We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victoria hotel good - train ride not the Orient Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We arranged for two nights in Sapa staying at the hotel and twon nights travelling on the Victoria train. It was meant to be a luxury part of our trip. We stayed in the hotel in late January and the fog never lifted so it was great to come back to a reasonable hotel. It is not 5 star but quite good although it only just meets the standard for adequately heated - the rooms have panel heaters and extra heaters can be requested. At $300 a night for a family room it can hardly be described as good value but We appreciated comming back to it in the afternoon. If you walk into town its is a steep climb up the hill

In relation to the train - who would have thought from the information provided that the so called luxury Victoria train would be no more than a few carriages tacked on to other carriages of other operators. We like the dining car.

The start and finish of the train trips can only be described as a shambles. When we booked directly with the hotel we were told the train was nearly full - it was half full. The train arrives at around 6.30am in La Cau. The lights were turned off and we had to pack and get off quickly in the dark. The end of the return journey was worse - the porters arranged for us to get into a dodgey taxi that riped us off badly - normally any Hanoi hotel arranges taxis with legitimate companies. It was a poor end and is a training matter for the company that should be addressed as these are not cheap train rides.

I'd suggest checking out one of the other operators

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Dear Peter Hobart,

Thank you for your valuable review. It is with serious that we consider your critics.

Our 4 stars property offer to the guests comfort, security, hygiene and service. Indeed, when you are back from a trekking day, the free access to the swimming pool, sauna and steam bath is for your convenience as you can relax. Our Spa team offer various treatments as you can make your stay comfortable, relaxing and memorable.

Regarding your train trip, our 2 sleeping carriages and our restaurant carriage offer, compared with other companies, security and hygiene first, but also comfort with a full service (What other carriages don't ). We are doing our best to make your journey a memorable experience. If you ask advice for taxi companies, you can be sure that if you ask to the train manager or supervisor, they will orient you to the appropriate company. We do not own a Taxi company, so when you finish your train ride, yes, we can orient you, but you need to know that there is no 100% reliable taxi company.

Thank you once again for your constructive critics.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

We arrived SAPA after a long day. The hotel is stunning. Right after walking into the lobby we was served Hot sidder drink. The employee are very nice and friendly. We had a family room that was beautiful. Very clean and the heating is excellent (December time). Breakfast is very good couldn't ask for more. They also have a small kids club but no supervision. And on morning that let goats and rabbits to run free on the lawn. We all loved this place. The SPA is a little faraway. You need to walk about 3-5 min up hill. And the pool was not heated due to some technical problem, so we couldn't enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahersko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

Dear Ahersko,

Thank you very much for your valuable review.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a good first impression at the reception.
To make your stay comfortable, we always make sure that the rooms are heated properly. The swimming pool is actually at a temperature of 24 degrees, and all guests can enjoy for free the sauna and steam bath room as well, in our Spa facility where our therapists provide outstanding treatments such as massages, beauty treatments.... To access this facility, we have a golf cart to drive you from the lobby to this area for your convenience.
I will also transfer your comment about the breakfast to our Executive Chef.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our of our Vietnamese properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Warm friendly great service good food ,close to "north face " heaven
Buy a north face backpack for 10 dollars!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dec3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2012

Dear dec3096,

In two lines, you summarize your experience with us.Thank you for your review.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We mostly enjoyed our stay at the Victoria Sapa. The hotel was nice, although a bit rustic, tours arranged by the hotel were well done, and the food was good. Our main complaint was about the Victoria Express train. Since the train was fairly empty, on the way to Sapa, we enjoyed our 4 person sleeper cabin although we'd only paid for 2 beds. The return trip however was extremely frustrating.

The train was fairly empty, and once again, my wife and I had a 4-person cabin to ourselves. Then train manager came around and asked if we wanted to upgrade to a deluxe cabin for USD 160 more--mind you a deluxe cabin is just 2 people per cabin versus 4. Given that the train was only about 25% full, we declined. The manager came back a second time, and offered the upgrade for a special price of USD 100 more. At this point, it was 10 minutes after the departure time, but the manager insisted that more guests were arriving and he needed our cabin. When we once again declined, the manager took 2 other guests out of their cabin, moved them to our cabin, and left at least 1 empty cabin.

We only paid for 2 tickets, and had the train been full, I would have had no objection to sharing with other guests. In this case, we got the impression that the manager was just trying to shake us down for some extra money, and the idea of piling the 10 guests into as few cabins as possible on an empty train seems contrary to good customer service. Moreover, we did not appreciate the train manager lying to us about more guests arriving, in order to get an extra 160 USD out of us.

Absent the experience on the return train, this would have been a 4 star review.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank kb121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Dear kb121212,

First of all, thank you very much for your feedback and constructive review.

It is with regret that I learn that you had a negative experience in our Train. The General Manager, the Train Manager and myself are deeply sorry for you. This night, our Train was under the supervision of our Supervisor, new in the Company and followed strictly the procedure which is: to upgrade to Deluxe Cabin, the price difference will be applied, and to upgrade to a Private Superior Cabin, it is chargeable as well.
He should has been flexible as it is our duty, and our service. Please make sure that we consider your comment very seriously.

Then, it is a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay with us in our property, our cosy rooms and our restaurant, in which our Chef prepares some Vietnamese dishes as well as Western Cuisine. I will transmit your comment to our Chef.

Thank you once again for your review and hope that you will keep a good memory of your stay in Sapa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Beautiful location even though it was in the mist for 2 days in January. Excellent food ,comfortable rooms.
Arrived by train from Lao Chi at 6.15 am and you cannot check into hotel until 2.oopm. Not very flexible as hotel was not full at the time. Only drawback.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Dear livia c,

Thank you very much for your valuable review, and we are happy that you enjoy our Resort, restaurant and room.
We do apologize for the time of check-in in your room, but check-in time is by 2PM. Before that time, it is possible to refresh or relax in our free of charge SPA facility for your convenience.
Indeed the Hotel was not full, but in this period of the year, we have to block some buildings due to the high consumption of energy for empty rooms. Otherwise, it is possible to pre-book for early check-in as you arrive early morning in the Resort.

Once again thank you very much and I take seriously your remarks.

Best regard.

Chúc Mừng Năm Mới (Happy New Year)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We only stayed one night in combination with the Victoria carriage ride both ways. The hotel was a lovely retreat from the cool, drizzly weather which we had on both days in Sapa. I thought it was a lovely hotel and enjoyed it very much.

On the night we stayed there and just before leaving for the train back, we took advantage of their happy hour from 5pm to 6pm for half-price cocktails, and had a couple of snacks instead of a meal in the restaurant. It was very pleasant sitting on the couches near the log fires, and preferable to going down into town in the rain looking for somewhere to eat.

The train ride was interesting...if the Victoria is one of the best carriages, I'd hate to go on one of the others. The shaking and rocking made it very hard to sleep. The air-conditioning just seemed to be vents in the ceiling, and on the way back there was a distinct smell of deisel fumes coming into our cabin from them. I think the Victoria carriage is at the back going up to Sapa but near the engine going down to Hanoi.

We had very few people in our carriage going up to Sapa, but on the way back it was quite full. This was a problem as there was a big queue for the toilets in the morning, with one woman spending about 20 minutes in there! There should be someone making sure people spend no more than 5 minutes as otherwise it's impossible. The train was an interesting experience but I wouldn't want to do it again.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank OceanSkyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear OceanSkyBeach,

Thank you for your valuable review!
Yes, the train is shaky and a bit noisy, but it is still the best solution if you want to travel in better condition than the other trains. For the service (Supervisors, housekeeping, security, porters) and the restaurant carriage.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our snack menu in our bar area near to the fire place!

We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Only had a massage and had a wonderful and relaxing time. Great in winter after a long trek through the rice fields.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiaegiosb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fomvictoriasapa, Front Office Manager at Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Dear chiambro,

Thanks a lot for your review regarding our Spa.
Yes, we try to provide the best experience possible to every one coming in our Spa for a relaxing moment, in house guests, as well as outside guests.
Indeed, after a long walk in the mountains, it is always nice to enjoy massages, or sauna... to relax your muscles as well as the mind.
We have a large choice of treatments, and the Sauna, Steam bath as well as the swimming pool are free of charge for in house guests, and chargeable for outside guests at a reasonable price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Aira Boutique Sapa Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#9 of 75 in Sapa
784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sapa Freesia Hotel
Sapa Freesia Hotel
#3 of 75 in Sapa
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 75 in Sapa
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.2 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#37 of 75 in Sapa
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa

Address: Xuan Vien Street, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sapa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#8 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Price Range: $129 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa is unique 4 star with international standard, is located in one of the most beautiful and unspoiled locations of Northern Vietnam, (1,600 m), 380 km Northwest of Hanoi, among the highest peak Fan Si Pan (3,143 m), 38 km from Chinese border and 34 km from Lao Cai railway station. The Victoria Sapa Hotel is reachable by Victoria Express Train, which departs 6 times a week from Hanoi to Lao Cai and Laocai to Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Sapa Hotel Sapa
Victoria Hotel Sapa
Sapa Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing