We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take the train”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“take the train”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a 4 star hotel with a great breakfast,friendly service,and nice views from outside rooms.The bar is a great meeting place at night and there is a service to take you to bottom of hill.If you are in town for a dollar (U.S.) a cab will drive you up.After hiking in villages great place to relax

Room Tip: if you are a couple and use train there is only one 2 bed room in each car.The others are 4 bed.If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louis8160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear louis8160,

Thank you very much for your interest in our hotel, and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
Our Spa offers a number of massages and treatments, including local plants bathes, and at the moment, some combination packages would fit perfectly to our guests de-stress expectations.
As said our Victoria Express Train is equipped with only one two berth cabin, called a Deluxe cabin, while the rest of the cabins are equipped with four berths, however it is usual and possible to arrange private cabins, which means turning a four berths cabin into a two berth cabin. As a result, when the Deluxe cabins are booked, it is still offered to book a private cabin.
Hoping to welcome you again during your next exploration of North Vietnam, we will recommend you to visit as well our new lounge, a relaxed haven next to Hanoi station – for a cosy wait of your train to Sapa.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    488
    156
    37
    9
See reviews for
233
599
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We loved the quality of the welcome on arrival. We did bike rides very nice. The breakfast is plentiful and do not see how we can avoid taking kilograms! The rooms are comfortable and nice for a hotel of this category. You can continue like this is great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Georges D,

Thank you very much for choosing the Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa for your family vacations.
We have been more than pleased to welcome you in our hotel, and we deeply hope to see you again for your further explorations and adventures.
We remain at your disposal for any information or service requests.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

we took the train from hanoi to sapa and back and unexpectedly, we could sleep very well because it was clean and comfortable. the hotel in sapa was welcoming. we had beautiful view from our window. stuff was helpfull and the food was good. the only remark I have is about the cleanliness of the room which was not satisfactory but the whole experience including the train was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Nilly E,

Thank you very much for choosing our property during your recent vacations in Sapa.
On the adventurous trip from Hanoi to Lao Cai, and further to Sapa, we believe the Victoria Express Train is the coziest option, and we recommend our Le Tonkin onboard Restaurant for a delicate experience; we would like to keep informing as well, even our train without restaurant offers regular drinks, wine selection, and light bites.
Your remark regarding the room cleanliness has been reported, and training has been implemented. Thank you again for this constructive remark.
The Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa wishes you a Happy New Year!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa monica
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and at top of hill w/ nice views but the lobby is freezing and they do not turn on the heat. The staff is bundled in winter coats and scarfs and everyone appeared to be sick with colds. Food was good, gift shop beautiful but overpriced.beds comfortable. Did not have opportunity to use spa.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Lynda B,

Thank you very much for your interest in our property.
We are conscious this year about the particular cold climate we experience in Sapa from the last December until last week, with temperatures almost reaching the local records.
In order to improve this important issue, we are drafting plans to review the buildings insulation.
Our Spa offers special promotions at the moment, and we look forward to welcome you again to try our Victoria massages packages, combining different options of massages and healthy finger foods.
The Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa wishes you a Happy New Year!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I took the train to the Victoria Resort right after Christmas. They still had decorations up and it was very festive and very old school and old world. It was a cross between the dining car scene in White Christmas on the way to Vermont (fresh in my mind from the season) and my impression of what the Orient Express might be. I had hesitations about sleeping on the train, but it was actually comfortable--great sheets, very clean and nice bathrooms.
The resort was very nice, though not as lux as the train. My friends had a heating problem in their room,but they were moved. The rooms are spacious and the outer areas very nice and cozy is a good word. It isn't the Four Seasons, but for a pretty remote place, pretty nice. And the point of going there is to see the surrounding area. What an eye opener to walk through mountain tribe villages, then see the markets and the stunning scenery--It is a study in diversity.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathie799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Kathie799,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Sapa.
We are more than happy to read your comment and experience within this amazing area of Vietnam!
We will communicate your kind word to our train and hotel Teams, and we remain available for any enquiry or support we could offer for your traveling purposes.
Hoping to welcome you again in the Tonkin Alps, the Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa wishes you a Happy New Year!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Please note that this review is specifically for the Victoria Express train and not the Sapa Resort (although contrary to other reviews we did not have the slightest problem with heating or staff service, and found both to be more than adequate. It was a cosy and delightful stay).

I remember booking this with my travel agent months ago and thinking 'Sheesh this better be worth the price'. Well the overnight train was worth every cent. From the welcoming hot flannels (face washers in Aussie speak) prior to boarding (it was a crisp night) to the endless supply of clean flannels in the bathroom and hot water also, I can't speak highly enough of this train! The attention to detail is phenomenal. Towelling slippers under the beds, a night pack containing toothbrushes/ bottle of water/etc, you get the idea. At certain points it felt slightly surreal and I wondered if I had somehow time travelled to the 1920s and was aboard the Orient Express. This was compounded further by the chic dining carriage in which we enjoyed a delicious dinner (I recommend the chicken) and copious amounts of bordeaux. Our French concierge was the embodiment of courtesy and discreet efficiency- I must also mention how impressed I was at the number of languages he could speak.
The only slight negative I had (and really it was our own lazy fault) was in regards to the fans in each cabin. On our first trip towards Sapa we did not realise the fans could be moved to position the airflow away from us...we spent a few sleepless hours irritated by these. In the morning however I realised my folly and had these positioned away from us for our return trip to Hanoi. Slept like a baby!
If you only plan on doing one luxury train trip in your life (I hope there will be more after experiencing this) this should be the one. Thank you to all the staff involved in making this such a wonderful trip -definitely a hilight of our decadent honeymoon :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Stardust77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Mrs_Stardust77,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
We will transmit your kind word to the Victoria Express Train Team, who will be more than happy to provide you again a memorable experience of traveling in North Vietnam!
Hoping your honeymoon trip would have been designed at your level of expectation, we remain delighted to read this supportive and constructive comment.
Both Train and Hotel Teams are looking forward to your return in the Tonkin Alps, and stay promptly ready to welcome you again.
The Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa wishes you a Happy New Year!

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We found the Victoria Sapa Resort to be very comfortable. With the fireplaces in the lobby and bar area, it has a nice lodge vibe to it. The rooms are very clean, beds comfortable and the restaurant has a good selection of both Vietnamese and French cuisine. Especially recommended are the fabulous desserts: try the apple tart, the crepe with banana and chocolate, or their really good chocolate or mango ice cream. Great treat after a hard day's hike.
The bar also has a small menu, including great French bistro type foods such as Croque Madame and Croque Monsieur.
Staff throughout the hotel are helpful, friendly, well-trained and pretty efficient.

We did find it made a huge difference in price to book through a travel agent, rather than directly with the hotel. We saved approx. $100 a night (!!) by booking and paying through a travel agent up front.
Also, the hotel tends to be more expensive with transportation to/from Lao Cai train station. Save yourself some money and just get a van from one of the many tour companies around the main square, or in front of the train station.
I would stay here again, as I believe it is the most comfortable hotel in town.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris-in-Bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Cris-in-Bkk,

We would like to thank you for your interest in our hotel, and reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
It is with a great pleasure we will transmit your kind word to our Chef and his brigade,as well as our Tavan Restaurant Team.
On the reservation side, logically, organized groups are getting better deals than individual travellers; however our website is constantly offering special promotions, early bird booking discounts, packages combining rooms and other services, that will smoothen the organization and rates for our guests.
We deeply recommend booking in advance for transportation from Lao Cai to Sapa, as the train station can be a real hassle in the early morning, with many cases of overcharge to the new visitor.
The Victoria Sapa Team wishes you a Happy New Year!

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 68 in Sapa
360 reviews
9.0 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#11 of 68 in Sapa
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aira Boutique Sapa Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
U Sapa
U Sapa
#7 of 68 in Sapa
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#27 of 68 in Sapa
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Property: Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#8 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing