We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great retreat”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

It was lovely to stay at this resort. It was just a little off the man road so it felt a bit more relaxed. The pool is inside and very relaxing. The steam and sauna rooms are all included in the price as well and beautifully maintained. We didn't use the spa treatments as they more much pricier than the street ones. However, if you want to indulge in a full massage or a peaceful treatment then use this facility rather than the street side shops.
The rooms are nice and again clean. We had a bottom level room facing the garden. This was perfect as there is construction in town and you don't want your balcony facing out to it if you want a peaceful break. Lots of goodies in the room like toothbrush, water etc.
Breakfast was plentiful and much to choose from. There is no soy milk in the hotel so you need to buy your own from the street shops. Soy milk does not seem to be well known in hotels in Vietnam.
You can hire a motor bike from the hotel, but you may find cheaper options in the street. All come with helmets. ABout $4.00 is a reasonable price for a day.
Staff are lovely and we would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a two birth sleeper on the Victoria Express if you want comfort and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenandMatt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear HelenandMatt12,

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive review.
We really appreciate your comment on the Resort employees.
All we do is guest service oriented. Our Spa provides some treatments performed by qualified therapists in a clean and peaceful atmosphere. The large varieties of treatments offer you the choice and are made to fit your expectation.
We will be happy to welcome you again in the Alps of the Tonkin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    485
    156
    37
    9
See reviews for
229
597
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Visited Sapa in November 2011, and stayed at the Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa. Although Sapa is up country Vietnam, and the town is popular with trekkers, this hotel was fantastic, we couldn't have been happier.

We were only there for 3 days as part of a tour but we could have willingly stayed much longer.

The staff, rooms, FOOD, were just great. Highly recommended.

If you travel there from Hanoi you can book the Victoria carriage on the overnight train. This is only for hotel visitors and was the best carriage on the train.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks out over the town, the hotel is on a high points so the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim-from-Brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear Tim-from-Brum,

This is a pleasure to read your review, and we will share it with the Resort’s employees.
Sapa is a destination for different tourists; trekking, meeting the local minorities, photography of amazing sightseeing…
Our train, the Victoria Express Train, offers a high level of service in quality carriages. One way on two, our train is running with the dining carriage which allows you to create good memories through an exceptional experience.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you again in picturesque Sapa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel was good but unfortunately we expected a little more. The hotel had been recommended and that in itself heightens ones expectations so our judgement may be seen as a little harsh.
Lacking, was a feeling of personal connection with any of the staff, and the Dining Room seemed to lack any sort of atmosphere and charm. The travel desk was disappointing on the first day and the tour quite expensive, the second day was a marked improvement meaning the service was variable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgandlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear rgandlg,

Thank you for writing a review.
We take in consideration your remarks and will work on those in order to go beyond your expectation as we do for all of our guests.
During this period, we are organizing some trainings to improve our services.
We proposed a large choice of dishes and drinks , and, during the winter we fire on the cheminée to have a chalet atmosphere.
Regarding the tours, we are working now on new packages. Do not hesitate to go on our website to discover them.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again to make your stay with us a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We went to Sapa for a couple of days for trekking and booked the train + hotel package via email. The process was good, as was the hotel and food (we just had breakfast - with clear European touch). The room was nice and cozy, as the hotel in general. We travelled in the 4 berth Victoria Express cabins which we found not to be worth the price (no restaurant wagon available as advertised, travelled with a couple who decided to dine some take away in the cabin so were left with the smell for quite sometime). We booked the first excursion when we got to the hotel the first morning, it was ok but a complete rip-off compared to similar alternatives elsewhere. The next day we booked another excursion diwntown for roughly 50% of what the hotel asked for for the same plan and had excellent transportation and guide. In conclusion, nice hotel, I would recommend it; if getting the train, upgrade to 2 berth cabin and double check restaurant wagon or go for cheaper alternatives; and book your excursions elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juanon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Juanon70,

Thanks for your valuable comment.
Our Train, the Victoria Express Train offers the best train ride from Hanoi to Sapa. We focus on the service quality as well as the comfort. A ride on two (price charged for the trip differs if there is the dinning carriage or not), our dinning carriage gives you the possibility to enjoy a menu or a cocktail made in our bar and restaurant.
The excursion book offers a large choice of activities. One of our best services is to adapt and organize the private tour around your expectation with special request “a la carte”. Also a home stay following Victoria standard can be arranged at your convenience.
We are happy about your positive feedback on the Hotel (Reservation, room, breakfast…), thank you.
We look forward to welcome you again in fascinating Sapa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The grounds were beautiful, the breakfast was nice, the spa was westernized but expensive for Vietnam-massage standards....the room was nice but nothing special (by Western standards). For a dirty washcloth, they charged us $2 to replace to which we were a bit caught off-guard...but no deal breaker.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryandKatie10810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear LarryandKatie10810,

Thank you for your review.
We appreciate that you found our grounds beautiful, our breakfast nice as well as our rooms.
In our Spa, we offer a large choice of treatments, from the manicure to the full package including body massage in private exclusive room, we provide a full relaxation experience performed by qualified therapists in a peaceful environment.
It will be with pleasure to welcome you again in the Alps of the Tonkin, at the Victoria Sapa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Vale, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We travelled to Sapa on the Victoria Express and stayed in the family suite at the hotel. The train was comfortable, although there is not much room with 4 people in a cabin. The trip to Lao Cai was noisy but we didn't mind the lack of sleep once the sun rose and the scenery outside captivated us. The bathroom was well maintained and clean, a broken toilet seat repaired quickly. In the morning we were greeted with a cup of tea and biscuits in our cabin. The trip back to Hanoi was quieter and we all slept well. Tea and coffee were served in the dining car but unfortunately we did not receive a wake up call and missed out on service.

The weather was very, very cold while we were in Sapa and the open fire at the hotel was very welcoming. We purchased breakfast on arrival and it was the best breakfast we have ever had in our travels. Outstanding. The family suite was very comfortable and spacious and also well heated. The bathroom was a little small for families with younger children but was fine for us. The grounds of the hotel were just beautiful. The kids of course were keen for a swim but it was disappointing to walk up the hill to the spa and find that the water temperature was too cold for swimming. The change rooms are fantastic though and we enjoyed the warm shower.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have been very happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyrrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Kyrrie,

Thank you very much for rating our property.
We really appreciate your good comments on the Victoria Express Train, the Family Studio Room, the Tavan Restaurant and our Spa.
Indeed, we always do our best to provide you the best experience and memories as possible through our facilities and services.
When the weather is not appropriate for trekking or visiting some markets, we can offer some alternatives, our restaurant and bar with relaxing atmosphere, for children there is a kids club, they can also feed rabbits in our garden…
We look forward to welcome you again in Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have just come back from Sapa Trip and stayed 1 night at Victoria Hotel. Fore sure it is the best resort in Sapa at the moment. Very attentive and helpful staff. The rooms isn't big but warm and well decorated, the breakfast is excellent!. I definitely will recommend anyone to stay there, especially family with small children as with warm swimming, kid clubs and even 2 rabbits nearby, kids will never get bored.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mercuryb12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear mercuryb12,

Thank you very much for your review. Victoria Sapa is happy to have your very good feedback on the Resort.
Indeed, our Resort is definitely one place to be for families. With our family rooms (1 queen bed and 3 single beds), the kids club, goats and rabbits, plus games offered to kids, families can enjoy their stay with serenity, in a clean, safe and comfortable environment.
It will be a great pleasure to welcome you another time to create new memories.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 68 in Sapa
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#10 of 68 in Sapa
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aira Boutique Sapa Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
U Sapa
U Sapa
#6 of 68 in Sapa
293 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#9 of 68 in Sapa
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Property: Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#7 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. In December 2015 the Luxury Victoria Coach will be launched from Hanoi to Laocai with 6 trips/week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing