We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant View and Great Value”
Review of Sapa View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sapa View Hotel
Ranked #61 of 75 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Due to the Vietnamese holiday (Independance day), Sapa was heavilly booked but we managed to arrange two days at this location, sight unseen. The hotel was about 800 metres from the main town area where all the action was but the location was spectacular! Through pure luck, we had booked a room on the 5th floor with 2 balconies, one overlooking the valley and the other overlooking the town. The only disadvantage was that there was no lift. The unit did not have an airconditioner or fan but with the windows open and the the high altidude, they were not reqiured. there was a wood fire available if the nights turned cold. The cost for one night in the peak time was $35AUD. We ate the restaurent only one night and it was empty but a musician played on for about 2 hours on a flute... very good too!

Room Tip: Try to obtail a corner room facing the town as these rooms have two balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C00t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 172 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have stayed 2 nights in Sapa and our stay was above our expectation. Indeed hotel takes care and organized even "local" musician to play during the dinner hours to bring athmosphere of local life towards all tourists staying in the hotel. We have been given all support and hotel has arrange for us also the bus transfer back to Hanoi and organized also the daily tour to the minority villages. We have enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just spent a night at this hotel. Used the restaurant toilet and was greeted with a cockroach crawling in the door.

The hotel looks clean but looking deeper - hmmmm

We had a garden view room but it was just looking at trees - no view at all.
The bath mat appeared to have not been washed as it was dirty and the towels had small stains. (eww). My partners switched on the shower and the pipe and shower head was not connected properly so this sent water shooting across the top of the shower unit all over the floor into the bedroom! The beds were hard and there were a few small stains on the duvet cover.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Overall I would not stay in this hotel again as the cleanliness did not meet my standards. I have noticed the reviews on this hotel appear to be people - not from the UK so maybe we have higher standards?

Room Tip: Don't book a garden view room - unless you want to look at a wall of trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlesandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We showed up in the dark in Sapa ,after a 10 hour train ride from Hanoi ( recomended )the a 1 hour bus ride up the hill to Sapa.The Sapa View hotel had no reservation for us ,we stayed any way,as they had lots of room.We found out the next day that we where in the wrong hotel.The front desk helped us sort out what turned out to be a big mess with our reservations in Sapa.For 2 hours they phoned around the help us clear the issue.We eventually stayed for several days and enjoyed every min.The Hotel is in a great place,very nice rooms ( no heat in Jan. whch tokk some getting used to it ) The restaurant is exellent .The staff outstanding .Good value.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be Ok ,however no heat when you show up in January ( fire place in all rooms ,bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

There are many more pluses than negatives here. The pluses: great view, balconies, out side seating, extremely pleasant and helpful staff, clean rooms and a decent restaurant. The negatives: rooms a bit on the small side, no elevator, and electric blankets that only work on one side of the bed. The wifi is good and the breakfast to order allows one to order as much or as little that one would want. The historical/museum works hanging around the hotel help to understand the area and its history.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpotvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Booked 2 rooms and stayed here 1 night with family. Love the deluxe garden view room which oversees bamboo trees. It's on the 4th floor and you have to walk through an open area to get there. Quite isolated but unique feel. The other room was upgraded to mountain view for free, on the 2nd floor. Awesome view of the Fansipan peak in the morning! Do note that there is no lift in this hotel. Access by stairs only.

Love the clean and nicely decorated rooms. Rooms appear new and well-maintained. Electric blankets available. Fireplace not in use as it was not cold enough. Rain showerhead available in bathrooms - water pressure could be higher - but sufficient considering the hotel size and being located on a mountain.

Walking distance to Sapa town. Breakfast was ok. Staff was friendly. No complaints. Overall excellent experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NH A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We, a group of five friends, stayed at this hotel on the night of Dec. 30, 2012. The first impression is great. Beautiful internal design, spacious homely sitting room and great location. However, we quickly realized that the hotel does not have an elevator and although the baggage was carried up and down by the staff, there were people who had difficulty climbing the stairs to the fourth floor, from which by the way, you had an awesome view. Moreover, the rooms were not heated. It turned out that the rooms have fireplaces but with the weather at the time of our visit, the fireplaces had to be 'on' for 24 hours in order for them to possibly make the rooms comfortable after a day out in a temp of 5- 10 C. But then, when we arrived, the fire places were not 'on' and it took the staff a good hour to bring the wood and get them started. Even then it was not such fun since the odor, or smoke, was felt in the room, not to mention the fact that we did not plan on feeding woods throughout our stay. Yes, there are electric heaters on the beds but you really do not want to spend the night with them 'on'. As other viewers wrote, this is a lovely place to stay but not in the winter and not on the top floors if you mind climbing up stairs. What a pity
David B.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_edA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.4 mi away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#28 of 75 in Sapa
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#8 of 75 in Sapa
662 reviews
0.5 mi away
H'Mong Sapa Hotel
H'Mong Sapa Hotel
#33 of 75 in Sapa
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sapa Lodge Hotel
Sapa Lodge Hotel
#23 of 75 in Sapa
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sapa Diamond Hotel
Sapa Diamond Hotel
#15 of 75 in Sapa
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa View Hotel

Address: 041, Muong Hoa, Sapa 020, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 75 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range: $24 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapa View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Muong Hoa valley, the Sapa View Hotel offers competitive rates for rooms with views of Mount Fansipan, the last major peak in the Himalayan chain and Indochina's highest mountain. Less than a five-minute walk from Sapa town's main shopping and restaurant area, Sapa View remains quiet and just off the beaten path. Wooden furnishings combined with locally-made decorative handicrafts provide a decor that is both modern and culturally specific to the area. With over fifty photographs and detailed descriptions of local customs lining entrances and hallways, Sapa View serves as a convenient gallery museum for its guests. Room amenities include bathrobes, a fireplace or electric heater, electric blankets and hair dryers for cold winter months, as well as flat-screen cable TVs, safes for valuables, tea/coffee/minibar and WiFi. Sapa View also offers a restaurant, bar, terrace, massage, bike rental, car hire services and free parking. All travel arrangements can be made through the hotel, including trekking and homestays in ethnic minority villages. Please inquire with the hotel for a full list of services. A partnership was recently made between Sapa View Hotel and the Sapa O'Chau community development project, which supports education of children and families from local tribes. As a guest of Sapa View you may support their efforts by responsibly purchasing from the craftstore or by scheduling a guided trek. There are also opportunities to volunteer during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Sapa View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing