We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing scenic view and you see it from up close.”
Review of Trekking Sapa

Trekking Sapa
Ranked #7 of 52 Outdoor Activities in Sapa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: At TrekkingSapa, our best reward is your complete satisfaction. Throughout our 18 years in the industry, we have done everything possible to give our clients an unforgettable travel experience. Our service standards are high, and all of our efforts go toward meeting all of our clients’ travel needs.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing scenic view and you see it from up close.”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Amazing trek with amazing people.
Recommended on going with a good English speaker guide.
Walking on the Teresa's itselfses on the medium-hard level trekking.
You should come in Mai so you will see the rice plants at their peak.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shalevku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    31
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sapa-Fansipan Trekking”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

An excellent trek, although quite tiring and steep, so make sure you are decently fit. Well worth the slog, and if you get a clear day, which we did, you'll be rewarded with amazing views of sapa and the valleys below. One night on the mountain is enough. The rest of the trip, spent roaming sapa and its markets, and a nice tour to cat cat village, quite commerical but a good visit if you dont have time to go deeper into the villages.

Organised the trip through Asia Tour Advisor who were very easy to deal with, booking via email all the way from Kenya. Mr Hong in particular helped us out a lot, and gave a good advise before the trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank satoshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trekking Sapa - 1 night in Sapa”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was in Hanoi for a work-related trip with my husband and we only had a weekend to visit something in Vietnam, so... we chose for Sapa! We took the Sapaly train in Hanoi at 21:50 hrs. We wanted to have a private cabin for us, thus, we had to book an entire 4-bed cabin because the 2-bed VIP cabin was fully booked. The cabin was very cosy, simple and sober, but cosy. The trip was an adventure, my first time in a night train, and... I couldn't sleep too much but it didn't matter. I had energy enough to face the busy day in Sapa! We arrived around 6am at Lao Cai and the bus to go to Sapa, which we had already booked via our hotel (Pinocchio hotel), was there, waiting for us. We arrived at Sapa around 1h later and the bus stopped in front of our hotel. We checked in directly, the staff in the hotel was really nice, and we decided to book a tour to visit some villages in Sapa from 9:30 am to 5pm. The tour was 14$ per person, including bus and lunch. We went to Y Linh Ho - Lao Chai - TaVan. At the beginning, it was soft but after the lunch.. uffff, it was hard because of the slippery way going up and down through rice fields. It was beautiful and fantastic!!! the only negative point was the constant 'buy for me' that you have to listen to during all the way. It doesn't matter if you buy things, you will be asked to buy more and more, endlessly. In the afternoon, we decided to take it easy and visit the shops around and have the dinner. There are many many restaurants and a large offer to have a nice meal (and from 50000 to 150000 dong, or so). The next day, however, we decided to do some trekking by our selves. We like the feeling of discovering the nature without guiding but since we didn't have to much experience, we chose an easy option: going to Cat Cat village. It is close to Sapa, about 30 min walking distance, going down of the hill but.... going down means that afterwards, you have to go up again! anyway, we went down until reaching the beautiful waterfall and then, we continue a little more following the river. The trick to find this path is to go very left to the house that is close to the high waterfall. There is a small indication saying 'toilet', go there (upstairs), and then, take the small path on the left. You will discover a beautiful and lonely path that will take your energy, that was real trekking! Then, we came back and visited the Sapa market, full of food, spices, clothes, everything. My advice: buy dried mushrooms and cinnamon tea (tra que)! In that evening, at 5:30 pm, we had to take the bus to Lao Cai and the train to Hanoi.... and end of the trip! A unique experience that I really recommend! It is safe and beautiful and it takes only 1 night in Sapa (2 days!). Enjoy!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GO Trekking with local Hmong womanlocals! Here contactdetails of Giang!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went on a 3 day, 2 night trekking called 'Giang', a Hmong woman. She is fantastic!
SUPER SWEET!
Speaks good English; is honest, experienced and tells you all about Hmong life.

Call her! and she'lll meet you in Sapa to discuss your wishes for trekking: 0166 3733367
(PS she cannot read, so do not text her. She does not have a computer nor email)

She lives an Hau Thao, which is a bit north of Lai Chai and Ta Van, and East of Sapa.
We discussed our ideas and wishes with her and she adjusted the trekking accordingly.

1st day: moderate trekking over hills with superb views to her house in Hau Thao. Lunch at her house. Option to go to the waterfall, which was at that time (March) a bit dry so we declined. We slept at her house in private bedroom, with mosquito net.

2nd day: difficult trekking (our wish) over the mountain, to her father's house. He makes jewellery and made an earring for us. We had lunch there. We would the same way back and had dinner at her house with rice wine, sugar cane, noodles, rice, chicken, egg, vegetables. Tea. We slept again at her house.

3rd day: breakfast with pancakes and noodles with egg. We went to the school where her son goes to in Hau Thao. Walked downhill (easy trekking) to Ancient Stones, which were not so interesting.
She offered to take us to Ta Van village and maybe to Lao Chai (where all the other tourist also go to on a tour agency trekking). But we declined and decided to walk back over the road to Sapa (in hindsight not a good idea, because it is ascending all the time and a 3 hour walk.Views are super though)

Do not expect to much of the facilities at her house. It is a real home stay. You sleep under the roof she also sleeps with her family. So do not expect any luxury or a good shower - there is none.
However the experience is unique. You are part of the family for 2 days. You can read a book at her front door and enjoy the view.

VIEWS ARE INCREDIBLE - and we were there in low-season ;)


PRICES: Giang agreed with us 10 dollars p.d.p.p, but if we wanted 3 meals a day she requested us for 15 dollars. We did not argue, because we knew she could use the money.

When we walked over to her house, 2 ladies accompanied us. They were friendly and tried to sell items when we arrived in Hau Thao. Don't be afraid to decline - you are not obliged to buy anything. However if you want some cool souvenirs and help out locals directly, you can get a good price if you negotiate (we bought 2 bracelets for 140k, 2 pillow cases 250k and a purse 100k).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank NikkiTeljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good trekking”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I liked very much trekking aroung Sapa because of views and atmosphere. Hmong people are very friendly

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marzycielka z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trekking Sapa also viewed

 

Been to Trekking Sapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing