotel was somewhat noisy and starting early in the morning. I think a discount would have been appropriate!

We travelled on the Victoria Express to/from the hotel which is basically a special wagon added on the back of the normal Vietnamese Railways train to/from Lao Cai. The ride was very bumpy due to the poor quality of the railway tracks. If you wanted to save some money you might as well book a first class sleeper ticket on the normal train.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TNygaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights, and stayed in two other very nice Victoria Hotels in Vietnam some days before (Can Tho and Chau Doc). Somehow this Victoria felt like a rip-off: The pick-up from the train was very expensive, internet was not for free, early check-in was extra (all trains arrive VERY early – so either you hang around in the lobby or you pay…), the restaurant has prices I would expect in London etc. etc.
The Hotel itself is OK, but too expensive. And they have very poor rabbits as a kind of mascot – they look half starved and live in a little cage and on concrete. No water, no grass.

Another hint if you stay there: book the ride back to the train opposite the reception at the travel desk – it cost half of the hotel-price!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Frederik_Hofmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

The French colonial rulers of Vietnam (French Indo-China) founded Sa Pa in the last century as a resort town because it reminded them of the French Alps. The scenery is stunningly beautiful and gets some snow in winter. There are no flat bits in Sa Pa: it is all up or down. The old buildings (what is left of them) have an “alpine” style that has been modified since the French were kicked out to an ethnic Vietnamese style, a mix-and-match confection of “classical/ Napoleonic/ imperial” architectural features that are quite unique to the country. The modern design of the Victoria Hotel is, by comparison, modern and restrained.

The Victoria Sa Pa is one of the nicest hotels we’ve ever stayed in. The buildings are arranged around a garden and the main dining hall on a small hill above the town’s main street and overlook the mountains, valley and lake. The general appearance is compatible with the region’s aspiration to be an eco-tourist destination. Our room was beautifully designed, furnished and equipped. The staff are fine and do their jobs properly.
In the mornings the clouds gradually evaporate as the sun comes up and the mountains and valleys appear in all their glory. The sky is clear, the air is fresh, and the sun gets quite hot during the day. In the evenings when the sun sets the clouds return to cover the town. Even the main street is foggy. The few streetlights come on and present a rather eerie scene like old London Town in the days of Sherlock Holmes. There’s not much happening in Sa Pa after dark. Most of the Sa Pa holidays are “hiking tours” so it is likely that visitors are all tired out after their long day’s walk.
Our trip, which was 8 days including Sa Pa, Hanoi and Ha Long Bay, was arranged through "Travel Advisers" in Hong Kong. The local travel agent was "Exotissimo" who provided an excellent guide named "Thai". We are happy to recommend them all.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jamaicaexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

The worst thing about this hotel was trying to use the hotel website to book it! The website kept crashing my computer and it took ages to finally get a confirmation.

We travelled to Sapa on the Victoria Express - a couple of sleeper carriages that are available for hotel guests to travel from Hanoi to Sapa. The carriages are very atmospheric - but be warned - you will probably end up in close proximity to your travelling companions so not a good option for those who value their privacy. If the dining carriage is attached to your train, the food is excellent. However, the food is best avoided if there is no dining car. The hotel provide a complementary flannel, toothbrush/toothpaste and bottle of water.

Upon arrival at Sapa, we had booked a private transfer to the hotel which was very efficient. Upon arrival, we were given hot tea and were also able to have the buffet breakfast. The food at the hotel is excellent and you can eat outside (weather permitting) or, more likely, next to a real fire.

Our room was spotless and had many local ethnic touches. The views from the rooms are over the hotel's lovely gardens. There are lots of comfy sofas where you can enjoy a drink and a billiards table.

We booked a village tour through the hotel and this was also excellent.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank dancingpiglit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2008

Very good hotel, best place to stay in Sapa for comfort and in colder months a better chance of keeping warm, from what we heard from people staying elsewhere, rooms have small heaters in the bathroom and bedroom. Food is very good and service also OK. Has an indoor pool but is luke warm in January. Local market is OK but it is well worth a 2 hour car journey on a Sunday to the Bac Ha market (flower H’Mong) much more colourful and traditional.
The overnight train is an experience we slept on the outward journey but not the return, seemed noisier. Drinks in the morning have to be paid for a few thousand Dong. Free WiFi in the hotel lobby only. The bathroom is as normal with the shower being over the bath. Staff are courteous and professional and keen to help. Selected hotel based on TA comments. We had a private guide via a Vietnamese tour company and this we believe gave us a better insight and longer tour of the local tribal villages. Be prepared to be pestered by sellers but it is all in good humour. Also bargaining is the norm.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank newforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

We stayed at the Victoria Spa & Resort Sapa from 29 April to 1 May 2008.

The hotel itself is very nice and has a good ambiance. We stayed at the Victoria Spa & Resort in Phan Thiet and Hoi An before. Therefore we expected a smiliar room size and standard. We were a little disapointed when we saw our deluxe room. Especially the bathroom was very small and ugly. The white tiles and shower curtain is very hospital like. Our room was very dusty and we had to ask for clean bathrobes.

It was quite cold outside, but the hotel staff kept the doors and windows open at all times. I was very busy closing the windows and doors in order to enjoy my meals without a "fur coat"... The restaurant is very good but also very expensive. Prepare yourself to pay 7 USD for French Fries and 9 USD for a potato soup. Just order room service if you want to pay even more. They charge additional 5 USD for room service. Btw for a drink at the pool you also have to pay the "room service charge". We stayed in many hotels throughout Asia, but never had to pay extra for room service.

We also went to the newly renovated "Spa". If you want to be safe bring flip flops or slippers along since the hotel doesn't provide it. The pool tiles are very slippery and it is very dangerous to walk bare-footed. If you like a hot shower after swimming - forget it. No hot water! I informed the staff about it and was told to wait for one hour. Other guests told me that there was no hot water the day before, too.I had to pinch myself several times, because I was not sure if I am at a YMCA or a 4 star hotel.

Anyway, we had a great time in Sapa, because it is so beautiful.The very helpful and friendly staff of Victoria Spa & Hotel compensated us for the things we were not so happy about.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Schidlinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We just returned from a trip in South East Asia (Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand). We stayed in Sapa at the Victoria Sapa Resort.

We have been fabulously welcomed by all the staff, who are really nice and helpfull.

The hotel organized us a treck to visit the remote minorities' villages and to discover the beautifull landscapes of the Sapa region (rice fields terraces...). Furthermore, they organized us the day after an excusion by car to a local minority market.

Once your excursion is finished, go to the Spa center, and get yourself pampered. It'll help you recover from the excursions. I personnely recommend the 60 minutes swedish massage...

Should you have the luck, we had, to meet the Chef, who used to work at the Plaza Athenée in Paris, ask him to prepare you a "menu degustation". It's an incredible experience, that'll enable you to discover some incredible local savors, with the standard of a 2 to 3 Michelin stars restaurant....

We strongly recommend you to get to Sapa, by train, on the Victoria Express Train that definitively looks like the Orient Express. It's just an amazing experience....

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luve1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Aira Boutique Sapa Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sapa Freesia Hotel
Sapa Freesia Hotel
#3 of 78 in Sapa
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#8 of 78 in Sapa
810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#39 of 78 in Sapa
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 78 in Sapa
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#8 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range: $131 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing