We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, very friendly staff & lovely food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location & the restaurant served lovely food. We organized a days trekking with the hotel & it was well worth it as we got to walk through villages, forests & rice paddies. The locals do try & sell you goods most of the time & can be very persistent, but they are also very friendly which means even if you are not buying you can have a laugh with them. Our only issue with our room & the hotel was that it was very cold so we were often wearing our coats inside too, thank goodness for North Face!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlandbecau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Carlandbecau,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the online community.
Trekking in the mystical surroundings of Sapa is probably the most unique memory available for our guests, and we are very glad to read your feedback. As this winter is surprisingly colder than the previous years, we keep heating and lighting our fireplaces for a most comfortable stay of our guests. We are as well drafting plans to improve this point in the future.
We hope to welcome you again in Sapa, and assist you in your further explorations of North Vietnam.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

We didn't know what to expect so were delighted that our travel agent had organised the first class carriage on the Victoria Train and first class accommodation as a package for us. What could have been a dreadful experience was made truly magical by the Victoria Model of service delivery. The trip was seamless, the staff very accommodating and friendly and we enjoyed our stay immensely.
It was the beginning of the cool season in Asia and the fires were burning in the foyer, lounge and dining room which was also a treat. All the hotel facilities are spacious and well appointed and the staff delightful. The hotel even has a good wine list which isn't common in Asia. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I would think that all the rooms would be of high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Maggie255068,

Thank you very much for interest in our hotel and train.
We are delighted to read your experience at the Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa, and will transmit your word to our members of staff.
Our wine list is always evolving and elaborated with passion, and has just been renewed, for your information. For the one who is missing the taste of home, we recommend at the moment our special cheese fondue, and its associated bottle of Alsace, Gentil Hugel from the Hugel & Fils winery.
Our team stays promptly ready and available to welcome you again in the Tonkin Alps.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent one of the best Christmas' in Sapa thanks to the "Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa". We really enjoyed our Christmas dinner. The whole program was well organized. The drinks and food were delicious. The decor in each bedroom is very authentic and unique. One of the things that impressed us the most was the fact that they have ethnic people working in the lobby. The whole staff is very professional and attentive, they always go the extra mile to help you out.
Our overall experience has been amazing. They have done a good job bringing the Sapa experience inside the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatwac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Carmen0011,

Thank you very much for your kind word and for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
We will transmit your comment to our Chef and his brigade, as well as our restaurant team.
Our Tay personnel have been working with us for around ten years by now, and still hand make their traditional scarves in our lobby, while our ethnic team still provides the most authentic products from the Hmong or Yao people, in our shop. Their smile and explanations on the meaning of embroidery and handicraft will answer the most of the curiosity about the local traditions.
We hope to have the chance to host you again in our property.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after the train ride from hell on the Fansipan Express. The staff kindly allowed us to check into both our rooms as soon as we arrived rather than having to wait until 2.00 pm. The rooms were clean and tidy and refreshed during the day. The staff were extremely helpful regarding directions etc. we had the best night sleep here and the breakfast is fantastic. We were able use the rooms until were caught the train back to Hanoi.
We caught the Victoria Express train back to Hanoi instead of the Fansipan Express. The train was excellent how we've there was a problem with one of the lower beds - it had obviously been bent and slops down considerably. Housekeeping was unsure how to resolve this situation and presented us with two packets of napkins to prop the bed up - not a satisfactory solution or what we expected. Given that there were a number of vacant cabins on the train the best solution would have been to offer my husband a bed in the other cabin. Unfortunately this option was never presented and he had an awful night's sleep and not much better than he experienced on the Fansipan Express. I did email the hotel with the cabin number but have yet to receive a response.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms seem to have a small balcony and then a view over the mountains. Probably one on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Tina J,

Thank you very much for your interest in our hotel and train, we truly appreciate your comment.
After reading your email, we led an investigation and it appears that our personnel did not react as they have been trained for, and we failed to fit to your husband requirements. For your information, the problem has been fixed. Please accept our deepest apologizes, we would be more than happy to privilege you and your family during your next visit.
We look forward to accommodate you again when you will be back in the Tonkin Alps.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We very much enjoyed the Victoria Hotel-- the location is great, the facilities and rooms excellent and the service very good. We had two lovely rooms overlooking the garden. They were comfortable and clean and very nicely appointed. The bath was large and the amenities very nice. We enjoyed the large lobby and had happy hour by the fireplace before a very good dinner in the restaurant. We also were able to easily schedule massages at the spa. The spa was wonderful -- what you would expect at a luxury hotel. We also sat outside the pool area at sunset and enjoyed the view. Unfortunately, we were not able to book the Victoria train, as it did not run on Saturday, our return. Please check my reviews of the trains - there are big differences. However, I understand that if you can use the Victoria's do!

Room Tip: We had rooms on the first floor facing the courtyard. They were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Karen H,

Thank you very much for your interest in our hotel, and for your supportive comment.
We currently offer even more specials at the Spa and restaurant at the moment with the festive season, and we as well got a snow drop that made this time very special.
Our Victoria Express Team remains promptly ready to welcome you during your next stay, and we even recommend you to pamper yourself with a dinner on board in Le Tonkin Restaurant.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the Tonkin Alps.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel is very nice with amazing lobby. The rooms are very nice, big and well equied and the view from the hotel is amazing. The staff is profressional and the service is excellent. Breafast is amazing. One disadvantage is related to the room heat system. We were staying there by end of November and it was very cold inside the room. I would expect better heating system in such luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Ofer A,

Warmest greetings from Sapa, where we just had an exceptional snowfall, unique in Vietnam.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the internet community. Our rooms are equipped with two heaters, and more for the Suite and Family Studio rooms. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to your stay if your room was not warm enough, and for your information, we provide extra heaters on demand.
Looking forward to welcome you again in our resort, and visit again this fantastic area of North Vietnam.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel was booked by our travel agent Mrs Ha of Vietland Travel. She never disappoints us with her recommendations. This hotel was lovely. Our room was comfortable, warm and cozy, breakfast was the usual fare with many choices. Didn't eat at the hotel restaurant at night as it was a bit pricy, we chose to eat just down the steps in town. The day spa was luxurious, though expensive and the indoor heated pool looked great but as we were only there 2 nights we did not have a chance to take advantage of the pool. We would recommend this hotel, however if going back to Sapa again we would possibly find a cheaper option, as you are really only in your to sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mareeslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Mareeslee,

Thank you very much for your kind comment, and we will transmit your word to our members of staff for the good service we provided to your trip in Sapa.
Our Spa Team just issued new promotions, mixing massages with healthy drinks and snacks, that we believe, are the perfect treat after an exciting day exploring the surroundings.
The swimming pool stays available to all of our guests, even before check-in and after check-out, in order to approach the train ride back to Hanoi in a total serenity.
We stay promptly ready to welcome you back in the Tonkin Alps,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.4 mi away
Aira Boutique Sapa Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sapa Freesia Hotel
Sapa Freesia Hotel
#3 of 79 in Sapa
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#9 of 79 in Sapa
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#43 of 79 in Sapa
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#8 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range: $133 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing