We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby and out of town - a frustrating stay.”
Review of Green Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Valley Hotel
Ranked #52 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
Reviewed June 13, 2011

After seeing this place advertised online at $10 per night including breakfast we arrived to find that breakfast is not included and is an extra charge.
After sampling breakfast we found it very basic and not at all what is stated on the menu, the person working in the 'breakfast' room was far too busy playing pool to get us any sauces.

The hotel seems to let in anyone off the streets and sitting at the table in our room up on the 4th floor trying to skype one of my friends I was met with two tribes people standing at my open window on the balcony! This just tells me the hotel staff have no regard for safety of guests as anyone is allowed to come and go and wander the levels of the hotel at anytime.

Our room was not cleaned at all during our 3 night stay and attempting to communicate that we wanted clean towels etc was lost on all of the staff when the one English speaking girl was out of sight.
The mattress was awful with springs poking though the sides, it was by far the worst nights sleep so far in our travels.
The walls is both our room and the downstairs area are covered in mold.

We met the owner on our last day as we were waiting to leave, he was English or possibly Australian.. it was hard to tell as he was off his face on drugs as he was slurring his words, stumbling around and failing to focus on what we were saying when he wandered over to our table to 'offer us advice'. This advice did not materialise and after creepily stroking my back he wandered off upstairs.

I would not recommend this place to anyone, the place is a dive.

Room Tip: Pay more and get some decent standard of living.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBJP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 157 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

Myself and my friends were recommended this place so decided to stay one night which turned out to be one night too many!!!! Our room was clean but damp and cold plus smelled funny!

It wasn't until we were on the train back to Hanoi that we realised we had all been bitten (not mossies) and then it dawned on us that it was BEDBUGS!!!! Yuck Yuck Yuck!! It had ruined out trip and just terrible! DO NOT STAY HERE!! It's just not worth it...

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wandering2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

I pre-booked a dorm room but was put into a share room (a nice upgrade) but still charged the dorm rate. The room was very spacious and clean- with electric blankets! Staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. They offered a very cheap 2 day + 1 night homestay trek ($18) which was fantastic. They also organised my train ticket home and transfer to the station for the same price that the station charges! (A rarity with Vietnam hostels!). The bar and restaurant were also a great place to meet locals and other travelers over a beer, hot wine or a game of pool.
I'd definitely recommend this hostel (which actually feels more like a hotel).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights during december at 4 USD per night. shared the room with a dude i met on the train. had a room that was overseeing the valley, really worth the price! this hostel is partly owned by the original family and by a friendly australian guy.
the rooms are quite clean and the beds come with heater mats. the downside is the the heater are operated by the mains and you have to inform the reception if you need to turn on the heater. and the family are glad to help you out with any problems.
they are also not pushy with their tours (in fact they did not even promote their tours to me, which is really rare in sapa) this leaves you to be able to search for more alternatives in the city centre.
location wise, it is a 7 mins walk to the city centre, not too much a big deal. which makes it slightly quieter. it also has a bar/ restaurant, which provides good family food at great value and also has a pool table which makes it a good gathering place, not to mention there is also a fire place, really useful when it gets really cold.
for just 4 USD, u cant go wrong with this hostel. definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freeloadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

For 3 USD per night, this hostel looks after it's dorm rooms accordingly. Sheets where dirty, room was awfully hot and full of biting insects yet I slept surprisingly well. I do however warn people that if they want to stay here to bring their own sheets. Also, the hotel where I adapted the look up first before picking a bed policy.

Anyways, now that all the bad stuff is out of the way . . . The staff here are fantastic. They arranged tours for us contacted the train company and chatted for a very long time. They offered us a free shower after we got back from a trekking tour, had a left luggage service and even let us wash our shoes in their washing room.

If I were to stay here again, I would book their best room and check it well before going forward. The staff and restaurant, however bad my experience was, will make me consider the Green Valley Hostel if I ever return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AwesomeEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I was really pleased when I got to Green Valley and found they had rooms. Not only because the rest of Sapa seemed to be full but also because the rooms, despite being very basic, somehow have a charm to them. They're spotlessly clean and beds are softer than you often get in Vietnam, plus there are reasonable views from the terraces, although no chairs to sit on and enjoy them. A decent breakfast is included and staff is friendly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burntwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Spent 4 nights at the Green Valley Hostel, and would certainly recommend it to anyone on a fairly strict budget. Service was up there with the friendliest we've experienced in Vietnam, and the owner/manager was very helpful with the little extras like free breakfasts, left-luggage, bus and trek-booking, etc. The rooms were not too bad, spacious and with mosquito nets and good bathrooms, but ours had some broken light fittings and one small broken window. The decor is quite basic, but for $7 per private room that is to be expected. Overall this was a good option for our tight budget. Great views over the valley too!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie_abroad08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0 mi away
Sapa Lodge Hotel
Sapa Lodge Hotel
#27 of 84 in Sapa
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sapa Auberge Hotel
Sapa Auberge Hotel
#52 of 84 in Sapa
217 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stunning Homestay
Stunning Homestay
#11 of 174 in Sapa
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Go Sapa Hostel
Go Sapa Hostel
#16 of 174 in Sapa
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sapa Honeymoon Hotel
Sapa Honeymoon Hotel
#105 of 164 in Sapa
54 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hoa Chanh HomeStay
Hoa Chanh HomeStay
#5 of 174 in Sapa
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Valley Hotel

Address: 045 Muong Hoa rd | Lao Cai Province, Sapa Sapa, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Sapa
Price Range: $10 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Valley Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Valley Hotel, Sapa, Northwest Vietnam.Sapa is a beautiful town in the cool of the hills. It is home to the Hmong, Dao and other ethnic minority peoples.A visit to Sapa offers the opportunity of an insight into the fascinating hill-tribe cultures and the possibility of purchasing original authentic hand-crafted items directly from the makers.The comfortable, friendly, Green Valley hotel is within easy walking distance of the centre of Sapa.Hotel can also arrange homestay accommodation with local ethnic people, we can also assist you to book train tickets from Ha Noi to Lao Cai and return, pick up from Lao Cai railways station and transfer to my hotel -please ask us- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Green Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing