We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World's best view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sapa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hmong Mountain Retreat
Ranked #57 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This lovely resort is one of the biggest experiences I've had in Vietnam. The huts are really simple and not luxury at all, but the view from there is... fanstastic!! The staff is friendly and the vegetarian food is great. There's only one downside ... - the price. That being said, it was a fantastic experience :) ****1/2

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasperS695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 113 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nobody thinks this place is easy to find and for some reason that's the only thing they've chosen to write in reviews.

First of all ignore any directions online.

You want to get in to Sa Pa main town and get on to Duong Muong road by asking locals, you go east of the lake to a road with lots of restaurants and tat shops with the odd seedy massage parlour. Go down the road and follow the bend around to the left which then bends again and continues downhill. Follow the same road downhill for about 6km ignoring any of the ticket scammers saying you need to stop and blah blah blah, its rubbish. Tell them your going to hotel and get on your way, after a few km and some (3) parts of road with a stream over flowing... over it, your there. The deepest stream is pretty close but be wary, there's no signs for the place just a gap in a rock wall. You can see the bungalows from the road when close so check what they look like on the pictures above.

Amazing location, kinda boring. Bring a book.

Needs new management to become the best place you'll ever stay, without it (as it is now) the missed potential is huge. Not disappointing just a bit rough around the edges.

Room Tip: Bungalow 5 is nice, furthest from the others with nobody passing your bungalow to get to thiers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I agree with others that this is difficult to review. It is marketed as a hotel, but whilst we were greeted on arrival, after a pick up at the end of a wet trek, we were not offered anything to drink. We were directed to the Hmong house, but had to carry our bags over the rough path and small stream. Our 4 yr old had difficulty negotiating the paths to begin with and Granny needed her stick!
The design of the thatched bungalows in amongst the paddy fields is beautiful, but is let down by the lack of service. The central building which houses an upstairs lounge area , the kitchen and the loos and showers has wonderful features.....but the showers are not designed for practicality! Negotiating slippy pebbles to reach ones toiletries and towel is not easy! The vegetarian evening meal was delicious and interesting, but the soft drinks ran out! Breakfast consisted of over cooked fried eggs and bread. I have written this review having received two requests to do so!!!! Do not come here with small children or if you have any mobility problems, the paths are uneven and there is a pond in the middle of the site . You have to vacate your room about an hour before you are due to leave so that the beds can be changed and the laundry sent down to Sapa in your transport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LizzyPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It is so hard to give a review for a property when some elements are fantastic and some are terrible.

We arrived at about 4:30pm, so well after the check-in time, having hired motorbikes in Sapa, where we had stayed on the previous two nights. There had been some heavy rain, and therefore some landslides on the road. Luckily, I had looked at some photos online before arriving or we never would have found the retreat, which, although it is on the road, is not signed at all. We waited 45 minutes for any staff at all to appear, and when they did, they did not approach us at all to see if they could help us or anything. My boyfriend went over and spoke to one of the girls (who didn't speak enough English to understand what he was saying) to say that we had made a reservation on Agoda for a bungalow. She kept saying that there were no bungalows. Then she made a phonecall, and eventually she was persuaded that yes we had made a booking and that we were in Buffalo 1. She did not show us where the toilets/showers were, or provide us with any other information.

The bungalow is basic, but it is pretty cool to stay in a mud hut in a paddy field on the side of a mountain. Until the door falls off... A loose plank dislodged the one remaining hinge on the door. However, after the terrible service, this was ironically funny, especially given that this hotel was over twice the price of a lovely hotel we had stayed in in Sapa.

Having been told we were too late to book dinner when we popped in to the Village Noshery earlier in the day (owned by the same guy) we headed back into town for dinner. (We went to the Hill Station Restaurant, it is very good!) and then back out to the homestay. The staff did actually manage to help us to take our moped off the road, but we can honestly say that this is the only bit of service they showed us during our entire stay.

The bungalows looked beautiful as we worked our way to ours guided by little lamps. We had another surreal experience wandering over the site trying to find the toilet, again with little input from the staff.

We had not been told anything about breakfast, so just before 9am, my boyfriend went to ask when it was. The response was , "you sit here, now". They told us at 10am that check-out was at 10am, so we hastily packed our bags. It is a really good job that you have to pay in advance for this property because a) we would have walked out after the initial no staff situation and b) the staff would not be capable of handling money.

This seems harsh, but they really were terrible - even if they had limited English, they were not even smiley or enthusiastic.

This being said, the environment is truly stunning and staying in a mud hut and waking up to that view is an amazing experience. It is a shame it was tainted by the poor service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thriftystudent89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyinsapa, Owner at Hmong Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

We would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests who have stayed in Hmong Mountain Retreat over the past three months during the low season. We are now preparing for the high season and looking forward to welcoming more wonderful guests.

Thank you to this guest for taking the time to write during their holiday to provide feedback on their experience. We are always thankful. So there fore it is only important we respond to this reviewers comments so our future customers receive correct information.

When customers choose to book direct through Agoda booking engine we do not receive the customers contact details, this is very stressful to us as an organisation as we need to contact the customer to inform them of their pick up in Lao Cai train station, check in times, meal times and our free transfer to the retreat. 99% of our guests who book through Agoda do in fact contact us direct to inform us of their train arrival time. We then have an opportunity to give them a lot of information including check in location. We actually meet all our guests by 10:30 am in our other property in Sapa THE VILLAGE NOSHERY from there we offer a free transfer with our reception staff and Hmong Mountain Retreat host. Once our guests arrive at the retreat the host and reception staff check the guests into their bungalow, explain the facilities.

It was unfortunate this guest chose not to make contact with our organisation prior to their check in, making it a challenge for our team to locate and manage these guests professionally. Especially as Sapa is very rural and the retreat is located 7km outside of Sapa Town. When these guests arrived at the retreat they were talking to the housekeeping staff who do not speak English as it is not a requirement of their job. The staff contacted the manager on duty who checked the customers name and advised the house keeping to check the customer into their awaiting bungalow.

As the customer had not preprepared a place in our delicious Vegetarian banquet at 7:00pm the guest made arrangements for their own dinner and our team assisted to bring their motorbike into the property on their return.

We would like to provide some advice for our guests who have booked through AGODA, please make contact with our organisation prior to your arrival so we can provide you with information on Lao Cai transfers, meal times, bus transfer times, various treks, our organisations social and community focus.

It was very unfortunate we were not able to assist these guests as much as we would love to.
WE love Sapa and we want all our guests to have a wonderful time too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Can't even begin to describe how amazing the view is from this accommodation! Our bungalow was perfect and the view took our breath away (we did have great weather).

It's a great place to stay. The bungalows are lovely and the bathroom and showers are only a short walk away over some stepping stones. There are no luxury services, but it really isn't a place you need it!

We ate the $15 vegetarian dinner at the retreat and it was nice! Entree, main and desert. Maybe a little pricey, but it was nice to eat close by.

The retreat is about 6km's from Sapa town, however the reception is actually in town at a lodge that is also owned by the same people. This turned out to be very convenient (although very confusing when were got dropped off and the driver didn't speak English, the retreat should have told us about this.. but we figured it out in a few minutes).

The night train get's in about 5am and check in (and the free shuttle bus) isn't until about 11am. So you can eat breakfast and leave your luggage at the lodge and do what you please. They also advise a trek straight away that is about 12km and you end at the retreat. There are other options though, or you can just wait to check in.

There are only two shuttle buses a day, this didn't really effect us. We hired a scooter on the second day and checked out early, left our luggage at the lodge in town and went on our own adventure. This was the great thing about having the lodge in town as a base, no need to go so far out to collect your things etc and their happy for you to use the bathroom/shower/toilet.

Overall, a wonderful place to enjoy Sapa. The best view I saw the whole trip was from our bed :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrittanyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Beautiful mountain views, excellent staff, amazing rooms! very clean, fresh, great views, and new!!!
The only drawback is this hotel is its on a mountain, so I recommend a motor bike to city downtown and back, but you can manage walking too. Can't get such a pristine location without walking uphill a little.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AManWithAPlan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Well, where should I start? I have roughed it out at places like Inner Mongolia, Xinjiang etc. Yet, I'm not a fan of getting all dirty. I chanced upon Hmong mountain retreat while researching for what to do in Hanoi. It was either this or the all famous Halong Bay. After much hesitation, I took a plunge and went for it.

I started to contact Pete from Tet Lifestyle on my arrangements to Sapa. After emails back and forth, I arranged with Pete for a 1 night stay at Hmong Mountain Retreat, with transportation arranged from Lao Cai station to Sapa town, a mountain trek with a guide, and cooking class.

Upon arrival at Lao Cai station, the driver greeted us with our names on the card and we were escorted to his van. The 35km journey from Lao Cai to Sapa took around 45-60 minutes. The trip up the mountains was winding but I've seen worse.

After which, I was asked to wait at the Village Noshery to be briefed on my itinerary before we started on our trek. The staff at Village Noshery spoke fluent English and we felt just like home. She had maps all drawn out for us on how our 2 days at Sapa will be like. And explained everything in detail. We could take a shower before we started off our trek, and have a good breakfast after the 9 hour train ride. Their banh mi was yummy.

Tamay was our local guide for the 12km trek. She too spoke fluent English and there was no problem communicating with her on Sapa's history and culture. She kept making sure that I was alright during occasional points of our trek and made sure we paced ourselves well. She also kept coming over with an umbrella so I would not get sunburnt. A word of caution though. The other Hmong locals tend to tag along and help you along the trek. However, if you don't want to feel guilty not buying their handicrafts, it will be better to decline them to tag along from the start of the trek.

After 4 hours of trekking, the driver from the lodge came with our bags and took us to Hmong Mountain Retreat. The bungalow had a comfortable bed you could laze around all afternoon. The view was fantastic and breathtaking. It was basically in the padi fields. There was a mosquito net to keep the bugs out though there was no mosquitoes present. Every bungalow has a key and lock if you wish to lock your belongings. There are 2 toilets, each with a gas heater, a toilet bowl, sink and shower facilities. The restrooms were decent enough, but it'll be good to shower before the sun sets as the lightnings are not like that of city's. I had a good nights sleep with no disturbance of bugs, animals and the weather was cool.

The next morning we had a cooking class. They feed you well so not to worry if you ever get hungry. It was nice to cook and eat at the same time. The food was good.

Overall, I would recommend Hmong Mountain Retreat to one looking for a place away from the city, to take your mind of work/life. To just relax and enjoy the scenery around you. The staff were all very welcoming and warm. But first, you'll have to endure the 9 hour train ride to and from Hanoi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
3.1 mi away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#6 of 84 in Sapa
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Lodge Hotel
Sapa Lodge Hotel
#27 of 84 in Sapa
581 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sapa Clay House - Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#32 of 84 in Sapa
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.3 mi away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hmong Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hmong Mountain Retreat

Address: 018 Phan Si Pang St | 6km outside Sapa, Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
Price Range: $35 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate mountain hideaway overlooking the breathtaking terraced rice fields of Sapa.The H'mong Mountain Retreat is made up of a number of buildings: the large 85 year old stilt house, five rammed earth bungalows and one 70 year old H’mong House.Indulge in rare quality time with your loved ones in this natural setting; it’s as close to nature as you can possible imagine...Retreat to the serenity of your hill top bungalow and experience Sapa in its true beauty.Made entirely of sustainable products from the land; a mixture of clay walls, palm leaf thatching and palm tree wood flooring gives a true sense of being wrapped in nature, while the hand woven cotton bedding made by the indigenous tribes of northern Vietnam and Laos ensure comfort and warmth. Slip into a deep slumber.Choose either a Hill Top Bungalow for two people or a two bedroom H’mong House sleeping up to four. Breakfast is included each day...Throughout our properties we encourage our guests to make conscious decisions, which impact their holiday destination in a positive spirit.We believe our organisation has a responsibility to give back to the local community. By staying, dining or trekking, we show you how easy it is to travel with generosity and to give back...Don't forget to visit our other properties! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hmong Mountain Retreat Hotel Sapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing