We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average food and drink, but the feel is good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Bakery Restaurant

Highland Bakery Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Dessert in Sapa
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“average food and drink, but the feel is good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, the tiramisu was not tasty ,the tea and coffee were not so special. However, I just want to spend a hour to have a rest to see the view of Sapa. The service was good. Atmosphere of this cafe was so good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    13
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible pasteries”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

After reading some reviews on here my boyfriend and I decided to treat ourselves on our last night to some desserts. I had read a review about the tiramisu and had to try it. I wish I hadn't! I should have known it wouldn't be good after all we are in Asia, but this was especially horrible. The whole thing simply consisted of a layer of uncooked chewy pastry dough and then tasteless fake cream, followed by another layer of uncooked dough and more cream! That was it. Nothing tiramisu about it. My boyfriend tried a mini chocolate tart, and while it was better than mine it was still not great. Solid pastry and fairly bland chocolate filling. Not worth the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Squnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cold coffee, colder service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The vietnamese coffee is overpriced at 30vnd (no milk) despite it being advertised at 20vnd outside. Coffee was made with tepid water, dirty glasses, in filters that never filtered. We told the waiter the coffee was cold who shook his head and said no.
Bakery next door is better. Hill station serves much nicer coffee for 35vnd.
Mangey dogs lying around, lovely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bazpaz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced sweets for Sapa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Sa Pa is pretty pricey, so it was nice to find a place to get snacks for a fair price.
Their cakes are okay, though they use mock-cream in place of real cream which is a poor substitute.
The apple tart is quite nice, their breads are good to take on a trek or something to munch on.

The main restaurant on Cau Mai street has a bit of a moldy smell to it. We ordered french fries there once and ended up with chewy shrimp wrapped in bacon! haha.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nico-xvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice cream cakes.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

A little bit overpriced for what it is, the cakes and pastries selection is nice but i wouldn't go back as some of the others looked even better. My cake was tasty and it had a lot of cream but for the price i think you can find better or the quality should have been higher.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zookie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highland Bakery Restaurant also viewed

 
Sapa, Lao Cai Province
 

Been to Highland Bakery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing