We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dampness slowly eats this hotel”
Review of Royal View Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal View Hotel
Ranked #104 of 157 Sapa B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 2, 2011

N22°19'59.15" E103°50'31.98" We stayed in August 2010 for several nights in room 403 of this new Chinese owned hotel. There are several hotels with nearly the same name in Sapa, so beware. Reception speaks very good English and is really helpful. The room is spacious, but you are not alone in the good quality bed. Fleas sleep here too. Moisture at this attitude is the big enemy of this hotel and nothing will properly dry. Dampness slowly eats the hotel and maintenance is for the next owner. Beware that some rooms have no view at all and there is no air-conditioning and heating in the room. Room 403 has a small balcony with a nice view of the mountains. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goyourownway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 121 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed here in my birthday trip to Sapa. The room was very nice and the staffs were so enthusiastic. They were a part of my great birthday cerebration. Except a little bit noisy at night because of the bar down-stair. i think they must removed it if they want more customers !! Or at least they should pay attention to reduce the noise. Overall, if the bar wasn't there, everything is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacoste_238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We spend there one night. There were dirty towels and bedclothes. When we asked to change it receptionist was not surprised. Moreover the next day somebody waked us before 7 AM and entered the room without any word, took the chair and put a big bottle of water.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katap79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Not a good place to stay. Despite being only 2 years old (built in 2009 I think), the hotel is falling apart. There are dampness stains everywhere, windows do not fit well, and the gaps are covered with tape. There is no heating, and in winter time (it snowed during our stay) it feels like a fridge in the whole hotel (rooms included). Staff speak very little English (not that I am Lord Byron, but..). The room stank to toilet pipes or something. Breakfast is not bad, although there is not much to chose from (noodles and eggs are ok, lousy coffee though). Well located in the main street of the village. The hotel manager sits all day long at the lobby doing nothing. Most of the rooms do not enjoy a very royal view, unless the dump of the backyard belongs to some kind of royalty..If you can, stay elsewhere, but it was our impression that the average quality of hotels and restaurants in Sapa is not very high (tourism industry is very new to Sapa).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajar1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in early April. The room was very large, sparsely furnished (eg. no bedside lamps) but clean and quiet. It was cold (small electric heater) but the bed had an electric blanket and there was plenty of hot water.
The dining room was cold and dark - even the staff wore coats - but the food was acceptable.
Good things were the view from the room, the central location in Sapa and the helpfulness of all the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

This was not the best hotel we stayed in on our trip,but in fairness it was not too bad. We had a great view from our room and had a portable heater and an electric blanket to keep us warm on a very cold day.The breakfast was adequate but not great and the staff were quite friendly.SAPA is definately worth visiting,the scenery is marvelous.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed here for one of our two nights in Sapa, the second night we stayed in an homestay. When we arrived in the early hours of the morning from the overnight train the weather was very cold and misty and we huddled around a fire in reception while waiting approx 5 hours to get in our room, because the Hotel was fully booked. Fortunately Hung our excellent English speaking tour guide arrived and took us around the village while we waited. (He can also arrange tours/tranfers (lehungsapa@gmail.com)) The only source of heating in the rooms are portable electric heaters. The room was spacious, clean and plenty of hot water if needed. There would probably have been great views from the balcony, only it was quite misty. The staff especially in the restaurant are very friendly and the food was excellent. The Hotel is centrally located, with easy access to markets and bars. They also provided a room for us to shower and change after returning from our homestay, before catching the train to back to Hanoi. The transfer bus to/from station was also very good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oilyrag07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#2 of 78 in Sapa
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapa Stunning View hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#7 of 78 in Sapa
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#11 of 78 in Sapa
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal View Hotel

Address: 34 Cau May Street, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Sapa
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing