We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! What can I say?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sapa View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sapa View Hotel
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in Sapa
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow! What can I say?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed at Sapa View on the 4th floor with views to die for overlooking the valley and mountains. Room was cosy and modern with a single and queen size beds. Breakfast was good. Loved the tribal information and artifacts on the wall.
We were on an organised private tour through Green Discovery Indochina Tours and all went to plan. Shu, the manager was delightful and very helpful and let us extend our checkout time as we were on a return night train. Our trekking guide Zu, was fantastic with surprisingly great command of English. They speak 4 languages! We trekked 12kms and this was the best. But we knew why we had 3 extra Hmong Villagers attend with us. They were our mountain goats!
I had a great time at Sapa View and will certainly be returning to see Shu and Zu in a couple of years.
Great experience - Erika

Room Tip: All depends if you want a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glen265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuc L, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa View Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Glen265, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with Sapa View Hotel, Green Discovery Indochina and Sapa O'Chau. We are so proud that you felt well looked after throughout your stay. We believe that Sapa is a special place and are making every effort to ensure that Sapa View is our guests home from home here. We are glad you liked the informative decor throughout the hotel that makes Sapa View such a unique place to stay: a boutique hotel mixed with an ethnology museum! Love from Sho Giang, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    27
    14
    20
See reviews for
30
68
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

very cosy place, awesome breakfast. Great service especially from Zhou (happened to be from Sapa O'Chau) who made my stay more enjoyable with her tips on off beaten track places to go and visit.

Will be coming back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zainal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuc L, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa View Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Zainal A, Thank you for sharing your pictures of Sapa View with our future guests. It really helps people to know what they can expect when staying with us. It was a pleasure looking after you and I hope you will be back with us soon. Love from Sho Giang, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was very hesitant about booking this after reading the reviews! And i can say i am so glad that i did! We had a great room with stunning views! It was cosy, had character and just made me happy being there! Everything was clean and in working order! We were allowed early check in and staff were very helpful! In saying this, the most helpful were the girls from Sapa O'Chau who made sure we checked in early, had our treks organised and were just absolutely amazingly nice and helpful! The only person who looked like they didn't want to be there and help was the older receptionist (owner?) but i think everyone else made up for her sourness:-) There is no need for air con as the nights are cool in Sapa. There are bugs but there are bugs everywhere - you get some insect repellent and you are fine:-)

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room - we had 504 and it was stunning! And yes, you will have 5 flights of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaFlo_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Last week I stayed at the Sapa View for four days. I loved the place. The decor is elegant and stylish. Lots of blond wood. And the views - amazing! The decorations are informative about local minority groups - photo boards and artifacts. And the shop is excellent. The hotel has recently entered into an arrangement with local minority-owned tour group (and school) Sapa O'Chau. Sho or Shu will be happy to help you. The hotel is ideally located for the trek down to Lao Chai. The room was clean and the staff attentive, very attentive, and anxious to learn and get things right. The hotel is now employing minority staff whose English is improving fast - but patience is appreciated. I really enjoyed the breakfast scrambled eggs - flavoured with tomato, onions and coriander. Thao and her colleagues will look after you.

Room Tip: I liked the corner rooms best with two-way views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights- one and a half nights too long! No air conditioning so only ventilation is to have doors open all night and worry about bugs, intruders and listen to continual honking of motor bikes. Bedding felt damp and towels stunk after one use due to high humidity. Everything looked dusty and could do with a good clean. Also had a bathrobe and electric blanket chucked in bottom of wardrobe - looks like they are never moved. Breakfast so-so. Didn't fancy trying any of the other meals. None of the reception staff had any idea how to use a credit card machine so a trip to atm to get cash was required by us to finalize checkout. Manageress getting flustered and blamed everything else but their incompetence! Hotel close to main town centre and good views to the mountains but that is about all it has going for it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuc L, Owner at Sapa View Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

As you know, the weather in Sapa is year-round cool. So, it is not necessary having air-conditioner in the room. A small fan would be provided upon request. Our housekeeping has made up room and has changed linen every day. We should inform you not to open the windows as the high-humidity weather in Sapa always dampen the linen.

Buffet and à-la-cart breakfasts have been alternated to enrich the long stay at our hotel. On that date, we served à-la-cart breakfast. We are sorry that you didn’t like it.

We do accept the payment by credit card. Unfortunately, the system was down on that day which forced us to request you for cash payment.

We will do our best to improve the service. Do hope to have another chance to serve you at our hotel.

Thanks & best regards,
Hotel's owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sapa hotels

Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Booked for 2 nights but only stayed 1 night. Couldn't stand it any longer. We moved to the new Sapa Lodge which was half the price @ 35$ & considerably better.
Sapa View is very poorly maintained. The heavy duty pine furniture was dirty & had hot iron marks on a table & a unit. There were cigarette butts in the fireplace. Bed linen was dirty. Bedside lamp did not work. Rolled up in the bottom of the wardrobe was a dressing gown & spare pillow. The two drinking cups were cracked. The picture above the bed was missing, but there was a lovely picture hook. The mountain view was ok but if you looked to the right the balcony of the next room had a broken toilet door on it. Breakfast could have been better, I particularly disliked the fried eggs swimming in oil. We were offered a "better" room but declined. only good points were the pleasant staff on reception & the fact we didn't have to pay for the second night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweyneBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuc L, Owner at Sapa View Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We express regret for any inconvenience during your stay at our hotel. It was by accident that our staff didn’t check carefully and did arrange you the room which was under renovation. We had tried to fix it by offering a better room but you gave us no chance.

We have recruited new manager and more staffs to improve those away. With more care and regular check, we are sure that we will bring guests more pleasant stays. We do hope that we can serve you again in a near future.

With our best regards,
Hotel's owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Sa Pa's coziest hotel for winter. We travel in January and it was SNOW cold, so it was amazing to have scaldasonno in our bed.
The fireplace in the room wasn't working, but the gave us a heater that was enough.
From the room there are amazing views of the rice plantations
Phở is the best option for breakfast!
Very nice staff.
If you are traveling from Hanoi, ask your travel agent that you want to stay here instead of the ones that are included in the package. Is much better.
Lovely place for honeymooners, couples, families, friends, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olilod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thuc L, Guest Relations Manager at Sapa View Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Larry B, we are glad to be a partner of your tour planner :) and very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Sapa can be pretty chilly in the winter, so we do our best to keep our guests warm, with fire places, heaters and electric blankets! Thank you for reviewing us! Love from Sho Giang, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.3 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#16 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#8 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#20 of 65 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H'Mong Sapa Hotel
H'Mong Sapa Hotel
#31 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
2.7 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#6 of 65 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa View Hotel

Property: Sapa View Hotel
Address: 041, Muong Hoa, Sapa 020, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 65 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapa View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Muong Hoa valley, the Sapa View Hotel offers competitive rates for rooms with views of Mount Fansipan, the last major peak in the Himalayan chain and Indochina's highest mountain. Less than a five-minute walk from Sapa town's main shopping and restaurant area, Sapa View remains quiet and just off the beaten path. Wooden furnishings combined with locally-made decorative handicrafts provide a decor that is both modern and culturally specific to the area. With over fifty photographs and detailed descriptions of local customs lining entrances and hallways, Sapa View serves as a convenient gallery museum for its guests. Room amenities include bathrobes, a fireplace or electric heater, electric blankets and hair dryers for cold winter months, as well as flat-screen cable TVs, safes for valuables, tea/coffee/minibar and WiFi. Sapa View also offers a restaurant, bar, terrace, massage, bike rental, car hire services and free parking. All travel arrangements can be made through the hotel, including trekking and homestays in ethnic minority villages. Please inquire with the hotel for a full list of services. A partnership was recently made between Sapa View Hotel and the Sapa O'Chau community development project, which supports education of children and families from local tribes. As a guest of Sapa View you may support their efforts by responsibly purchasing from the craftstore or by scheduling a guided trek. There are also opportunities to volunteer during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Sapa View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing