We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place and people”
Review of Trekking Sapa

Trekking Sapa
Ranked #7 of 53 Outdoor Activities in Sapa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: At TrekkingSapa, our best reward is your complete satisfaction. Throughout our 18 years in the industry, we have done everything possible to give our clients an unforgettable travel experience. Our service standards are high, and all of our efforts go toward meeting all of our clients’ travel needs.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sydney Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great place and people”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I really enjoyed the trekking and the ever changing scenery and peoples. Just make sure you know about your trek before you start or you may find, as some did, that they were in for a hard trek and they had expected an easy walk.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CathJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    31
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vega Travel 2d/3n Sapa trekking”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a great tour. Our tour guide Be's English was great and she was always giving us great snippets of information along the trek up and down the landscape of famous tiered rice paddies. The group size is 4-8, so really personal. The 'homestay' was good, got to eat and socialize with the family in house near the river in the valley. The night train is a bit of a killer so if you have an extra day do 3d/4n, we were short on time so couldn't but well worth it either way.

The tip I would be give would be to say to your guide that you don't want to buy anything from the group of very friendly women dressed also in traditional gear, 10 in total, that will trek and socialize with you (their english is very good) until you get to the place to eat lunch. They will try and sell you lots of handmade goods from their village, which can be quite uncomfortable if you don't buy. Apparently the goods are from the local market in Sapa. After a few people did buy they left us on the first part of the tour and got changed into their normal clothes and left. We did buy a few small items on the tour but at one of the villages instead.

This is was not really a problem just something to be aware of. The tour is not to be missed!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bymatt_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing scenic view and you see it from up close.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Amazing trek with amazing people.
Recommended on going with a good English speaker guide.
Walking on the Teresa's itselfses on the medium-hard level trekking.
You should come in Mai so you will see the rice plants at their peak.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shalevku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sapa-Fansipan Trekking”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

An excellent trek, although quite tiring and steep, so make sure you are decently fit. Well worth the slog, and if you get a clear day, which we did, you'll be rewarded with amazing views of sapa and the valleys below. One night on the mountain is enough. The rest of the trip, spent roaming sapa and its markets, and a nice tour to cat cat village, quite commerical but a good visit if you dont have time to go deeper into the villages.

Organised the trip through Asia Tour Advisor who were very easy to deal with, booking via email all the way from Kenya. Mr Hong in particular helped us out a lot, and gave a good advise before the trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank satoshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trekking Sapa - 1 night in Sapa”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was in Hanoi for a work-related trip with my husband and we only had a weekend to visit something in Vietnam, so... we chose for Sapa! We took the Sapaly train in Hanoi at 21:50 hrs. We wanted to have a private cabin for us, thus, we had to book an entire 4-bed cabin because the 2-bed VIP cabin was fully booked. The cabin was very cosy, simple and sober, but cosy. The trip was an adventure, my first time in a night train, and... I couldn't sleep too much but it didn't matter. I had energy enough to face the busy day in Sapa! We arrived around 6am at Lao Cai and the bus to go to Sapa, which we had already booked via our hotel (Pinocchio hotel), was there, waiting for us. We arrived at Sapa around 1h later and the bus stopped in front of our hotel. We checked in directly, the staff in the hotel was really nice, and we decided to book a tour to visit some villages in Sapa from 9:30 am to 5pm. The tour was 14$ per person, including bus and lunch. We went to Y Linh Ho - Lao Chai - TaVan. At the beginning, it was soft but after the lunch.. uffff, it was hard because of the slippery way going up and down through rice fields. It was beautiful and fantastic!!! the only negative point was the constant 'buy for me' that you have to listen to during all the way. It doesn't matter if you buy things, you will be asked to buy more and more, endlessly. In the afternoon, we decided to take it easy and visit the shops around and have the dinner. There are many many restaurants and a large offer to have a nice meal (and from 50000 to 150000 dong, or so). The next day, however, we decided to do some trekking by our selves. We like the feeling of discovering the nature without guiding but since we didn't have to much experience, we chose an easy option: going to Cat Cat village. It is close to Sapa, about 30 min walking distance, going down of the hill but.... going down means that afterwards, you have to go up again! anyway, we went down until reaching the beautiful waterfall and then, we continue a little more following the river. The trick to find this path is to go very left to the house that is close to the high waterfall. There is a small indication saying 'toilet', go there (upstairs), and then, take the small path on the left. You will discover a beautiful and lonely path that will take your energy, that was real trekking! Then, we came back and visited the Sapa market, full of food, spices, clothes, everything. My advice: buy dried mushrooms and cinnamon tea (tra que)! In that evening, at 5:30 pm, we had to take the bus to Lao Cai and the train to Hanoi.... and end of the trip! A unique experience that I really recommend! It is safe and beautiful and it takes only 1 night in Sapa (2 days!). Enjoy!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trekking Sapa also viewed

 

Been to Trekking Sapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing