We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“5 Star stay in Sapa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 60 Hotels in Sapa
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 Star stay in Sapa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Easily the NICEST hotel in Sapa, comes with train carriage for guests only. Great views and very nicely made rooms, gardens. Need to walk a little to get to the restaurants but it's worth it. has heated pool, tennis courts, gym, spa etc. What was unique to me was a lady making traditional costumes right there in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trek5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    436
    142
    33
    7
See reviews for
201
530
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
201 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a room on the third floor overlooking the gardens. It had a nice balcony but because the hotel was burning very smelly wood on a open fire - in the middle of the dining room - it was not nice to sit on and the smoke pervaded everywhere, even the bedroom through closed doors. As the water is not potable, even for teeth cleaning, the provide you with a small bottle per person per day. If the weather is clear you can see down onto the town (very commercialized). The spa is very pleasant and the staff there good. One visit sufficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMarpleInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent two days in Sapa and sadly it was foggy the entire time. The hotel is a nice location just on the upper edge of town. Surely the views are great. It has a ski lodge feel to the lounge area with fireplaces, overstuffed leather couches and chairs. The dining room is large and light. The food was good with many choices. I would return here again, for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmcdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We took the Victoria overnight train from Hanoi to Lao Cai and then stayed one night at the Victoria Hotel. The hotel was very clean, the room was well appointed; our only complaint was the noise from construction nearby that started early in the morning and lasted late in the day, realizing of course this is not something the hotel has any control over. We were on the second floor with a courtyard view that was very nice. Breakfast was very good with lots of western choices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kentislandwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

a very good place to stay. pleasant mountain atmosphere. wood and stones. fireplaces. very friendly staff. good food.
the rooms are a bit small, but pleasant (all wood).
only downside, some rooms on the first floor have no view at all and get quite dark. get a second or third floor room if possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CPC1PCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

While there are many reviews of this hotel, I think what is equally important here (although apologies if I’m in the wrong place on Trip Advisor) is to say something about the restaurant and more precisely the new French chef at the Victoria. I have eaten at the Victoria most years since it opened, being a regular in Sa Pa. The food has always been good, but the new chef, Hugo, who has been there 3 months now, is really making this restaurant experience fantastic. He is blending local and foreign foods, spices and tastes and bringing a completely new innovative flare to the dishes. What’s more, his enthusiasm is palpable with the staff – in kitchen and out-front – who have ramped up the service accordingly. This, all for an incredibly reasonable price- you would pay 1.5 to 2 times this price for a similar meal in Hanoi (although even then, I’m not sure you’d experience the innovation and delicate flavours). Honestly- even if you decide to stay somewhere else in town, do check out the restaurant for dinner. Superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiMontreal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I traveled by overnight train from Hanoi to Sapa. It was so breathtakingly beautiful. The markets were ablaze with the colors of the clothing of the different tribes. The variety of goods for sale made it hard to buy just a few things. The market is something you just have to experience. We stayed at the Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa. The mountain was shrouded with the clouds and atmosphere. Decorated for Christmas and complete with roaring fireplaces, made it so cozy. The room was very nice and opened up to the grounds decorated with lights on the trees and shrubs. We couldn't resist buying from the ladies that ran the shop there in the hotel. Laughing and being so sweet and helpful we enjoyed purchasing some of the wonderful hand made garments. The quality is excellent. We hired a guide to take us to the market and she arranged everything for us. Entirely worth it. The time spent in the spa was relaxing and revived us. All in all a worthwhile and wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 60 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Sapa
U Sapa
#5 of 60 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#9 of 60 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#10 of 60 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Property: Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sapa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. In December 2015 the Luxury Victoria Coach will be launched from Hanoi to Laocai with 6 trips/week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing