We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of train and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Review of train and Hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

It appears that Victoria probably does the train better than the other operators, as we couldn't get the return with VE we can make a comparison with orient7, probably the next best.
We booked the deluxe cabin (for two) which was as good as we could get, the service was fine and prompt.
A porter from VE was at the entrance to the station and met us at our car and took our luggage directly to our cabin on the carriage, it is no hassle to do it yourself but it made things a bit easier.
Upon boarding the train a host greeted us and showed us through the cabin, while not overly large it was clean, comfortable and cosy, off memory food and drinks are not readily available so probably best to take your own supplies.....on the trip with orient7 the only drinks available were from the sellers that walked through the carriage prior to departure..beers etc for a couple of bucks.
The toilets in the VE were clean, a rare treat on overnight trains!
The only downside was that the carriage (Victoria Express has one carriage on a train of about 14 carriages...all owned by different operators) and it is at the front of the train and is noisy and appear to rattle and vibrate much more than in the middle or back of the train, I can usually sleep anywhere but this was a tough nights sleep...the orient7 carriage was a much nicer sleep.
After about an hour climbing the mountain in you bus/car you will arrive at Sapa....so here is the hotel review.
The resort is compact and nice, it is perched above the town and has views from the dining area. It is not glitzy but you don't visit Sapa for glamour, the resort is excellent considering the local environment, its a short stroll down the hill to the town, coming back up could be a problem for the aged or people with walking restictions.
We were there in March and did have a cold misty day and the open fire in the foyer was a welcoming feature after a day of walking.
Breakfast was fine...just the usual stuff.
One funny little thing though after we had checked out....as soon as you check out most asian hotels send a runner to make sure your aren't souveniring the LCD screen, as we were waiting for our car they called us back to make us pay for the slippers....the funny thing is that once someone has worn them they shouldn't be re-used, well it appears not so in this case, rather than go through the whole payment thing we simply gave them back at which they returned them to the room for the next unsuspecting visitor??
All in all a nice experience with the train and hotel, would recommend to potential visitors.
If you are considering the train and cant get a twin cabin, for a relatively small outlay it is worth buying all 4 tickets in a 4 berth cabin as sharing a cabin with strangers, for a 7 hour train trip could be challenging...especially if you got someone like me...although my snoring might drain out the noise of the train!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0yfr0m0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear b0yfr0m0z,

Thank you for your constructive comment, it is always appreciated!
Our Train, the Victoria Express Train offers the best train ride from Hanoi to Sapa. We focus on the service quality as well as the comfort. One way on two, our dinning carriage give you the possibility to enjoy a menu or a cocktail made in our full bar.
We are currently working with the authorities to have the authorization to drive our new golf kart to town to assist guests. Otherwise, the stairs are the fastest way, or by the road, a bit longer, but easy walk able.
Regarding the slippers, we are deeply sorry, but with the winter humidity, we prefer you to wear high quality slippers as you keep your feet warm. Our slippers are always deep cleaned and disinfected for hygienic purpose, our laundry department take care of it. There is also a special promotion from our laundry, we can wash a full laundry bag for a special price, and for a good level of service if you want we can clean your shoes for free after a day walking in the mountain, back in your room before you need them.
We wish that you enjoyed your journey in Vietnam and in the Alps of the Tonkin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    485
    156
    37
    9
See reviews for
229
597
44
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
folsom, california
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Despite the large numbers of visitors coming and going from Sapa, the hotel manages to handle the influx of visitors very well! The hotel is clean and comfortable. The dining room was excellent, with many fine selections and a peaceful atmosphere. After a day of trekking or going to one of the markets, it felt really good to come back to a clean and quiet place. My only small complaint is that the wifi was difficult to connect with in our room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear joanmar,

Thank you very much for your great comments; we appreciate that you took the time to write this review.
After a day of trekking or a visit in a market, maybe next time you can try our Spa, open until 10PM to offer you a large choice of treatment to relax your body and your mind. For the free wifi our IT manager is available to assist you at all times you need.
Great to hear that you had a fantastic stay and do hope to welcome you to Victoria Sapa Resort & Spa again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had considerable trouble getting our tickets for the hotel's train. They told us that there would be a representative at the station up to one hour before departure but we were there three hours early and no one showed up. We then called the hotline many times and had numerous troubles getting ahold of someone but finally 10 minutes before departure the representative showed up. I would strongly recommend getting the tickets delivered to your hotel in Hanoi before going to the station.

The train was VERY expensive (more than the hotel rooms) but it was comfortable. The shuttle was also expensive but we were the only passengers and left immediately from the station.

The hotel itself is in a beautiful location but the rooms were not the picture I saw online (double superior). It was much older and smaller. There was a lot of noise in the morning and the walls of our room were very thin. The internet was slow and the connection was frequently lost.

The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. We booked a tour through the hotel and it was moderately priced and private.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear Emily H,

Thank you for your constructive review.
Indeed, you can have the train tickets delivered at the Hotel you are staying in, otherwise, a Victoria board have to be in front of the station with someone almost at all times, we will check this very carefully because unfortunately we do not have yet a Victoria counter in the station.
When you take the Victoria Express Train, we want you to live a special experience providing a good service in great carriages, furthermore the security and hygiene on board are a priority, which explain the price. The transportation is chargeable regarding the provided services: clean and well maintained cars with ones of the best drivers to drive you safely and on time to your destination.
We do apologize for the outside noisy work, it is neighbor’s construction which is beyond our control and we are working with our internet supplier in order to make the signal stronger.
Rooms are described on our website with the size and all amenities available. We tried to put some representative pictures of the cozy and personalized atmosphere you feel inside.
Once again, thank you for your positive critics regarding our staff, the Hotel itself, the breakfast and the tours!
We look forward to welcome you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Class, comfortable and stylish. Quiet area but walking distance to most facilities. Friendly staff and nice grounds. Food delicious. Nice blend of Vietnamese culture and European style.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lefrogtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear lefrogtraveler,

Thank you very much for your valuable review.
It is with pleasure that we read your positive comments about our employees and infrastructures, whose are the core of our field.
And we also appreciate that you liked the blend of the Vietnamese culture and European style, indeed, guests enjoy this atmosphere.
If you plan to come back in Sapa let us organize for you another way to discover around, for example a night home stay in Muong Hum, in traditional house re-organize by Victoria for ensuring the authenticity and comfort.
We look forward to welcome you again in the Alps of the Tonkin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Hotel is set in a lovey setting. There are lots of trees and hills and lovely scenary. Well thats what I'm told by those that have actually seen it !
No seriously. The Hotel is lovely. It is very high, and so the weather is always an issue. Visiting Sapa is a bit of a lottery. If the weather is good, then you will see lots. If not, then it will be misty and you will barely see anything out of the window at all.
We were lucky. On the first day, it wa clear, and we saw lots. We were collected by our guide (Mo), and were driven to the hotel. Its quite a drive and you just keep going up and up an up. Just when you think there is nowhere left to go, you go up again. You may feel your ears popping, so have somehing to suck on.
The hotel is clean and welll laid out. Room are spacious and comfortable. We had two rooms, even though we are married (Don't ask - Sleep issues). Initially, the rooms were not next to each other, but the hotel were very good about moving both of us to 2 other rooms that were next to each other and with an interconnecting door.
The dining is very good, Breakfast is plentiful, but dinner if you are veggy is a bit limited. Thats the same everywhere in Vietnam though. There are always noodles an rice, but it gets a bit tiresome after a while.

Our guide met us the next morning and took us by minibus to her village. Its a gentle trek about 40 mins long. You will immediatly be set upon on by several girls who will be wearing the regional dress of the village. They will follow you and ask you questions. Some of them speak quite good English, and they are quite informative. They will not try and sell you anything at this stage. Our guide (I'm not sure if its only with this guide) took us to her home, where we met her family and she cooked us some lunch (noodles and rice). It was tasty, but be carful to have some tummy tabs. We were ok, but everyones different.
After lunch, the girls reappear and then the selling begins. Its not a hard sell, and it is not that expensive for us. But somehing however small. It goes a long way for them.. Bargin hard though.

You can trek some more if you want. Decide on how you feel. There is also a trip to a waterfall at Kat Kat village. Thats also very beautiful.
Their spa is lovely. It has steam and suana rooms. The pool is freezing. Make sure you tell them you are steaming. Its somethimes off.
On Balance - A little expensive but worth the trip. The train journey up is iteself an experience. (Make sure you book all 4 beds in the room, or you will be sharing it with someone else)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khayam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear bobjayLondon,

Thank you very much for your valuable review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and kept a memorable experience.
In Sapa, all seasons offer different views and experiences. There is always something to do and see. In our lobby, the travel desk can arrange tours you want depending on how you feel. If the weather is not so good in Sapa, we suggest you to visit Binh Lu, where the weather is generally warmer with more sun. Then, as you wrote, the tour guides understand your needs and adapt the excursion accordingly with pleasure.
Indeed, our foreigner executive Chef cook different dishes, and if you are veggie, you can tell us in advance or upon check-in, as kitchen can prepare for you a special menu.
It is good to know that you liked our Spa, which offers various choices of treatments, such as massages, body scrubs, beauty treatments or local medicine bath…
For your information, the Victoria Express Train offers Superior cabins as well as Deluxe cabins, composed of only 2 berths. Otherwise, we can also make a Superior cabin private for you for your convenience as you can have the best experience as possible.
We look forward to welcome you again in the Northern Vietnamese mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We decided to book a night at the Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa after researching a good deal of the hotels/resorts in the area and because it was the only hotel in the area with such a high rating.

First of all, I'd say it is more of a 3 star resort in terms of actual accommodation, although would give it a 4 star rating for the spa, restaurants and common areas. I am comparing it to some pretty exceptional hotels we've stayed with in the past.

We managed to secure the very last room available for the Easter weekend, a twin deluxe room.

The room was a little tired looking, the bathroom sink had a large crack in it, and has no air conditioning, although it was reasonably cool when we arrived so for the most part the ceiling fan was sufficient. You can hear the noise from traffic during the days and the walls are not entirely suitable for keeping out the noise but of a night, we didn't find there to be any problems. The beds are a little hard by Western standards but could possibly be overcome by requesting a soft mattress.

The only real negative we found was the fact we felt it quite overpriced.

I want to give an honest review so anyone reading truly understands what they're getting, hence highlighting some of the things I believe others might find off putting. We did really like this hotel though and after sighting a rat inside one restaurant and cockroaches crawling out of the menu in another in the area we were exceptionally thankful we'd booked somewhere clean.

In stating some of the negatives above however, the resort oozes character. It is very clean, the staff are incredibly friendly. The food is quite nice, not Michelin quality, but nice. Cocktails were divine!

I would have no hesitation using this resort again.

Tips:

- Make sure you request fresh milk in your coffee if you don't like the powdered milk/creamer taste.
- Red Dao House Restaurant and Bar around the corner on Thac Bac Road, was quite nice and much more reasonably priced.
- Next door to the hotel is the 'Sapa View' restaurant, very simple but clean food and very cheap.
- Pack your insect repellent. Mosquito's are prevalent in Sapa, although I did notice the resort spraying during our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from construction noise or the traffic if you believe you may be disturbed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear Katrina H,

Thank you very much for your constructive review and the time you spent writing it.

All the staff and managers are doing their best to provide a 4 star service to all the guests. We also make safety and hygiene our first priority. We invest in order to provide you what you deserve when you enter our Hotel.

The chalet design give a cozy and relaxing atmosphere. We have a renovation plan, including bathrooms, room windows, doors for temperature and sound isolation. In the rooms, the mattresses have been changed recently to fit with Western preferences, and upon request, we can provide with pleasure an extra duvet to make your bed softer.
The price is made based on the Hotel investment on human resources (good service as you mentioned), hygiene, safety and product development (divine cocktails, good selection of food, massage). Nevertheless, we also offer some packages that you will find in our website which can fit your desire and budget.
The other restaurant you mentioned are alright, but, to experience a special culinary moment, our restaurant is still the solution.
Responding to the other tip about mosquitoes, we perform a monthly pest control to reduce to the minimum the insect invasion.
Thank you so much for the nice picture and to recommend us. We will be also more than happy to host you again or your relatives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
194 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed here one night during Vietnam tour with group.
Arrived after a whole night drive with the Victoria train, which was good, were a little bit afraid for the toilet facilities in the train but they were okay, as was the sleep quality.
Hotel with international standards, room was nice, no air conditioning, not needed during the period we were there, but maybe in high summer time it's necessary.Bathroom was well equiped with good shower (in bath). Many amenities available. Staff was nice, especially during breakfast. Cooking island were you can have egg's as you please.
Location is perfect to visit Sapa and the surrounding area.
Prices of drinks are (again) not cheap, especially the wines, tip...buy a bottle i the shop right across the entrance of the hotel and enjoy in your room.
We had a nice time during our stay, encountering the many different ethnic people was amazing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear eMBieAntwerp,


Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback.
The management is happy that you enjoyed and liked your stay with us; the Victoria Express Train, the room and bathroom, and especially the service.
We consider the service and all amenities very important to make your stay as much comfortable as possible.
Indeed, the Hotel is not equipped with air conditioners, but in Sapa, in summer time, the temperature is not too high in the rooms, Sapa have the reputation to be a destination for escape the heat of Hanoi during summer.
For the breakfast, the island is made for you to enjoy your eggs as you like them, we also have a soup station where you can try our Vietnamese noodle soup, our kitchen crew will enjoy cooking it for a new culinary experience.
Our bar proposes a happy hour, from 5 to 6PM to enjoy a variety of original cocktails, including the Kumquat Margarita, one of the special of the bar. For the wine list, we include the excellent wine service and the good conditioning of the bottles in our cave. Furthermore, you can ask assistance for the food and wine pairing if you order our special cheese fondue or our H’Mong Chicken
We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 68 in Sapa
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Legend Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#10 of 68 in Sapa
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aira Boutique Sapa Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
U Sapa
U Sapa
#6 of 68 in Sapa
293 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#9 of 68 in Sapa
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Property: Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#7 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. In December 2015 the Luxury Victoria Coach will be launched from Hanoi to Laocai with 6 trips/week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing