We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view but leaking gas from shower was dangerous and not fixed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luong Thuy Family Guesthouse
Ranked #43 of 135 Sapa B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice view but leaking gas from shower was dangerous and not fixed!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Booked in for two nights left after one, mainly due to the awful smell of gas coming from the shower, which stunk out the whole room, which they wouldn't fix, broken tv, and no fan, as its the summer season it was nearly 36 degrees yesterday and in the evening you can't open the window as so many bugs, a fan would help! Great views but any hotel on the right hand side of the street has the same, definitely better value available elsewhere. We paid $18 for double room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahhoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    26
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
6
47
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yiwu
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This guesthouse is a great place to stay, especially because it's just a few hundred meters out of the centre and that's why you have an amazing view over the beautiful valley! The service is good, friendly people, the breakfast is diverse and good! Rooms are good. But the view makes everything even better!! They can also organize a walking day tour, which is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudje85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

If we had clear mornings I think the view would have compensated for the shortcomings at this fairly basic guesthouse. On the plus side, unlike many others we had plenty of hot water and the breakfast was good. We arranged the station pick up and were offered breakfast when we arrived and could check in by 8.30am. We had a decent size room with a balcony, sadly it was not warm enough to sit out but even it had been there were only 2 uncomfortable little chairs out there. It was a little cool at night but we didn't ask for a heater although I did see some available. The decor was shabby, the bedding was worn and the communal area was not a comfortable place having just a few stools. Overall i wish we had paid a bit more and stayed somewhere a bit more upmarket.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie_goes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at that guesthouse for two nights.
The room was big, clean with balcony to the rice terraces. Breakfast is good.
But, there are two major cons: the shower - the stream of hot water was very low and there were hardly hot water.
Worth mentioning that in general, the bathroom itself is very old and in poor condition.
The second thing is that the room had no hitting and we were a bit cold even though they bring. You electric blanket.
But in the overall we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yael_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I just stayed here and think that it's a just average place . It's 18$ which is expensive . I saw places for 7-10$ with the same view . The rooms are nice and the balcony is a nice touch . The shower started off hot and then went to freezing . The reception aren't the nicest people . They asked me how a trek was and when I started talking they would cut me off . The coffee in the morning is in a small cup and is microwaved . it's in a quiet area which was only a 5 min walk to more " action " . I think if you go to sapa you can find better value somewhere else . I ate most if the time at another hotel which was a front balcony and they were very nice . I asked them for a beer at night at family guesthouse and the man was upset to have to go and get me one . They only have food in the am . the computer works but the USB does not .they also got annoyed when I was making my own sandwich from food I had bought from the market

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smilz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice guesthouse with friendly staff
Spacious rooms but not so hygienic
A little bit outside the citycenter
Breakfast included. Very nice and tasty although the restaurant and kitchen were very dirty.
Homebase for Sapa Sisters and they are really worth a recommendation
The electricity in Sapa can be a problem. The family guesthouse has no generator but candle light instead. Very romantic but not enough light for taking a shower or something like that.
The rooms have all a balcony with a stunning view on the mountains

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice little guesthouse in beautiful Sapa with amazing views of the mountains. Be sure to ask for a room facing the mountains not the road! Breakfast was decent and the roof top bar is cute. Service okay. Trekking tours offered were fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#12 of 68 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#20 of 68 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#9 of 68 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phuong Nam Hotel
Phuong Nam Hotel
#32 of 135 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Valley Hotel
Green Valley Hotel
#18 of 124 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Cozy 2 Hotel
Sapa Cozy 2 Hotel
#23 of 135 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luong Thuy Family Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luong Thuy Family Guesthouse

Property: Luong Thuy Family Guesthouse
Address: 28 Muong Hoa Rd., Sapa 330000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hotel with 16 nice rooms with balconies overlooking the amazing Muong Hoa valley and the FanSiPan mountain. A view to die for! This is the first budget choice in Sapa, very well known to backpackers. Here you will get the best value for your money when visiting Sapa. All rooms are equipped with one big and one small bed, comfortable blankets, big windows for a nice breeze in the summer ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing