We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not a hotel, it's a homestay!!!!!!”
Review of Casablanca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's not a hotel, it's a homestay!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, arriving very early morning having just got off the night bus from Hanoi; arrived tired and grumpy, but once I arrived I received nothing but warmth and kindness. They had to clean the room before I could settle (as previous guests had recently just left) so they prepared for me breakfast which was exactly what I needed... a decent omelette and fresh baguette. Checked into the room and afterwards Mr Tom (the new owner of only one year) invited me on a free tour of Sapa town with his 18 month old daughter (who was utterly entertaining by the way) on the back of his moped. This was not expected and was great! Then he invited me to free lunch with his family - I'm starting to think there must be a catch - but there really wasn't. Eddie, one of the other workers, was such a nice guy as well [although a Chelsea fan!) ;-)


The second day I decided to go to Cat Cat village, and Mr Tom drove me to a friend of his to have some tea, which was on the way... again another nice little surprise. He would always invite me for dinner/lunch with the family which was a real nice gesture, and which I often took.. even a friend of mine who didn't stay at the hotel came round to see me was offered lunch.

The room itself was really quite nice with a great view. The only issue would be the shower which does not have an accurate thermostat, so once you get to a preferred temperature, it would rise and occasional adjustment would be needed, but no biggy! Location of the hotel is on a side street to Cau May.... perfect location.

I really cannot recommend this hotel highly enough as it is the family that really make it legendary! Good luck Mr Tom, hope you have every success! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taz046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    62
    30
    11
    18
See reviews for
23
91
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nakhon Si Thammarht, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

If I had more time, basically I'd still be there. This place is an absolute gem and while the rooms are fantastic it's the staff that will make you feel so welcome and like part of the family! We extended our trip as we loved the atmosphere here. When we arrived Eddie was waiting for us at the top of the side street where the hotel is located. He took us in and sat down with us for a chat and a cup of tea. We instantly felt so comfortable and knew we'd made a good choice. We were given breakfast for free that morning and checked in to our room early. Views from the balcony were stunning and the room was cleaned daily. Breakfast is great, there is a good choice and its always served with a big smile :) we were invited for dinner with the whole family and a couple of other guests that night which was great fun. Tom, the owner is a very warm, funny guy and made us laugh lots. During our extended stay the staff helped us plan and gave us loads of great info on the area. We were sorted out with cheap scooter rental and when we checked out were given use of a room to sleep/shower in before our bus back to Hanoi (at no extra cost!) I would definitely stay at Casablanca hotel if I return to Sapa. The location is perfect, down a little side street which is quiet and the views are amazing. You will have a great time if you stay and meet some brilliant people :) thank you so much for an amazing time Tom, Eddie and everyone else at Casablanca!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We only spent the day in Sapa, so we can’t comment on the overnight accommodations, but the folks at this place hooked a middle-class white couple in their early thirties up! They let us store our bags there for the day, set us up with a cheap motorcycle rental, and gave us use of a room for relaxing and showering in at the end of the day. At no cost! The hotel right across the street from Casablanca has a nice café with a patio which was good for breakfast. Hit the market for some steamed buns filled with wild mushrooms for lunch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pompiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Can't recommend this place enough.

We were warmly greeted by 'Tom', the gaffer, on the morning we arrived, and showed upstairs for our breakfast (a very tasty omelette + baguette - these boys know how to cook). We checked into our room soon afterwards, which was comfortable and very good value with a decent view of the mountains.

Whilst the room was fine, what truly makes this place rock is the incredibly friendly service. There is a real family atmosphere here, everyone (guests + staff) is on first name terms and nothing is too much trouble. For instance, we set off to climb fanxipan at an ungodly hour (before 6) and breakfast didn't start til 7. Tom insisted that we couldn't go with an empty stomach, and arranged for one of his staff to whip something up for us before we left. Just one example of what they're all about.

Stay here, you won't regret it, and in fact you will leave with a very heavy heart. Thanks guys, and keep up the fantastic work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Walked into this hotel after the night train and were welcomed by the staff, given tea and a map of the area. They let us check into our rooms early and were really kind and helpful. We were invited to dinner the second night of our stay and so much effort went into it. Not once did we feel that we were being intruded upon though.
Just a genuinely nice group of people who run the hotel. Rooms are immaculate and comfortable. It is right in the centre of the main centre, but as it is about 20 metres down a side street (overlooking the mountains), it is private and quiet.
Would definitely return to this hotel, the owners are relatively new and are bearing the brunt of reviews from when the previous owners ran it. Definitely worth a stay. Thank you!!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem really nice and comfy, rooms at the front probably have a slightly better view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

we had an early arrival after the night train, we were greeted with breakfast and nice green tea while our rooms were got ready, also we were offered a room to shower and change in.The rooms were really big,clean and comfy. this hotel was our base for our trekking around Sapa, the guide we had was excellent, she was so friendly and showed us so much. the meals at Casablanca were fantastic, all family style dining and plenty of it! the deep fried pumpkin in batter was amazing!!! Mr Tom was a fantastic host, and he and his family were so happy to make our stay the best it could be. Thanks very much for a fantastic stay! will definately recommend to anyone venturing to Sapa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMorris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Got this hotel through my hotel in Hanoi.
It's family run and they're really nice. As I'm travelling alone, my first night they asked me to join them for dinner.
Staff is great, although their knowledge of English is small, they want you to have a good time.
Rooms, breakfast and cleaning are good, but what really did it for me is that when I had an accident with my motorbike and got back to the hotel, the owner left his lunch to take me to the farmacy, cleaned and bandaged the wounds and went with me to help me settle the bill for the damage to the motorbike.
When I will return to Sapa, I so will stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777Reijer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapa hotels
12.5 mi away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#23 of 68 in Sapa
283 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sapa Lodge
Sapa Lodge
#20 of 68 in Sapa
549 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#41 of 68 in Sapa
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Sapa Luxury Hotel
Sapa Luxury Hotel
#19 of 68 in Sapa
498 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sapa Romance Hotel
Sapa Romance Hotel
#8 of 68 in Sapa
56 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sapa Queen Hotel
Sapa Queen Hotel
#51 of 68 in Sapa
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel

Property: Casablanca Hotel
Address: 026 - Dong loi, Sapa 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casablanca Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wild beauty is seen, not only in the land and the sky, but also in the tapestry of colors seen throughout the spectacular rich region and in its lovely people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casablanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing