We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and quiet B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sapa Garden Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sapa Garden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 114 Sapa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Schoonhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and quiet B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights. The owner arrenged train tickets, private trekking tours and local transport. His parents run th B&B. His mother will cook a Vietnamese dinner on request, which i wil recommned to all of you. Our stay was here was a very realaxing start of our 3 weeks holiday in Vietnam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    32
    17
    0
    3
See reviews for
48
117
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This bed and breakfast was just beautiful, run by the parents of Mr Pham Nam Hong. His parents didn't speak English but it didn't matter! Their service and welcoming attitude was amazing and made our experience in Sapa magical. Mr Nam Hong went out of his way to ensure that we were made welcome and organised a superb tour guide for us Ban, who took us to a number of places and had infinite patience answering many of our questions. Sapa is an incredible place after the heat and bustle of other Vietnam cities. The gardens at this house were magical and you felt like you had stepped into another world. Mr Nam Hong made sure we had everything we could need and I will be going back there for a longer stay. Just so peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bronwynV73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Nam and his family are the best, and their B&B is just perfect for a stay in Sapa.
The meals served up by Nam's mum are delicious; the room we stayed in was vast, clean and totally comfortable. The gardens are a absolute delight to wander through. Nam's organisation of our holiday from train travel to local tours is superb. Can't rate this place highly enough...
Jon Wisniewski (October 2012)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice B&B in Sapa . Gorgeous grounds in quiet location. The older couple who run the place don't speak English, but, they treat everyone as special guests in their home. Good cooking, too. Their son, Nam, speaks English and can coordinate tours, tacit, restaurant, reservations, etc. It's a long walk outside of town. For those who may prefer to .br right in town where it's busy, check outbthe Thai Binh hotel, also owned by the same family. Best bet is to contact them and talk to Ram directly and tell him what you're interested in. He'll set it up for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the down stairs room by the kitchen. There you will be on an early to bed early to ris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Art-n-Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The bed and breakfast was beautiful, just on the outside of the sapa town centre however it was no distance via car and Mr Nam Hong kindly drove us in of a night and a taxi was about $4. Mr Nam Hong and his parents went out of their way to ensure everything was perfect for us. The rooms were impeccable and so lovely. Breakfast was also more than amazing! Would recommend this beautiful place to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathleenVigors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Sapa Garden B & B for 4 nights mid-September and cannot recommend it enough.
Nam was wonderful in helping us with all of our plans prior to arriving in Sapa including arranging the overnight train tickets and the pickup in a minibus from Lao Cai, it really took away a lot of the stress from us. Nam runs a hotel in Sapa as well and really understands what travellers require. The trips he arranged for us were excellent, Mi our Hmong guide was just wonderful and the treks were really interesting. It rained quite a lot whilst we were there and Mi was great in finding us easy paths to cross (especially as my other half is not that fit!). We did a day trek to 3 villages and Mi provided us with lots of information on daily life and was just a pleasure to walk with. We also visited two waterfalls the following day which were great as well.
The B & B is really homely and Nam's parents were very welcoming to us. Despite having limited English and me having no Vietnamese we did not find this a problem at all and Nam is only a phone call away. Nam's Mother is an excellent cook and I would highly recommend having dinner at the B&B one evening (in fact we wished we had done this on other nights as well). The breakfasts are delicious and just what you need before a days trekking. We stayed in the Garden room and it was nice and spacious, we really appreciated the little touches like the dressing gowns and the humidifier being put on whilst we were out trekking to make the room nice on our return.
The B & B is a little out of town but Nam arranges to take you in in the evening around 6pm and drop you back at 9pm, you can also walk in as we did not think it was that far.
After the frenetic pace of Hanoi we really appreciated staying at this lovely homely B & B and will definitely stay again next time we visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RBuk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Arriving in Sapa after the 9hrs train ride (we did not sleep much and was almost suffocated by non-stop smoking), dragging the bags all by ourselves (the train station staff just stare with no offer to help) and another 40-50 minutes drive (driver looks displeased when he saw our 5 bags) from Lao Cai, checking into Sapa Garden Bed & Breakfast is such a relieve. Mr Pham (Mr Nam Hong’s father) came and helped us with the bags.

Despite insufficient sleep, we went trekking nearby, from Ma Tra to Ta Phin (8km - 9.30am to 3pm) after a wholesome breakfast of omelette (onion, mushroom & tomato), fresh & warm baguette (with butter, jam & cheese) and awesome Vietnamese coffee prepared by Mrs Pham (Mr Nam Hong’s mother) which boosted our energy. We were greeted by Bam (not sure how to spell your name), a Black Hmong who accompanied us through her village. I am very impressed with her fluent conversational English which she learnt during her 4 years as a guide. Being a guide provides additional income to her family other than harvesting crops for own consumption (eg. rice, corn etc) however, Bam said she is the only one from her village of 1000 who is able to work as a guide. After the trek, we were treated to a delicious lunch of fried rice noodles by Mrs Pham back at the B & B. Dinner (we ate 3 times – our favourite being spring rolls & tomato soup) featured home cooked food (we love the food so much till the plates look “clean” after every meal) which my partner and I have been craving for since our Taiwanese homestay last year. There are several choices available for breakfast as well so no worries.

Bam accompanied us on another 2 treks, Y Linh Ho, Lao Chai & Ta Van (10km – 9.30am to 3.00pm) & Golden Stream Waterfall, Silver Waterfall, Sin Chai & Cat Cat (12km – 8.30am to 4pm) and a tour to Bac Ha Market (7.30am to 3.30pm). She is absolutely wonderful and a delight to be with during the treks, a rare gem. Thank you for your understanding to let us slow down way behind you (we were busy taking pictures) and thank you so much for helping me (many times) tackle steep, muddy and slippery slopes. You are petite but very strong!!! Our last trek, Nam Toong & Ban Ho (12km – 9.30am to 4pm) was very tough as it was raining and extremely muddy. We did not get Bam but another guide (a Red Dzao and very petite as well), she is just as fabulous as Bam. At one point of time, she was practically dragging me up this steep (75 degrees) muddy slope for 30 minutes. Initially, I was terrified of slipping and falling all the way down but she gave me a lot of confidence by steadying herself and held on to my hand very tightly whenever I slipped. Mrs Pham, thank you for the sandwiches and fruit you prepared for us to eat during the trek. A word of caution to all trekkers: if you do not wish to buy stuff from the ethnic minority ladies, kindly say no from the beginning because if you allow them to follow you during your trek (they will follow you for hours), you might feel bad and would be obliged to buy from them later.

Mr Nam Hong brought us to town one evening and recommended that we eat at Nature Bar & Grill. Food is good and we went back for lunch on another occasion. We also dined at Sapa Rooms Boutique Hotel’s Restaurant & at Aroma’s (Italian). Food was average. Lunch at Natureview Restaurant (Set lunch – US$4) & afternoon tea at The Village Noshery were good.

We decide to move to Thai Binh (in town) for 1 night so that we could do some shopping but personally, I prefer the room at Sapa Garden B & B (much more cosy and homely) and would rather spend the additional cost to take taxi to town (VND$60,000 to VND$100,000 per way). Opposite Thai Binh’s main entrance is Ham Rong Mountain’s ticketing counter. Cost is VND$70,000 per person. In my opinion, Ham Rong Mountain is too touristy and nothing much to see. My partner and I bought several Gore-Tex jackets with fleece, pants, shoes & socks (eg. North Face, Jack Wolfskin, Lafuma etc) because in comparison to Singapore, it’s much more affordable in Sapa. We did consider the fact that these stuff might not be real but at such prices, it’s really a steal.

Mr Nam Hong, thank you very much for all the arrangements (eg. train ticket, rooms, transfer, treks etc) and special thanks to your parents for helping to sort out 58kg of winter clothes for distribution to the villages. We felt so happy during our chat that you have also done your part to help the villagers pull through the harsh winters. Communication with your parents (they are super friendly & full of smiles) is certainly not a problem and full of fun. We shared with them the photos we took with our camera and hand-phone and they were delighted. Mr Pham would practice his limited Mandarin whenever he can and all of us ended up laughing. One evening, I realized that I have a “Translate App” in my hand-phone which I use to tell Mrs Pham in Vietnamese: “Dinner is very delicious. Thank you”. We enjoyed the treks (mostly not touristy) arranged by you (despite aching & weak legs, phobia of slippery slopes plus slight flu & cough) and we most gladly accept the title you gave us: “First 2 Singaporeans who trek a lot in Sapa”. Not sure if 42km is a lot but we love it (especially the yellow paddy fields) although we were exhausted halfway and asked each other: what are we doing here??? We want to go home!!! No worries, these are my usual questions to my partner whenever I am tired during trek or climb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funtraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
2.8 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#6 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 65 in Sapa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#8 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#16 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.2 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#9 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Garden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Garden Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sapa Garden Bed and Breakfast
Address: 102 Dien Bien Phu Road | 2km from the center of Sapa Town, Sapa 0203, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sapa Garden Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sapa Garden. Location: 102 Dien Bien Phu Road, about 2 km away from the center of Sapa town. Near Matra village of Hmong people and easy walking to Ta Phin village of Red Dao people. Our newly redecoration villa over looking the native plant garden of and mountain view. The building consists of 3 bedrooms with double kingsize bed, 1 fully equipped kitchen, 1 cosy living room with open fire place, 1 quite reading room and a BBQ area in our lovely garden, gazebo and fish pond. Please consider this option to experience a local life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sapa Garden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapa Garden Hotel Sapa
Sapa Garden b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing