We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the Center & Not Comfortable”
Review of Green Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Valley Hotel
Ranked #22 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Far from the Center & Not Comfortable”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The only reason I stayed at this guesthouse was because it was the cheapest accommodations I could find in Sapa. The room was relatively clean, but was cold and smelled awfully damp and moldy. The bathroom was a bit dingy. The guesthouse is really out of the way from the center of town. The walk back at night was very dark--make sure you bring a flashlight! For a little more money, I could have stayed somewhere more comfortable and more centrally located. Next time...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    51
    25
    12
    10
See reviews for
2
43
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Rooms were really nice, although a tiny bit damp nothing to worried about, water was always hot, the bar and pool table were really nice, was good to play Glen (part owner) in pool and have a laugh, and the ability to select your own music on the pc was pretty cool too.

Very easy to organise tours and stuff from the staff, they were always there to help.

Also Free internet is also available.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etniesdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We loved staying at Green Valley Hotel. It is a small family run hotel and also has a nice restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is also a bar with a full size pool table and a great atmosphere (Rock n Tree Pub). The rooms are lovely and clean and a good size. The hotel has lovely views of the valley and it is in a good location - only minutes from the markets and town centre. There is free internet and they can organise personalised treks, bus and train tickets and Lao Cai transfers and will also mind your bags while your away at a homestay. We would definitely recommend this friendly hotel if you are coming to Sapa.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kez59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

After seeing this place advertised online at $10 per night including breakfast we arrived to find that breakfast is not included and is an extra charge.
After sampling breakfast we found it very basic and not at all what is stated on the menu, the person working in the 'breakfast' room was far too busy playing pool to get us any sauces.

The hotel seems to let in anyone off the streets and sitting at the table in our room up on the 4th floor trying to skype one of my friends I was met with two tribes people standing at my open window on the balcony! This just tells me the hotel staff have no regard for safety of guests as anyone is allowed to come and go and wander the levels of the hotel at anytime.

Our room was not cleaned at all during our 3 night stay and attempting to communicate that we wanted clean towels etc was lost on all of the staff when the one English speaking girl was out of sight.
The mattress was awful with springs poking though the sides, it was by far the worst nights sleep so far in our travels.
The walls is both our room and the downstairs area are covered in mold.

We met the owner on our last day as we were waiting to leave, he was English or possibly Australian.. it was hard to tell as he was off his face on drugs as he was slurring his words, stumbling around and failing to focus on what we were saying when he wandered over to our table to 'offer us advice'. This advice did not materialise and after creepily stroking my back he wandered off upstairs.

I would not recommend this place to anyone, the place is a dive.

Room Tip: Pay more and get some decent standard of living.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBJP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Myself and my friends were recommended this place so decided to stay one night which turned out to be one night too many!!!! Our room was clean but damp and cold plus smelled funny!

It wasn't until we were on the train back to Hanoi that we realised we had all been bitten (not mossies) and then it dawned on us that it was BEDBUGS!!!! Yuck Yuck Yuck!! It had ruined out trip and just terrible! DO NOT STAY HERE!! It's just not worth it...

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wandering2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

I pre-booked a dorm room but was put into a share room (a nice upgrade) but still charged the dorm rate. The room was very spacious and clean- with electric blankets! Staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. They offered a very cheap 2 day + 1 night homestay trek ($18) which was fantastic. They also organised my train ticket home and transfer to the station for the same price that the station charges! (A rarity with Vietnam hostels!). The bar and restaurant were also a great place to meet locals and other travelers over a beer, hot wine or a game of pool.
I'd definitely recommend this hostel (which actually feels more like a hotel).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights during december at 4 USD per night. shared the room with a dude i met on the train. had a room that was overseeing the valley, really worth the price! this hostel is partly owned by the original family and by a friendly australian guy.
the rooms are quite clean and the beds come with heater mats. the downside is the the heater are operated by the mains and you have to inform the reception if you need to turn on the heater. and the family are glad to help you out with any problems.
they are also not pushy with their tours (in fact they did not even promote their tours to me, which is really rare in sapa) this leaves you to be able to search for more alternatives in the city centre.
location wise, it is a 7 mins walk to the city centre, not too much a big deal. which makes it slightly quieter. it also has a bar/ restaurant, which provides good family food at great value and also has a pool table which makes it a good gathering place, not to mention there is also a fire place, really useful when it gets really cold.
for just 4 USD, u cant go wrong with this hostel. definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freeloadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.2 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#24 of 70 in Sapa
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
Chau Long Sapa Hotel
#29 of 70 in Sapa
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#13 of 70 in Sapa
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#23 of 70 in Sapa
499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sapa Lodge
Sapa Lodge
#22 of 70 in Sapa
558 reviews
8.7 mi away
Topas Ecolodge
Topas Ecolodge
#10 of 70 in Sapa
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Valley Hotel

Property: Green Valley Hotel
Address: 045 Muong Hoa rd | Lao Cai Province, Sapa Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Valley Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Valley Hotel, Sapa, Northwest Vietnam.Sapa is a beautiful town in the cool of the hills. It is home to the Hmong, Dao and other ethnic minority peoples.A visit to Sapa offers the opportunity of an insight into the fascinating hill-tribe cultures and the possibility of purchasing original authentic hand-crafted items directly from the makers.The comfortable, friendly, Green Valley hotel is within easy walking distance of the centre of Sapa.Hotel can also arrange homestay accommodation with local ethnic people, we can also assist you to book train tickets from Ha Noi to Lao Cai and return, pick up from Lao Cai railways station and transfer to my hotel -please ask us- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Green Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing