We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luong Thuy Family Guesthouse
Ranked #35 of 156 Sapa B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I know for this price you can not expect too much. But this was the worst hotel in my three weeks vietnam. Staff prefers to be on facebook on the "computer for the customers". Even when i made advance to look something up on the computer , she prefered to stay on the computer herself, not friendly at all. Cockroaches in the hall and in the room. Dust from months on the cupboard, it takes 10 seconds to clean that once a week. Even that isn't done. I never do an extra to show how bad a hotels can be but here i took some pictures. Not cleaned sheets at all ... etc etc
Poor, poor , poor.

Positive point. Most beautifull view ever, something they can't do anything bad with i suppose....

Room Tip: Just book another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pascal v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 116 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked a superior double room at this guesthouse, for one night and first thought of staying longer, but after the first night all we wanted was to change to another place. I don't know where to start. We arrived quite early in the morning with the overnight train from Hanoi. Our room wasn't ready and we had to wait almost 3 hours. Well this wasn't a problem...we knew that we were there way before check-in time. So we went for breakfast in the top floor, which is a small but real comfy place with an astonishing view of the landscape. We meet 2 fellow travelers who joined us for breakfast and smalltalk. We ordered first, and after us 8-10 people came....and everyone got their food before us. Additionally my girlfriend ordered eggs without onions as she reacts allergic to them. We tried to make sure the guy serving us understood, but two times in a row she got a lot of onions with her eggs. After the second time she just resigned. As our room was "ready" we went in and where a little shocked. The room was really damp as where all the sheets and pillows. The ceiling was covered in mildew....at the time we entered all the windows were open, so breathing was ok. As we came back after dinner that night, the air in the room was so humid cold and full of mildew smell that we felt really uncomfortable. Doors to the balcony didnt close right so we had a lot of bugs and flying stuff in our room, which was ok for sleeping as we had a mosquito net but still. Then we discovered that the sheets and blankets also are full of stains (we already changed the towels after checking in, but received some that where similar from the amount of stain and the bad smell). The beds very also pretty hard and used on top. The cleaningness of the room, was also not good at all. Under the bed there were empty cans and plastic bottles and everywhere was a lot of dust. Bathroom facilities are very basic (as is the room), but the hot water is working only for a very short time and the water pressure was miserable. They wanted 18 dollar for the night, I ended up paying 16 as I complained of all the inconveniences (still I don't hink that they will try to change something). All in all it is not a place I would recommend. Maybe it was nice like one or two years ago, but these days it is very used and dirty....and i don't have high expectations, but for a room to be clean should be a basic thing. Plus all the mildew might be a real health hazard. Last but not least...after a few weeks in Asia we got an E-Mail from the owner saying that she is stuck in Greece and wanted us to send her some money to help her out. Well I'm not dumb enough to get caught by this age old trick, still it fits in the very bad picture we got of this place.
Probably the only nice thing was the view....but its not weighting against all the cons. Even for 16 Dollar a night there are cheaper and better (cleaner!!) places to stay in Sapa. This one is just relying on good reviews from the old days and lucky enough that people still fall for them. Of my 4 weeks in vietnam this was by far the worst place we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pascal_Geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The first impression we got when we arrived was from a strong smell of pet odors in the reception area. The place is far from being clean, the computer area has stains on the keyboard and desk and there's only one computer available.

We checked in and found our room to be spacious but again we cannot say it is clean like in other hotels we stayed in. We didn't even take off our street clothes that night when we slept because there were tiny stains on the bed sheets. Furniture was old and in need of repair. The TV was a maybe a 15 inch screen and suspended 6 inches from the ceiling (just forget about it).

The bathroom was poorly lit with only 1 lightbulb. There is hot water from shower but only a weak trickle of it will come out.

Breakfast is at the restaurant on the top floor. The food was alright but the view good because it's so high up.

The reception lady will answer your questions but if you have too many she will give you the "annoyed" look. Lets just say she is not the friendliest person we have met standing in reception.

For a one night stay in a cheap hotel it is ok. But if you plan to stay longer you should look for some place else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guaizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We feel so lucky to have found this gem. We are staying here three nights. We have a private room and bath with hot shower and balcony overlooking the fanzipan mountain range with rice party's for $18USD a night.
Beds are on the harder side but great soft cotton sheets and warm comforters. Rooms have tv but we didn't use it. Wifi works super everywhere but the restaurant--where you don't need it. Hot showers are great!
Bich Doan is the manager extraordinaire and she arranges tours, recommends restaurants, cooks, serves breakfast and all with a calm cool demeanor.
If you are coming to sapa, we can't say enough nice things about this place.
The restaurant where you eat breakfast is on the top floor and feels like a tree house! This place is wonderful!

Room Tip: All rooms have balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staf and a wonderful view from your balcony.
Unfortunately, the rooms are old and the complete opposite of cosy. The bathroom definitely needs a makeover: a moisty ceiling, a mirror and toiletpaperholder which are almost falling down and a hanger where you wouldn't hang your towel. You get water trough a gasboiler but you need the lavatory running if you want hot water. Result: a small stream of semi-cold water.
18$ you pay as a western tourist is too much. The prices as mention on a billboard in the hall are more justifiable.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michieltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a budget hotel but with extras. The rooms are a good size and balcony rooms at the rear have panoramic views to afforested mountain sides. The breakfasts are good. From this edge of town location yiou can walk to countryside, bar or restaurant and the sqare and markets are all easily reached.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonEcologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Traveled alone and arrived here on 17/8, didn't stay because of no dorm.

The rooms have nice view.

Main lady receptionist spoke good English, kind and helpful to answer my questions,

Took a 2D1N Trekking package , but my package costs 20% more than other trekkers (which i later found out).

However they offered me free breakfast, free boots for trekking hence make even. (rain coat and water need to buy @_@.)

Best of all, when i came back wet from trekking, they offer shower and place to dry my wet clothes, umbrella when it was drizzling, and responsive internet all at no cost.

The people here is kind.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanCie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0 mi away
Sapa Lodge Hotel
Sapa Lodge Hotel
#26 of 79 in Sapa
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa View Hotel
Sapa View Hotel
#65 of 79 in Sapa
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cat Cat Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#11 of 79 in Sapa
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cat Cat Hotel
Cat Cat Hotel
#40 of 156 in Sapa
154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sa Pa Garden Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luong Thuy Family Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luong Thuy Family Guesthouse

Address: 28 Muong Hoa Rd., Sapa 330000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range: $10 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hotel with 16 nice rooms with balconies overlooking the amazing Muong Hoa valley and the FanSiPan mountain. A view to die for! This is the first budget choice in Sapa, very well known to backpackers. Here you will get the best value for your money when visiting Sapa. All rooms are equipped with one big and one small bed, comfortable blankets, big windows for a nice breeze in the summer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Luong Thuy Family Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing