We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel, with an excellent Chef”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel, with an excellent Chef”
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We just returned from a trip in South East Asia (Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand). We stayed in Sapa at the Victoria Sapa Resort.

We have been fabulously welcomed by all the staff, who are really nice and helpfull.

The hotel organized us a treck to visit the remote minorities' villages and to discover the beautifull landscapes of the Sapa region (rice fields terraces...). Furthermore, they organized us the day after an excusion by car to a local minority market.

Once your excursion is finished, go to the Spa center, and get yourself pampered. It'll help you recover from the excursions. I personnely recommend the 60 minutes swedish massage...

Should you have the luck, we had, to meet the Chef, who used to work at the Plaza Athenée in Paris, ask him to prepare you a "menu degustation". It's an incredible experience, that'll enable you to discover some incredible local savors, with the standard of a 2 to 3 Michelin stars restaurant....

We strongly recommend you to get to Sapa, by train, on the Victoria Express Train that definitively looks like the Orient Express. It's just an amazing experience....

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank luve1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    488
    156
    37
    9
See reviews for
233
599
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2008

After 'roughing it' a bit in other places in Vietnam, we were extremely pleased with our Victoria experience. Our stay included a night on the Victoria sleeper train between Hanoi and Sapa as well - an absolutely first-class train which as far as we could tell was the nicest way to travel between the two cities. Massage in the spa was also above average - expensive for Vietnam standards but only $40 USD to put it in perspective. The pictures I'm posting speak volumes.

A couple of things to watch out for: 1) the pool was a bit cold - apparently they were doing some remodeling and the heating wasn't functioning; 2) the restaurant has a great look and breakfast was super - however, dinner was dissapointing despite being told by management of their famous French chef; 3) prices were very high for Vietnam - although if you want comfort in this country it appears you should prepare to pay Western prices; 4) Mosquitoes are a concern there because of a few infrequent cases of malaria - all the rooms had dedicated bug burners.

Overall we were pleased and would go back.

  • Liked — Extremely comfortable
  • Disliked — Pricey
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank johnzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We enjoyed our three night stay in the four star Victoria, and found it an excellent base for trekking in the surrounding tribal areas. The hotel has a distinct 'mountain resort' feel and is somewhat less luxurous than its siblings in Siem Reap and Can Tho. Our oversized room, really a mini suite, was well furnished with local accents and had free internet access. Staff were friendly and efficient. There is just one restaurant. The buffet breakfast is good but the ambitious dinner menu creates expectations that aren't quite fulfilled. Despite its large indoor pool and spa, it's difficult to see this hotel as a destination, as distinct from a base from which to tour the surrounding area(which is well worth the effort.) The Victoria is very expensive indeed by local standards but a peaceful retreat.

Recommended to those not on a tight budget.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Other reviewers are complaining that this 5 star hotel didn't live up to what they expected.

Actually this is not only a 4 star hotel but also the only 4 star hotel in Sapa (Sorry - there are no 5 star hotels in Sapa - yet).

I didn't expect (neither payed) more than a 4 star hotel and I must say that I wasn't disapointed after seeing what the other options in Sapa are like. This was by far the best available option and actually quite good.

Rooms were well equipped and well heated (it was pretty cold outside when we were there). A bit old but fully functional and equipped bathroom. Comfy bed. Garden was beautiful with live goats (daytime only) to take of the lawn. Breakfast was awesome. Set menu in the restaurant was excellent and tasteful. Lunch options in the cozy bar were great (nice fireplace too). Kid's playroom looked great - they also have albino rabbits in the garden - so bring your kids.

Victoria Express Train (though not really Express at all) was a brilliant way to get there. Make sure you travel on dates where they have a dinning carriage on the train. We did (unfortunately only one way due to limited schedule) and had our travel agent book the set menu on the train (as well in Victoria Sapa) and weren't disappointed. Go for a bottle of wine and have a really nice evening. Another tip might be to book the full 4-berth cabin (if deluxe is sold out) - we did so and are glad we did as space is limited (but fine for two or a small family).

A tip: in 2012 the new airport in Lao Cai (30 km from Sapa) will be operational. Still going one way and having dinner on the Victoria Train will be a great experience. Forget going by car or bus to Sapa if you value your life(!).

  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer (+ very bad exchange rate - change money in Hanoi before you go)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CPH360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2008

Appearance belies the lousy customer service. Disguised as a 4-5 star hotel, its customer service deserves 2 stars.

Had to beg to get our passports back so that we could check out the next morning. Were promised delivery to our door after they had kept it for 16 hours(we checked in at 7AM). Would not make copies. Said they would be hand deliverd by 10 PM after numerous phone calls. Had to personally retrieve it at 10:30 PM when desk clerk couldn't even find it.

Power kept going out . At one point it was every 5 minutes. We were told that it was "the government's fault". the generator could only be used if the "government" officially said there was a power problem. A clear case of buck-passing.

Had a visitor in the lobby of which we had informed reception. We were never notified.

the gift shop was very nice and the general appearance was very good-looking but customer service generally incompetent.

The King Express train was the worst train I have ever been on. it was the only way to get to Sapa. Rattled and clanged all night and we thought we would be wrecked. Never could sleep. We had the high priced private compartment but that was totally irrelevant. Train should have been removed from service. Watch for news stories of a major derailment with the very real likelihood of deaths.

Too bad because Sapa is a very interesting town with many interesting sights

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Disappointing hotel.
5 star hotel that needs a lot of customer service improvements.

Room large and nice but quite noisy. Noise from room above and outside staircase.

Frequent power outages.

Misinformation about when passports would be returned.

Incompetence in advising us about people we were waiting to meet in lobby.

Good breakfast but you can wait forever to get coffee or tea.

Very good gift store in lobby.

  • Disliked — Customer service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AnotherMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 68 in Sapa
360 reviews
9.0 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#12 of 68 in Sapa
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aira Boutique Sapa Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
U Sapa
U Sapa
#7 of 68 in Sapa
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#27 of 68 in Sapa
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Property: Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#8 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing