We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sa Pa Victoria Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Sapa
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sa Pa Victoria Restaurant”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

While there are many reviews of this hotel, I think what is equally important here (although apologies if I’m in the wrong place on Trip Advisor) is to say something about the restaurant and more precisely the new French chef at the Victoria. I have eaten at the Victoria most years since it opened, being a regular in Sa Pa. The food has always been good, but the new chef, Hugo, who has been there 3 months now, is really making this restaurant experience fantastic. He is blending local and foreign foods, spices and tastes and bringing a completely new innovative flare to the dishes. What’s more, his enthusiasm is palpable with the staff – in kitchen and out-front – who have ramped up the service accordingly. This, all for an incredibly reasonable price- you would pay 1.5 to 2 times this price for a similar meal in Hanoi (although even then, I’m not sure you’d experience the innovation and delicate flavours). Honestly- even if you decide to stay somewhere else in town, do check out the restaurant for dinner. Superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiMontreal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    473
    153
    35
    8
See reviews for
222
580
42
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I traveled by overnight train from Hanoi to Sapa. It was so breathtakingly beautiful. The markets were ablaze with the colors of the clothing of the different tribes. The variety of goods for sale made it hard to buy just a few things. The market is something you just have to experience. We stayed at the Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa. The mountain was shrouded with the clouds and atmosphere. Decorated for Christmas and complete with roaring fireplaces, made it so cozy. The room was very nice and opened up to the grounds decorated with lights on the trees and shrubs. We couldn't resist buying from the ladies that ran the shop there in the hotel. Laughing and being so sweet and helpful we enjoyed purchasing some of the wonderful hand made garments. The quality is excellent. We hired a guide to take us to the market and she arranged everything for us. Entirely worth it. The time spent in the spa was relaxing and revived us. All in all a worthwhile and wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stay here if you come to Sapa. Superluxury. Clean. Good food. I got here by train, from Hanoi. I couldn t imagine such an hotel, among the mountains, at the border with China. There is beautiful Spa, with European prices, but good treatments!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We ADORED Sapa. It was the highlight of our trip to Vietnam and I wish we'd allotted a longer time there. The area is beautiful and the trekking was a truly special once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. Truthfully, if I had been traveling with just my husband I might have skipped this hotel and stayed someplace funkier, cheaper and more "local." But we were traveling as a family and needed a little distance from the hubbub as well as a pool so the Victoria it was. We didn't regret it. The hotel is lovely, sort of like a mountain chalet. The lobby is a place you can actually hang out in. The rooms are small, not as luxurious as some other places we stayed in Vietnam for similar rates, but they are still the nicest in Hoi An and are perfectly nice. It's a little weird that you have to hike up hill to get to the pool, and the pool is shallow all the way across (2-4 feet) which makes it hard to swim or frolic in. But still, it's there. The breakfast was plentiful. You have to walk a bit to get down to town, but that's ok because what you get back is peace and quiet. We bought a Jianzi game at the store next to the hotel and ended up befriending a United Nations of families who all played together. So fun!

We did not use the hotel for tours. I'm sure their tours are fine and they do hire local guides, but the money mostly leaves the community and goes to the Victoria chain. I preferred to hire from a local Hmong company, Sapa Sisters and they were FANTASTIC. Check out the reviews on tripadvisor.

Also, we did NOT take the Victoria Express up to Sapa. I wish we had. We got cheap and thought, how bad can a train ride be? Let's just say, spend the money take the Victoria Express. The other train wasn't AWFUL and I wouldn't let it deter you from going to Sapa, which was the highlight of our trip, but, even with the higher end tickets, it was below typical American standards for cleanliness and comfort. They turn off the air conditioning in the middle of the night which is VERY uncomfortable. The staff sleeps on the floor outside the sleeper cars so if you need to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, forget it. And we did a lot of pretending we didn't see things--like the giant cockroach skittering along the floor. Now doesn't that extra money spent on the Victoria Express seem worth it? But you can only use it if you're staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on the street side--the noise carries much further than you'd think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We sometimes find that hotels we stay at add to the enjoyment of our holidays, and the Victoria Sapa Resort was no exception. Situated on a hill overlooking the town of Sapa, you can look out one minute and barely see any of the town at all because of low cloud; the next minute, it's cleared and you can see for miles. The hotel is simply beautiful - lots of timber, stone, lovely, warm and welcoming decor and the most wonderful staff. The food was to die for - breakfast was amazing; dinner equally so, and not expensive. The grounds are beautiful too, and the whole place is well maintained. We went up the hill to the spa by electric car, and spent a lovely time swimming and just relaxing by the pool. One night was not enough. We'd go back to Sapa again, just to stay at the Victoria Sapa Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I and two friends have just spent three days in Sapa in late October. We travelled to Sapa by the overnight train in one of the Victoria Express sleepers. These carriages are specifically for those booked into the Victoria Sapa Resort.This turned what others have said could be a trial into a comfortable night's sleep in air-conditioning.

The Victoria Sapa resort itself was a joy. The rooms were ideal and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The resort was a great staging place for the day treks that were organised for us.

Room Tip: We had rooms overlooking the lake and these were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzbytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
Level Contributor
131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is a welcome site when you are in SAPA. Its close enough to the central square where many hill tribe people come to sell their wears and the local farmers market but yet far enough on the hill where its quite. The views from the hotel are great and the hotel itself is very well maintained and has a good restaurant. The spa at the top of the property which you are taken by golf cart is really nice with a good indoor swimming pool, nice views and good spa facilities. Across the street from the hotel there are some little shops where you can have laundry done same day for pretty cheap and a little foot massage place as well which you will need after all the walking you do in SAPA. Rooms were very well maintained.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floors have good views of the city. On the upper backside are views of the lake o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 67 in Sapa
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#6 of 67 in Sapa
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#10 of 67 in Sapa
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
U Sapa
U Sapa
#5 of 67 in Sapa
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Property: Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#5 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. In December 2015 the Luxury Victoria Coach will be launched from Hanoi to Laocai with 6 trips/week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing