We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great hotel”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We only stayed one night at this lovely hotel but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was beautiful with a balcony that faced the lovely gardens. The tour desk organised a trek for us to visit the Hmong villages of Loa Chi and Ta Van. Our guide was Lo Thi Mo - a very knowledgeable and delightful guide who I would recommend. The hotel offers use of the pool and showers etc which is great given that the train back to Hanoi does not go until the evening - and there is no charge for this. I do agree with others though, charging for a cappuccino at breakfast is not what you expect in a hotel of this class. Other than this, a great experience and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellisimoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Bellisimoc,

On the behalf of our Team, thank you for sharing your kind comment with further travelers.
It is a deep satisfaction to read your experience exploring the area, our tour/trek organizer partner is working with local guides who are holding the most precise knowledge about this fantastic region.
Indeed, included into your night stay, you have had open access to our swimming pool area, sauna, steam bath, changing rooms, etc.
After a long day trekking the Tonkin Alps, our guests can eventually refresh and use our facilities before taking the overnight train back to Hanoi. Our Spa packages are as well recommended, in order to start your trip back in the most relaxed mood!
We would be more than happy to welcome you again in our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    488
    156
    37
    9
See reviews for
233
599
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great hotel and good location although it is quite a climb from the townsite at the end of a busy shopping expedition. Fantastic restaurant and very inviting lounge area. Great staff. We went to and from Sapa on the local train (not the Victoria train unfortunately) but if travelling as a couple be sure you book a 4 berth room on your own. It was quite cosy and you can sleep overnight each way. There is some snacks in the berth but you may want to eat before boarding or organise a snack to supplement what has been provided. Take your own drinks. The Victoria hotel does a picnic meal for you when leaving if you give them 24 hours notice. Sapa is lovely and the surrounding villages are interesting. Shopping in Sapa is surprisingly good. Got gortex jackets for $25US and keen walking shoes for $26US. Fantastic value. We were there in July and it was quite wet. The rooms do not have airconditioning and it can be quite close. It is quite hard to dry clothes in a wet, humid environment.

Room Tip: Try to book a room that faces down the mountainside. It is a lovely vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flickymicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear flickymicky,

Thanks you very much for your interest in our hotel.
We hope we would have the chance to welcome you on board of our train, especially in our on board restaurant, for your tasting experience while driving through the local countryside.
Located on a central hilltop, our resort is overviewing Sapa town. A short stairway will lead our guests directly to the town center, this gap is preserving us from the more crowded and noisy main streets, and ensure the calm of our resort.
Looking forward to your further travels in North Vietnam,
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The staff were terrific and the breakfast was as good as it gets but I though having to pay extra for a cappuccino coffer was over the top.
Bar prices were also high compared to everywhere else in Sapa but I guess this is to be expected.
Our only real gripe ( and it's a big one ) was with hotel management. The day we arrived we asked the front desk about making a forward booking with the Victoria Hotel in hao An where we had stayed on a previous visit. The guy behind the counter dialled the hotel and then passed the phone to my wife to make our own booking which was almost impossible because of the language barrier . We asked for the manager and we were directed to the Front Office Manager, Nicolas who took all of our details and assured us he would "look after everything ". The next morning when we enquired again as to the progress of our booking we were given a piece of paper with an email address on it. We were told that it would be easier if we emailed the Hoi An Hotel and made our own arrangements. We did this and when we received now reply we again contacted the FOM and his words were, well, they're a busy hotel and we can't expect a reply straight away. In the end they did us a favour because we booked at the Sunrise Hoi An Beach Resort which was a far superior hotel where the staff ( including management ) went out of their way to help with further bookings even though we weren't staying at any of the other hotels.
We would have thought that when you wanted to on book at the same chain management would do there best to keep you but not in this case. We did write to the CEO of the parent company but have had no reply.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazza-R53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Daryl R,

Thank you very much to take time and share your experience with the traveller online community.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to your travels regarding your booking in our sister property; I thought we provided you a clear information from the beginning of your request, unfortunately it was not enough and we will improve the communication at Victoria Sapa.

We will transmit your word to our staff regarding their appreciable welcome.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back in our resort in Sapa and provide the nicest stay for your next vacations in Vietnam.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

As a town, Sapa does not have the appeal one might expect of a former French Colonial Hill Station due to rampant development, and little if any planning, although recently there have apparently been attempts to constrain its expansion and the demolition of historic buildings. The perfectly placed Victoria Resort Hotel sits close to the town centre, but is high above the noise and the bustle, with wonderful vistas from all aspects. It is beautifully finished in traditional wood, with wide balconies and well tended grounds. This presents a perfect haven before setting out on your local or more distant trek. There are interesting shops throughout the town, with many local crafts some of which are sold through the hotel. The rooms are inviting, very comfortable, and warm (note that Sapa can get very cold in winter). The hotel has an excellent restaurant, and exceptional wines are available. The staff are cheerful and friendly. This is a perfectly situated hotel, and the most attractive place to stay in Sapa.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar, traditional style, but try to get room with a view facing out from the resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dhs100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear dhs100,

Thank you very much for your kind comment and your high rating following to your stay in our property. We are more than happy to provide you a comfortable stay and a memorable experience in Sapa.
Our Spa facilities will be delighted to welcome our guests coming back from a trek in the local mountain, and we believe it is a must after a day (or more) exploring the area. Our Chef will also be ready to serve his extensive fusion cuisine to the finest palates. A dinner in our Victoria Express Train is also highly recommended as a highlight of your Vietnam visit, for the guest who will catch up with our restaurant carriage!
We look forward to welcome you back in the Tonkin Alps.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel with a "Mytime" package booked through a travel agent in Australia which gave us breakfast on arrival, upgrade to deluxe and late checkout. We appreciated all of these items. The rooms were beautiful and the staff were fantastic. It was a relief to arrive here after the train and then the chaos at Lao Cai.

It is true that you have to pay for everything at the resort - however that is the same as any other resort and your alternative is to go down into Sapa if you want to pay local prices. We opted to stay in for one lunch and one dinner and had cocktails at happy hour (highly recommend).

The tour desk organised a half day trek for us to Lao Chai, which was easy to do even in the rain. 3/4 of our group were not well so we could not go to Bac Ha and had to utilise our late check out.

I cannot speak highly enough of all the staff, from the front desk/concierge, the restaurant and bar staff and the staff in the Spa, they all made our stay both relaxing and memorable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank DavinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear DavinC,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our property with the internet community!
We also really appreciate your kind comments on our Team efficiency and helpfulness, and we will of course transmit your word.
Regarding the Lao Cai station, it is true that it can be a hassle in the early morning and we deeply recommend to book in advance for transportation to our resort.
We also highly recommend to explore the area by trekking or driving around, and get into the local landscapes and culture for your memorable experience.
Looking forward to your next stay in North Vietnam,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I spent my lovely vacation there which is considered as the only luxury hotel in the North-Western of Vietnam. It was located in the cloudy town with striking scenery, lush green-terraced field and immense mountain ranges. It is so beautiful which makes me feel like paradise. Also the service there is perfect with a tennis court, gym and heated swimming pool. I really want to come back there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Mervyn C,

Thank you very much for your interest in our hotel.
Indeed, Sapa town and surroundings are simply stunning at the moment: the greenery, rice fields and local culture are delighting our eyes and memories, and going for a trek option is highly recommended.
Our Spa packages would be as well a best choice after a long trek in the mountains, as well as a dinner prepared by our Chef and his brigade.

We will be more than happy to host you again in our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Victoria seem to have created their own interesting Indo China experience with their resorts in the area. Thier Sapa resort is built and landscaped in a European Alpine style. It's worth taking their train from Hanoi as the other option is bad. Victoria can be a bit overpriced and they slug the guest wherever they can but it's in a good spot in town and comfortable. Staff are well trained.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning trav... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Discerning trav... S,

It is a pleasure to see your rating five star for our service quality, as we keep training our Team at all time in order to enhance our guests experience.
The Victoria Express Train is as well a best experience for the night trip between Hanoi and Lao Cai, with half departures with our restaurant carriage, and Chef on board, while our other sleeping carriages will provide room serviced light bites.
We look forward to your next stay in Sapa to welcome you again in the Tonkin Alps.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 68 in Sapa
360 reviews
9.0 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#12 of 68 in Sapa
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aira Boutique Sapa Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
U Sapa
U Sapa
#7 of 68 in Sapa
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#27 of 68 in Sapa
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Property: Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#8 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing