We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's pretty good”
Review of Sapa O'Chau Cafe

Sapa O'Chau Cafe
Ranked #16 of 136 Restaurants in Sapa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The global award winning ethnic minority run social enterprise, promoting responsible tourism & community development. Sapa O'Chau helps you to "Come to Sapa and leave more than just footprints..." This cafe started as a place for our trekking guides to gather. Now it serves our guests before and after their treks with us. Profit goes to supporting 35 ethnic minority residential students who attend highschool in Sapa Town. This saves them travelling at least 15km to town from the village.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“It's pretty good”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had great time being at Sapa O'Chau Cafe. Its service is good with friendly staff. The coffee is very traditional in Vietnam and pretty good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThuanSoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaochau, Public Relations Manager at Sapa O'Chau Cafe, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear ThuanSoldier,
Thanks so much for dropping in to our cafe during your recent Sapa visit.
It's great to know our traditional Vietnamese coffee is pretty good! Next time I hope you can also try our DELICIOUS hot chocolate or TASTY o'chau tea.
We also have a new menu of classic cafe food!
Best regards, the Sapa O'Chau team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    38
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money?”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We've just come back from Sapa O Chaus 'Grand Vistas' tour and are unfortunately rather disappointed. For $22 dollars each we paid for a half days tour to the Silver Waterfall, Tram Ton Pass and the Love Waterfall & Golden Stream with private transport and a guide. We felt this was fairly expensive but it was exactly what we wanted to see and we'd read good reviews. The actual waterfalls were beautiful, however Tram Ton Pass was completely missed out and the whole trip was less than 2.5 hours. The saving grace to this experience was our guide Su, who despite only being 17 had very good English and knowledge. Had we not read of the good causes that this company supports we'd probably feel slightly more aggrieved. For a cheaper alternative, our
advice would be to hire a cheap bike or taxi ride to and from these attractions (unless you fancy walking the 30km round trip?), pay the very inexpensive entrance fees and walk between them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BenJohnEvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaochau, General Manager at Sapa O'Chau Cafe, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear BenJohnEvers,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your Sapa O'Chau experience.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your guide's company and that he helped you to have a good experience. Su has been trained by Sapa O'Chau and we are happy to see that he is putting it to good use. I will remind him not to miss off Tram Ton Pass next time, and apologies for the mistake.

We agree with you that a cheaper alternative to our Grand Vistas private car tour is to rent a motorbike. We are happy to help guests visit these sites by motorbike and can provide maps and advice.

Best regards,

Shu Tan and the Sapa O'Chau team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great juices to support an important cause”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had great fresh juices here twice on a recent stay in Sa Pa. Fast service and delicious drinks. Just as important though, your money is going to a very worthwhile cause in supporting young ethnic minority youth to gain training and experience. Check out the Sapa O'Chau websites- one regarding their social enterprise: http://www.sapaochau.org/
and one regarding their trekking (see the other Trip Advisor entries for that too):
http://www.sapaochau.org/trekking
What a great way to spend some time chilling and helping an important cause!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiMontreal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaochau, General Manager at Sapa O'Chau Cafe, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear KiwiMontreal1, Thank you so much for spreading the word about Sapa O'Chau! We would love to share with you that we have now launched a new menu and would love you to try it next time you are in Sapa. Lots of love from the Sapa O'Chau team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Basically I have just ordered a cup of coffee here.
The coffee was great, the price was a lil bit expensive.
The staffs were friendly, the environment was just okay.
The reason I was here is to join their fantastic trekking!!!
Do read my review in "Sapa O'Chau Trekking"....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TJoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaochau, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa O'Chau Cafe, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear TJoo,

Thanks for sharing your experience in our cafe, and moreover, thanks for taking the time to write 2 reviews! We are so happy to now be listed in the Things to Do section of TripAdvisor and now our guests can review their experience with us more appropriately.

1) Sapa O'Chau Trekking & 2) Sapa O'Chau Cafe

We are glad that you enjoyed your coffee after your trek.

Best regards,

Peter Gilbert and the Sapa O'Chau team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“H'mong homestay trek”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Did a 2D1N H'mong homestay trek with Sapa O'Chau, Was supposed to go solo but at the last minute was paired with another solo traveller and got a discount off the trekking rate. My guide's San( or Sang?) a young chap of around 21 years old and he was very helpful in explaining to us about the local people, their customs and way of life. Had a really good lunch (over 2 days) that was prepared by him. was carrying both my camera bag and daypack and he also offered to help me with my daypack.

Dinner at the homestay was a very good experience where I met another couple from France and there was a huge spread of dishes as well as many many shots of Sapa's 'happy water' =D personally I prefer the rice version as compared to the one made from corn.

on an ending note, previous reviews did somewhat mention that Sapa O'chau is not a real cafe bla bla bla but i'll beg to differ. After coming back from my trek and waiting for the transport to Lao Cai train station, I ordered an ice coffee and a Ham+Cheese+Egg+Tomatoes baguette and they were delicious! there were also other items on the menu that caught my eye but unfortunately I only have one stomach =(

I'll love to visit again soon, thanks Sapa O'chau for a wonderful trekking and homestay experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapaochau, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa O'Chau Cafe, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear FC L,

Thank you so much for sharing your H'mong Homestay experience!

It sounds like you had a great time and I am so happy to share this positive review with your guide, Mr. Thao A Sang (Sang).

When we have groups that are happy to join up then we are always happy to pass on the savings to our guests, but we will never join groups together that would prefer privacy.

Thank you for sharing your experience of the cafe and I'm very glad that you enjoyed your food and drinks. Hopefully you will be back with us to try more one day soon!

Best regards,

Peter Gilbert and the Sapa O'Chau team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapa O'Chau Cafe also viewed

 
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 

Been to Sapa O'Chau Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing