We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was average, but location good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal View Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal View Hotel
Ranked #69 of 115 Sapa B&B and Inns
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Room was average, but location good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location of the hotel was great- everything is easily within walking distance. The staff service was also okay (but had better throughout our stay in Vietnam). It really was just the room that disappointed us. The bathroom smelled terrible- I think it was coming from the shower/bath drain. Everything just seemed old and damp and not maintained very well at all. On the flip side though the room size was very large and spacious which was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    37
    25
    17
See reviews for
23
52
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, big rooms, hot shower (we had a curtain), we had a bath tub but no stopper and I was very disappointed. Electricity cut off when we were here and staff sorted it in 20 mins. I'd stay here again, great place to base yourself in sapa. Breakfast was okay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulafitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The staff were good, friendly and honest. The hotel is located in the middle of town, close to all restaurants and the markets. The room was good, and had a HUGE balcony, although I think this is the only room that has one this size. The view from the balcony was spectacular, overlooking the hills. The food in the hotel was okay, each night we were offered a set course, which we could change if we wanted. Overall, this place was a good place to stay at night while trekking around Sapa during the day.

Room Tip: I think room 303 is the one we stayed in. It has the largest balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a wonderful time here, the hotel is modern, clean and the rooms are designed with convenience and comfort in mind. The staff were wonderful to us, very helpful in telling us where to go and what restaurant's to eat at, there were always staff available to help with any queries, even when they were quite busy. This hotel is in the perfect location, right on the center of everything: market, church, restaurants, bars, etc.... The view is great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelina0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The location of the room is right in the middle of Sapa, can't complaint location wise. The room itself was big with no design. When I stay in a hotel, the most concern for me is the bathroom and what a disappointment. There were only toothbrushes and 2 big bath towels as amenities, the bath tub with shower however no curtains and the wall built in shampoo and shower gels were far from the bath tub, the hotel just want you to fall out of the bath tub and have an accident.

The worse thing was the staff, we rented a bike and we parked the bike at the hotel to went for a nap, when we came down, the receptionist was leaving work on her bike and she was talk to some old guy, this old guys was holding one of our rented helmets, he looked at us when we exited the hotel and as we were coming close to the bike, he then started to put the helmet down, had we been 2 minutes later, the helmet would've been gone and the receptionist would have not said anything and would not be responsible for witnessing such crime!

Room Tip: Choose high floor so you can see the mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sapa hotels

Barcelona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is placed in the main commercial street.
Staff was correct all time but nothing in special to highlight apart of the fact that they did not get back our passports at check out and we forgot them there (also our fault!)
Buffet breakfast was good, specially their vegetable omelette.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartaParellada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Big impressive bedroom. Royal views of mt Fansipan. Not perfectly clean but ok. No shower curtain but hot water. Breakfast is adequate, enough of everything including fruit. Coffee is cold. Staff not friendly at all. Will look for other accommodation if visiting Sapa again. Conveniently situated but so is everything in Sapa

Room Tip: Ask for view of mt Fansipan, it is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GUK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 mi away
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
Bamboo Sapa Hotel
#26 of 65 in Sapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Sapa Hotel
Royal Sapa Hotel
#60 of 65 in Sapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sapa Vista Hotel
Sapa Vista Hotel
#13 of 65 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Sapa Hotel
Holiday Sapa Hotel
#51 of 65 in Sapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal View Hotel

Property: Royal View Hotel
Address: 34 Cau May Street, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing