We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A grand hotel ”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The room was great with a small patio into a lovely garden. The lobby had two fireplaces which were on and gave a great feeling. We ate dinner at the restaurant and the food was good. The downside is that you have to climb several stairs from the main road to get to the hotel when walking in town. Cars can reach easily with the luggage don't worry. Would highly recommend

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank iris2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear iris2265,

Thank you again for staying with us at the occasion of your Sapa visit.
It was a real pleasure to host you in our property. We offer pick-ups and drop-offs from the reception to our Spa area, and as well until down our road, with our golf buggy car.
We look forward to welcome you again in our resort.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    485
    156
    37
    9
See reviews for
229
597
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at the Victoria SaPa resort and spa, very nice hotel; it feels like a ski lodge in Austria. They left us beautiful flowers and the staff were amazing! Although we did not go up there until the last day the pool and spa area is amazing! Breakfast was by far the best on our entire 1 month trip of Vietnam!

I think though the Victoria Sapa Resort could personalise the stay for their guests a little more. We stayed at the Victoria in Can Tho and we felt less like a number. A couple of examples of this is the golf buggy, We were never told this service was available to us ( I found out in a reply from management on trip advisor) whereas Can Tho gave us a fantastic welcomming tour upon arrival and said things like if you would like to go into town please call us and within 5 minute we will have the boat taxi waiting for you. Another example is we returned home from dinner and called reception to say the room is boiling hot and I wanted to know if we could turn on the air Cond as there was some vent on the roof hot air was coming out of. They sent someone up who then turned on the heaters flat out. I tried to explain too hot but it was lost in translation, they called down to reception and they said sorry the fan has not worked for a very long time but that was the limit of the English at reception also. Barking dogs next door bring ear plugs for a good sleep.

I summary, It’s a nice, clean place to stay but there are many other cheaper hotels that offer a more personal service with similar quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Greg D,

We appreciate your comment and would like to thank for taking the time to write your feedback to us.
We are delighted as you appreciated our hotel, staffs and atmosphere: Sapa is probably the most “alpine” stop for a trip in Vietnam!
However, please accept our sincere apologizes regarding the lack of information we delivered to you: our golf buggy is available to all our guests for drop offs to our Spa area, as well as drives up and down our road.
In addition to the translation issues that you experienced for your room temperature, we will adapt a training as soon as possible to correct those few missing points that didn’t make your experience perfect.

We hope that you will occasionally visit us again during your next stay in the Tonkin Alps,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hai Phong, Vietnam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a delightful place to rest your weary head. Located on its own commanding hillock, Victoria Sapa
has it all-testefully decorated rooms, sweeping views from the restaurant, two bars,a heated indoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a tennis court. Consider booking one of its many two-or three -day discount deals for a real steal. As part of these packages, hotel guests can travel be- tween Hanoi and Lao Cai in the resort's Victoria Express, the luxurious, private train carriages, a la Orient Express, attached to the regular train. It's good, as i recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear bim b,

The Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa Team would like to thank you for your kind comment, and will be delighted to serve you another time, in beautiful Sapa.
We do have interesting discounts on our website, and promotions inside the resort as well, such as Spa promotions, F&B and laundry. Should you keep enjoyed it during your next visit.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is how it felt when we arrived and sat down to breakfast in the restaurant - like we'd been transported to Europe instead of the north of Vietnam. The view was stunning. We arrived early in the morning as we had caught the Victoria Express train from Hanoi (lots of fun) and as our room wasn't ready yet the staff suggested we have breakfast while waiting. There doesn't seem to be a lot of option in this matter since the hotel is set high above Sapa away from the rest of the town, and unfortunately the breakfast left a lot to be desired. Limited choices, over or undercooked hot food and exactly the same thing each morning.
Our room was generally nice and clean, however the bathroom desperately needed an upgrade. Tiny little, very low, shower over bath-tub - not ideal for washing your hair when you're nearly 6 feet tall. And it was set very high off the ground, meaning there was a step to get in and out of the tub. It didn't feel overly safe to me. Even a non-slip mat would have helped.
The staff were friendly and helpful, the facilities at the spa were fantastic. Massages and the like were decently priced for a high-end hotel. We took a tour to Coc Ly market booked through the hotel and we were highly impressed by our guide, Miss Su, a young local woman who was very knowledgable about the area and took good care of us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Kathryn M,

We would like to extend our sincere thanks for your kind comments and taking time to share your Victoria experience. We genuinely regret that we could not meet your expectations regarding the breakfast choices and the bathroom. We assure you that your feedback will be shred to our team as we are fully committed to improve our facilities and services further. Please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience for any cause of concern you may have. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Hopefully Victoria Sapa is still your primary choice of accommodations in Sapa Vietnam. We look forward to serve you better during your return stays.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel and town is a hidden gem in Vietnam. It's only a matter of time before it joins the ranks of being very touristy. Upon our arrival, we couldn't help but reminisce of the Swiss Alps. The town reminded us of that. Simply beautiful. The people in the town are amazing and that includes Victoria resort and staff. The rooms were very comfortable, nothing extraordinary, but perfect. Great views of the mountain landscapes and nearly in the heart of Sapa. The Staff went out of their way to help and make it special... In fact, even made breakfast in bed and then a birthday cake after!! They made it a very personalized special experience from us. We had already been to Saigon, Nha Trang, and Hanoi. This place separated itself from all of the others...Very upscale and very simple mountain town resport. The resort also knows a few of the train cars, so you are taken care of from start to finish with the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Mike D,

On behalf of the entire team at Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa, we would like to thank you for your comments and taking time to share it with the traveler online community. We are very delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday in our hotel.

Our hotel is committed to making your stay both enjoyable and comfortable. Hopefully we would have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at your convenience for any further queries you may have. Thank you once again.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this resort during our 3 nights in Sapa. We found the hotel lovely, warm and charming. The staff was very kind and always helpful and would go beyond their duty to accommodate any request.
We had room 214, with a very nice balcony overlooking the mountain, a pleasure to wake-up every morning and sit there sipping my tea while waiting to go out.
We dined once at the restaurant, the food was good, but a bit pricey as one would expect. I'd recommend to indulge in the many local options you have in Sapa town, only 5 mins walk from the hotel.
The hotel has a lovely outdoor garden and the common areas are very spacious, we loved the fireplace by the entrance at reception. There is an indoor pool, which we did not try, and nice spa, which we did try and enjoyed.
Overall the perfect place to relax after the long walks we were doing every day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear fabi2011,

Thank you very much for choosing Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa to serve you during your recent vacation in Vietnam. It is our great pleasure to have you as our guest. We highly appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return visits. We will transmit your comments to our members of staff regarding their appreciable welcome. Our hotel is committed to making your stay both enjoyable and comfortable. Hopefully we would have the opportunity to host you again.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laos
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Victoria Sapa is a great hotel, with charm and character, at the heart of Sapa. Its architecture and style reflect perfectly well the mountainous and ethnic atmosphere of the town and bring visitors back to the time when they were not called tourists but travelers. The staff is very attentive and friendly. Cyril, the French General Manager, and his management team are equally friendly and even more efficient. It is the kind of place where you would just like to stay for a week, strolling in town, reading by the fire place and just enjoying one of the most stunning region of Vietnam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stekype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Guest Relations Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Stekype,

On behalf of the entire team at Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa, we would like to thank you for your comments and taking time to share it with the traveler online community. We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday in our hotel. Hopefully we would have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at your convenience for any further queries you may have. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the Tonkin Alps.

Yours sincerely,

Guest Experience Manager
Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 68 in Sapa
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#10 of 68 in Sapa
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aira Boutique Sapa Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
U Sapa
U Sapa
#6 of 68 in Sapa
293 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#9 of 68 in Sapa
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Property: Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#7 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. In December 2015 the Luxury Victoria Coach will be launched from Hanoi to Laocai with 6 trips/week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing