We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunny Mountain Hotel
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel was the lesser of our 3 week stay in Vietnam, but I still think value for money. The rooms are spacious, but not very clean. If you take a shower, half of the bathroom floor is wet. We had two rooms of which one with mountain view. On a clear day the view must be spectacular ! There is an inside pool, but not properly maintained. The hotel is located in the centre of Sapa, which makes it easy to go out for a walk into town with plenty of good restaurants. The breakfast buffet is simple but OK. This hotel has the potential to be one of the best in Sapa.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are more quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPEGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Vietnam H, Manager at Sunny Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Cheer Erwin_Geerts

Thanks a lot for high review to Sunnymountain hotel

Out hotel would like to get any informed about the room service as cleaning every day at reception

Sapa Sunnymountain hotel Making your owner Traveling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Sunny Mountain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 433 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is well located with a nice view if you have the chance to get sunny weather. The rooms are quite big and clean. The hotel is quiet, and located in the center of Sapa with access to shops, restaurants very close.
However :
- you really don't want to put one foot in the swimming pool (quite small by the way..)
- the service is really not good, staff does understand very little of English, and is not really helpful if and when needed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeriegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Vietnam H, Director of Sales at Sunny Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hi Valeriegen

Hope are you well after trip in North Vietnam thanks to see your review to hotel

For the pool as we spoke to you the Pool is set up in House with 40 meter by this way hotel can keep heated In pool Area

For communicate Our Staff need to more training so is need many help from the guest
but all our Staff in hotel friendly

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

When we checked in we found the room to be modern, big and very clean. Then when we used to bathroom, we found the drains blocked and the basin not having a down pipe causing the bathroom to flood every time we showered or brushed our teeth, and after a few hours created an unpleasant smell. It was at sometimes difficult to communicate with staff. And watch for the hallways to be cluttered with loud patrons

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Packhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Vietnam H, Public Relations Manager at Sunny Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hi Packhorses

Thanks for your informed to hotel we will checking this smell after we sent this message to you

Hope you enjoyed so much our Tour in Sapa

We looking forward to your new

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a nice time in Sapa, but in terms of accommodation, I can only say it was an average hotel. Construction on all 4 sides of the hotel meant that if you wanted peace and quiet, you would have to get out of the main street. Shower was dangerously erratic, meaning you could scald yourself anytime. Bed was comfy and room was clean and nice. Staff were annoyingly non-existent. It seemed as if they were afraid of talking with foreign tourists, probably because of the language barrier. Pool was dirty and cold - not nice - what's the point? Breakfast buffet was decent although the omelette chef didn't really take pride in his work - my omelette was raw in the middle and included eggs only. Sausage was stinky. Overall, I would probably stay here again, only because I know that other hotels are quite run down, and the cost is fairly good value. I've been living in hanoi for 12 years and am always surprised how noisy main street in Sapa is - get out of town as soon as you can and explore the beautiful surrounding countryside! One more thing, things in the room (door lock, toilet paper holder) seemed to fall apart - I think the maintenance man must be on holiday. And if you go, expect to wake up every morning at 4:15 AM to the sound of hammers and chickens. Why do they keep roosters on site? Pets?

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dudeofhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Vietnam H, Owner at Sunny Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hello Du

Thanks for commended to Sunnymountain hotel Sorry for communicate from reception and also from other staff in hotel Sunnymountain hotel was build in 2011 with big help from Minority as H`mong . Red Dao ........ in sapa so in the moment in hotel having 60 staff hotel would like to making a job and making their good experience we believe with hotel training
we sending to traveler best time in hotel

Again we so sorry for the noise from our neighbor is ready finish now


Again many thank for your commending our service and help to promote our experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was a little worried about this hotel as trip advisor reviews have been very mixed from 1 to 5 dots. But having stayed there I would definitely recommend this hotel. It's by no means 5 star (who would expect 5 stars for $40 per night?), but it's clean and comfortable. The rooms are huge with gorgeous mountain views. The rooms are cleaned daily. The bathrooms are fine, the only problem being the hot water system seems to go from boiling to freezing in some rooms. Breakfast was ok; there were eggs and pancakes, fruit and toast and some asian choices. A bit of cereal would have been nice. The view from the restaurant was lovely. We found the staff very pleasant.

Room Tip: If you arrive on early train, be prepared to wait for you room to be ready. On departure, we kept on...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Vietnam H, Manager at Sunny Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Oh Claire

many thanks for enjoyed our offer cost room and happy with our service

Our tour guide would sent you many thanks for sent here a gift

see you some days in Sapa with other trekking route

thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overall, we had a pleasant time at the sunny mountain hotel. The hotel offers a lovely view of the hills of Sapa from the skybar and the rooms towards the back of the hotel. We had one group member sick and we were not leaving Sapa until 5pm -they extended our roomstay until 3pm which was kind. The food at the hotel was lovely and the resturant manager (the male) was great. The rooms were clean and spacious. The wifi around the hotel was free and of decent quality.
The only negatives were the pool whichwas only half full and freezing and the tv reception was poor.

Overall, a good hotel with good staff,views,food and comfortable beds

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No1mastertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Vietnam H, Manager at Sunny Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Hi Ballat

is wounderful to hear your nice time at Sunnymountain hotel and happy with our service
and for pool are is time to work star from 1 Pm until 7 pm
and Also with Sapa weather is all the time is cold than other are in Vietnam this reason making for our pool the heated pool is slow warm up
our pool maximum temperature in pool 25 degree

Again many thanks for you took our service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were quite disappointed by this hotel. Our room was a good size but not as clean as we would have liked, and the towels and bedding all felt damp. The reception staff were uninspiring. No one went the extra mile. As for the amenities - there was no fitness centre although one was listed, and the swimming pool - which was indoors - was only half full. It reminded me a bit if that Monty Python sketch about there being no water in the pool, no water in the bath and only a bloomin' lizard in the bidet! Breakfast was fine, and the view from the restaurant breathtaking, but I wouldn't hurry back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank jetol123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#11 of 73 in Sapa
652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sapa Freesia Hotel
Sapa Freesia Hotel
#3 of 73 in Sapa
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#32 of 73 in Sapa
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapa View Hotel
Sapa View Hotel
#58 of 73 in Sapa
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Lodge
Sapa Lodge
#23 of 73 in Sapa
564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
#31 of 73 in Sapa
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Mountain Hotel

Address: Muong Hoa Street 010, Sapa 0203, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range: $28 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunny Mountain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will really enjoy to stay with us in the best accommodation in sapa town with mountain overview to Sapa Valley and the mont Fansipan and enjoy our tours services packages ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunny Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing