We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cause”
Review of Sapa O'Chau Cafe

Sapa O'Chau Cafe
Ranked #17 of 140 Restaurants in Sapa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The global award winning ethnic minority run social enterprise, promoting responsible tourism & community development. Sapa O'Chau helps you to "Come to Sapa and leave more than just footprints..." This cafe started as a place for our trekking guides to gather. Now it serves our guests before and after their treks with us. Profit goes to supporting 35 ethnic minority residential students who attend highschool in Sapa Town. This saves them travelling at least 15km to town from the village.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good cause”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We enjoyed coffee and a snack at this restaurant .The money goes back into educating Hmong children and it is a worthy cause

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaochau, General Manager at Sapa O'Chau Cafe, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Erica M, Thank you very much for supporting our worthy cause. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit. As a social enterprise it is through selling our coffees and snacks (as well as our trekking tours) that we are able to run our school for ethnic minority children and develop our support for the community. Best regards, Peter Gilbert, Associate Director, The Sapa O'Chau Project
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    38
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Good choice of food and drink if you want a snack and my first Yorkshire tea in a year! Very friendly people to serve you

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaochau, General Manager at Sapa O'Chau Cafe, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Sarah W, Thank you so much for posting this review of our great breakfasts! We are doing our best to provide a friendly cafe where our guests can get ready for or recover from their treks. That's why we specialise in all day breakfasts, thick-cut chips & snacks.
And in true Yorkshire spirit, "See all, 'ear all, say nowt. Eat all, sup all, pay nowt," and in honour of our winning the 2014 Certificate of Excellence we are giving away free Yorkshire Tea all through June 2014. Just ask for me when you order.
Best regards, Peter Gilbert, Associate Director, The Sapa O'Chau Project
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Fish & Chips”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Located in a quiet part of town we thoroughly enjoyed our fish and chips. Friendly staff, it's certainly worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fredbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaochau, General Manager at Sapa O'Chau Cafe, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Fredbris, Thank you for reviewing our great Fish & Chips! It's people like you that are helping other travelers to find our hidden away cafe. Our local Hmong staff team are some of the most cheerfully genuine people you will find and they do their best to make a visit to Sapa a memorable one. Best regards, Peter Gilbert, Associate Director, The Sapa O'Chau Project
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast In Town”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This friendly place serves up a pretty good English Breakfast and also Yorkshire Tea. I wish I had discovered it earlier in my stay.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 394MichaelB394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaochau, General Manager at Sapa O'Chau Cafe, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear 394MichaelB394, Thanks for taking the time for a real cup of Yorkshire Tea. It was a pleasure to have you with us over a few days and to share a few brews and morning fry-ups. Good luck with your travels. Best regards, Peter Gilbert, Associate Director, The Sapa O'Chau Project
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Relaxing and yummy ...”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I came in because of the reviews - we were not disappointed!

We had trout and chips and the servings were generous (I couldn't eat it all), the staff were great (friendly and warm) and it was located in a more quiet part of town which was fantastic to kick back and relax.

They serve the most amazing hot chocolate, I had drink envy. The fish and chips were delicious with every condiment under the sun.

If you need a break from the hustle and bustle of town life, have a seat on the balcony and watch the kids say hi as they walk past.

I loved the fact that the kids decorated the menu ...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ingridwoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaochau, General Manager at Sapa O'Chau Cafe, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Ingridwoffy, Thank you so much for sharing your relaxing experience. As you point out, our location is in a more peaceful part of town away from the main Sapa drag - Reviews like yours are helping us to be found! I'm glad that you enjoyed the Fish & Chips. We use the locally farmed Rainbow Trout for our fillets and the locally brewed Lao Cai beer for our batter. Thanks for loving our student decorated menus. Our cafe is much more than just a business and our students are at the heart of it. Best regards, Peter Gilbert, Associate Director, The Sapa O'Chau Project
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapa O'Chau Cafe also viewed

 
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 

Been to Sapa O'Chau Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing